Discussion Forums - Mystery & Thrillers

Topic: November, What are you reading discussion

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Alice J. (ASJ) - ,
Subject: November, What are you reading discussion
Date Posted: 11/1/2010 11:28 AM ET
Member Since: 5/13/2009
Posts: 40,101
Back To Top

What is everyone reading in November

Alice J. (ASJ) - ,
Date Posted: 11/1/2010 11:30 AM ET
Member Since: 5/13/2009
Posts: 40,101
Back To Top

I read Predator by Terri Blackstock yesterday. Very good. Chilling tale of of stocker on a social media site how goes around killing you girls. Makes you think twice about what you post.

Readign something much lighter now. Truly, Madly by Heather Webber. Cute cozy.

Alice

Date Posted: 11/1/2010 11:43 AM ET
Member Since: 11/4/2006
Posts: 1,398
Back To Top

Last night I started  The Mark of the Assassin by Daniel Silva. I'm only a few pages in but I'm enjoying it so far.

Happy reading

Ellie (EllieW) - ,
Date Posted: 11/1/2010 1:31 PM ET
Member Since: 3/5/2007
Posts: 1,479
Back To Top

I dropped all the books I was reading this last week and read Outlander. I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I have to admit I flew through the big ol' book. And requested the second from the library. Now I need to get back to finishing Sympathy For the Devil.

Alice J. (ASJ) - ,
Date Posted: 11/1/2010 2:42 PM ET
Member Since: 5/13/2009
Posts: 40,101
Back To Top

Ellie I love Outlander it is one of my favoritie all time books. Love Jamie Fraiser. I liked the first 4 books. Couldn't get past that.

Alice

Date Posted: 11/1/2010 6:47 PM ET
Member Since: 9/25/2010
Posts: 82
Back To Top

I'm reading The House from Bentley Little.

Date Posted: 11/1/2010 7:01 PM ET
Member Since: 12/30/2006
Posts: 929
Back To Top

Reading The Magicians by Lev Grossman in paper, I'd Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman on my Sony and listening to Frankenstein in the car. 

Date Posted: 11/1/2010 7:47 PM ET
Member Since: 8/19/2010
Posts: 128
Back To Top

I'm reading The Pillar of the Earth by Forsyth (finally) and also Fire and Ice by J.A. Jance.

And I'm starting Nanowrimo which could really cramp my reading time....  we'll see.

Date Posted: 11/1/2010 8:09 PM ET
Member Since: 1/18/2009
Posts: 412
Back To Top

Chapel Noir by Carole Nelson Douglas.  I'm enjoying it but it seems to be taking forever. 

Date Posted: 11/1/2010 8:25 PM ET
Member Since: 8/10/2005
Posts: 4,599
Back To Top

I've just been reading bits and pieces today, having a mini-weedout, trying to get rid of a few TBR books that I'm no longer so sure I want to read. TIme to make some hard decisions and get rid of a few things that have been languishing too long because this double- and triple-stacking all my bookshelves is a bit ridiculous and my wishlist just coughed up another dozen books over the past couple of weeks.

Still listening to The Noble Outlaw by Bernard Knight, one of the Crowner John historical mysteries--the first time I've listened to one and am quite enjoying it.

Cheryl

Date Posted: 11/1/2010 10:47 PM ET
Member Since: 4/4/2009
Posts: 9,464
Back To Top

Just finished a very interesting "thriller" by a Brit named Rodney Garland. The book was written in 1953 and is a sort of spy novel. Most interesting aspects are the Brit attitudes towards the U.S./FBI role in the "spy game" and the Brit take on homosexuals (author uses the term "inversion") as spies and what they regard as the FBI attitude. I am pretty sure this was before Kim Philby's role was made public.

Not a badly written book, at all. Mine is  35 center, definitely not built to last, and all pages are getting loose. However, since you are all my friends, if anyone really wants to read it, just PM me your address, and I will slip it in one of the nice bubble mailers I have been getting books in and pass it on to you.

Also finally got the first Kurt Wallander book that I had wishlisted for some time. Henning Mankell is good, very good. His world view, however, is bleak, very bleak. Those who like cozies won't get 10 pages into this one. Fans of Faulkner, Elizabeth George, Shakespeare, and Cormac McCarthy will find Mankell a big-time writer.

Geri (geejay) -
Date Posted: 11/2/2010 12:12 AM ET
Member Since: 9/2/2008
Posts: 9,094
Back To Top

Just finished The Missing Ink by Karen Olson.  A bit draggy in spots but I did finish it.  For having draggy parts the ending seemed very rushed and a bit too tidy and yet not.  I do want to read book two just to see if it cleans up a few questions left from book one.  Now I've started Tutu Tutu Deadly.  Not sure about it.  A new author and sometime it takes a bit for me to get into a new author.  But, sadly I want to put it down and pick up an author I know.  Sigh.  We'll see.

Date Posted: 11/2/2010 12:34 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2009
Posts: 2,920
Back To Top

I am currently reading A Convent Garden Mystery by Ashley Gardner aka Jennifer Ashley aka Allyson James. So far this is very different from what I am used to from her. Since I am not very far into it,  I will reserve judgment.

Date Posted: 11/2/2010 1:13 PM ET
Member Since: 1/8/2007
Posts: 8,139
Back To Top

Still working on The Alienist. Will probably still be working on it at the end of the month, LOL!

Date Posted: 11/2/2010 7:04 PM ET
Member Since: 8/27/2005
Posts: 4,129
Back To Top

I'm about 3/4 finished with The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.  Honestly, I almost quit reading it about 50 pages in because it was boring me to death!  However, I stuck with it a little longer and it did get much better.  I think I prefer the other Scandinavian writers I've tried though--John, I've read about 5 of the Henning Mankel novels and they are all as good as the first.  There are a few translation oddities but on the whole I love them.

Diane

Geri (geejay) -
Date Posted: 11/3/2010 9:38 AM ET
Member Since: 9/2/2008
Posts: 9,094
Back To Top

Just finished Scrub a Dub Dead by Barbar Colley.  A quick read just because.  I'm not sure where to go next.  61 Hours or another quick cozy type.  Getting my TBR pile down.  By no means under control but down. 

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo was a DNF for me and I didn't even watch the entire movie!  Hard going for me.

Let's see in October I read the Jenny Partridge series, three books by Natilie M. Roberts, A Fatal Slip by Melissa Glazer, Once Dead, Twice Shy by Kim Harrison,
The Missing Ink by Karen Olson, got caught up with Joann Fluke's Hannah Swenson series, As Husbands Go by Susan Isaacs and got caught up with the Tori O'Shea mysteries by Rett MacPjerson.  I had forgotten how much I enjoyed the stories.  I think they improved a bit too.  Marcia Mueller's Ever Running Man.  That was a series I put down and after reading this one had to have the next book immediately.  Hmmm, maybe that'll be next.  That's Locked In.  Lead characte is in a coma, aware but can't respond.  Sounds interesting anyway.

These were read in no particular order, just polished off in the month of October.

Alice J. (ASJ) - ,
Date Posted: 11/3/2010 10:52 AM ET
Member Since: 5/13/2009
Posts: 40,101
Back To Top

I finished Truly, Madly by Heather Webber yesterday. Really cute cozy. Much better than a lot of them. Main chacater, Lucy, was not a total ditz. Looking forward to the sequal.

Alice

Date Posted: 11/3/2010 11:43 AM ET
Member Since: 9/25/2010
Posts: 82
Back To Top

I just finished reading The House from Bentley Little.  I will be starting The Store also by Bentley Little.  Waiting for The Bone Collector to come in the mail as soon as I get that I will begin that series.

Date Posted: 11/4/2010 1:12 PM ET
Member Since: 10/2/2007
Posts: 349
Back To Top

Read Prayer of the Dragon and The Lord of Death by Eliot Pattison during a brief hospital stay .  Books were the 1st thing I packed.   The series chronicles the brutal and devastating Chinese takeover of Tibet.  As always, I loved them, but found the books about Chinese investigator/Tibetan prisoner Shan Tao Yun very intense, so I followed it with some lighter fare:

A Killer Workout (Fat City Mystery #2) by Kathryn Lilly,

Third Strike (J.W. Jackson & Brady Coyne #3) by Philip R. Craig and Wm G. Tapply,

Play Dead by Harlan Coben (reissue of an old publication),

Kisser by Stuart Woods (more of the same Stuart Woods, but fun in Manhattan).

Also read Murder in the Latin Quarter (Aimee Leduc #9) by Cara Black.  I like the series with its insider view of Paris, but the main character is exhausting.  If you like the series, order the next one.  There is a cliff hanger at the end. 

Now reading U is for Undertow by Sue Grafton.  Haven't read her in a while and always enjoy a visit with Kinsey.

DNF The Kiss Murder by Mehmet Somer for some reason.

Susan

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Non-smoking, no perfume, pet-free home. 

 

.



Last Edited on: 11/4/10 1:28 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 11/4/2010 2:09 PM ET
Member Since: 1/9/2006
Posts: 760
Back To Top

I'm reading A Test of Wills that I downloaded onto my nook from the library.  It's good, but I'm in a slow reading period so the loan period may end before I finish.  I spend entirely too much time in my car these days so I'm knocking out quite a few audio books.  I finished up the second in the Outlander series and The Devil's Queen.  The first was good, the second was only "meh".  Now I"m listening to The Serpent's Tale.  I loved the first book in this series - Mistress of the Art of Death - but I'm not totally certain about this one just yet.  I'll stick with it though.  

Date Posted: 11/4/2010 6:47 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2009
Posts: 2,920
Back To Top

I finished Ashely Gardner's A Convent Garden Mystery. I really enjoyed it, gave it 4 stars on GR's. Take a look at the review if you are interested. I am going to go pick up the rest in the series. I don't read too many historical mysteries as a rule, but I am going to go out of my way to pick these up.

Date Posted: 11/4/2010 8:35 PM ET
Member Since: 9/22/2009
Posts: 174
Back To Top

This week I was reading An Uplifting Murder, the latest Josie Marcus book from Elaine Viets.  I enjoyed the mystery, the references to St. Louis and like the direction the main character is taking....altogether a satisfactory read. I have several new authors on my TBR pile...think I'll read one of those next.

Date Posted: 11/5/2010 10:47 AM ET
Member Since: 8/10/2005
Posts: 4,599
Back To Top

Got several books going at once, as usual. Current reads in print are  The Second Death of Goodluck Tinubu by Michael Stanley  and White Corridor by Christopher Fowler. Also almost done with one of Terry Pratchett's humorous fantasy Discworld books, Small Gods. I've got about an hour left of The Noble Outlaw to listen to and then will start Playing With Fire by Peter Robinson, one of his Alan Banks series.

Cheryl

Date Posted: 11/5/2010 12:34 PM ET
Member Since: 8/20/2006
Posts: 1,930
Back To Top

Reading Kindness Goes Unpunished by Johnson. Third in the series. Enjoying it!

Subject: The History Book
Date Posted: 11/5/2010 7:33 PM ET
Member Since: 9/13/2010
Posts: 49
Back To Top

Just finished The History Book by Humphry Hawksley. It is a fast moving action/adventure book. Kat is trying to find out who murdered her sister. She is plunged into international inttrege and back stabing. I recomeded.this book.

Page: