Book Reviews of Mysterium

Mysterium
Mysterium
Author: Robert Charles Wilson
ISBN-13: 9780553569537
ISBN-10: 0553569538
Publication Date: 2/1/1995
Pages: 276
Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11

3.5 stars, based on 11 ratings
Publisher: Spectra
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

2 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Mysterium on + 281 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
Pretty good, but not one of Wilson's best. Interesting concept and a couple of engaging characterizations, but not a strong ending. Still recommended.
reviewed Mysterium on
Helpful Score: 3
A small Michigan town is transported to a strange and harsh new reality. I really enjoyed this book, despite at first being disturbed by how similar it seemed to Flint's 1632 (which was published later.) The similarities soon stop, and the book as a whole is much darker and heavier than Flint's series. After waking in the new reality, the people of Two Rivers are soon host to an occupying force intent on stripping the populace of its tech and information, in order to advance their military and theocratic agenda. This is a great book, highly recommended to fans of alternate reality in the tradition of Turtledove, Stirling, Flint, and Birmingham.