Search - The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1)

The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Name of the Wind - Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1
Author: Patrick Rothfuss
The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day One . . . — MY NAME IS KVOTHE  — I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings.  I burned down the town of Trebon.  I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life.  I was expelled form the University  at a you...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $28.95
Buy New (Hardcover): $19.49 (save 32%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $15.59+1 PBS book credit (save 46%)
ISBN-13: 9780756404079
ISBN-10: 075640407X
Publication Date: 3/27/2007
Pages: 896
Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 81

4.4 stars, based on 81 ratings
Publisher: DAW Hardcover
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 103
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1) on + 9 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 24
A mere 2 hours or so after finishing this novel I picked it up and started reading it again. Now why in the world would I do this? I asked myself that question a few times and my answer is:

* It's damn good writing.
The language Rothfuss uses is beautiful, absolutely beautiful. I found myself rereading sections simply because they were so delightfully and beautifully written. He has a poetical turn of phrase, and there are passages that simply sing.

* But it's also a riveting story.
The story pulled me in, immersing me in Kvothe's world so much that I half expected to see the scrael scuttling through my backyard (a truly terrifying thought for anyone who hates spiders as passionately as I do).

* And the characters are absolutely believable.
Kvothe is a living and breathing character who practically leaps off the page--unruly red hair and eyes bright green like new growth grass. He is absolutely believable, especially to anyone who remembers being a boy and the awkwardness that comes with growing up.

I guess that's three answers.
reviewed The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1) on + 9 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 9
A mere 2 hours or so after finishing this novel I picked it up and started reading it again. Now why in the world would I do this? I asked myself that question a few times and my answer is:

* It's damn good writing.
The language Rothfuss uses is beautiful, absolutely beautiful. I found myself rereading sections simply because they were so delightfully and beautifully written. He has a poetical turn of phrase, and there are passages that simply sing.

* But it's also a riveting story.
The story pulled me in, immersing me in Kvothe's world so much that I half expected to see the scrael scuttling through my backyard (a truly terrifying thought for anyone who hates spiders as passionately as I do).

* And the characters are absolutely believable.
Kvothe is a living and breathing character who practically leaps off the page--unruly red hair and eyes bright green like new growth grass. He is absolutely believable, especially to anyone who remembers being a boy and the awkwardness that comes with growing up.

I guess that's three answers.
reviewed The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1) on + 101 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
Book 1 of an epic trilogy. The story keeps calling you back to see what happens next. A little magic, some swordplay, loyalty and honor on one hand, treachery and betrayal on the other, heroic sacrifices and craven cowardice. This is a story to become caught up in. I felt anguish at the character's tribulations and failures as well as celebrating their victories. Can't wait to start book 2.
reviewed The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1) on + 12 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
As many have already said in their review of this debut novel, Rothfuss manages to create not only likable characters, but believable characters. His settings are detailed enough to give you a general idea but not so detailed that you forbidden to use your imagination. I cannot wait for the second and third book in this series. I will, without a doubt, reread them all.
reviewed The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1) on + 48 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
A brilliant first novel by Patrick Rothfuss answers the question 'how does a legend become a legend?' with a first-hand narrative. Kvothe is known throughout the land for his deeds, good and bad, and in this carefully and well crafted story within a story (within a story?) we're drawn into Kvothe's 'now' where he lives as Kote the innkeeper in a small village that might soon need Kvothe the Kingkiller.

While 'Kote' has chosen to hide here in this little village a Chronicler has followed rumors and stories to seek him out in order to record his legend. Kote must, if only for the length of the story, transform himself back to Kvothe and grudgingly does with the condition that the Chronicler take his story word for word and completely from his beginning with his parents and a wandering troupe all the way through to the end wherever that might lead. Kvothe's story is laid out within his current situation, hiding in the middle of nowhere as a failing innkeeper, where his inn must still be tended and bad, bad things are starting to happen.

Characters are well-rounded, plot developing well- intricate and rich in details, our hero is likable (though maybe not likely, at least to start) and our villain(s) properly challenging and/or ominous and while the story within a story format could be cumbersome and confusing this writer avoids that by carefully drawing the lines so you always know where you are- this first book promises an epic series in the vein of George R R Martin's Song of Ice and Fire or perhaps the Inheritance trilogy.
Read All 28 Book Reviews of "The Name of the Wind Kingkiller Chronicles Bk 1"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles, Bk 1) on + 936 more book reviews
It's difficult to tell someone else why you really like a book. I didn't just like this one, I loved it. The story is novel, the hero is wonderfully complex and intelligent and the fantasy is so appealing that nearly every chapter is interesting. Only once did I feel as if the author might have been getting tired and wrote too much about insignificant issues. This is not true with many other books I have read and my only disappointment was the ending which did leave me hanging so I would go on to the sequel which I will without a doubt in spite of its over 1,000 pages. Kvothe, the read-haired hero, tells the story in his own way. At first, this bothered me, that is, until I became caught up in his tale. If you like fantasy, don't just plan to read this novel, do so as soon as you can.

Book Wiki

Series
Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
People/Characters
kvothe (Primary Character)
Dianne (Major Character)
Chronicle (Major Character)
Deoch (Major Character)

Genres: