Book Reviews of Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3)

Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3)
Opal - Dakotah Treasures #3
Author: Lauraine Snelling
ISBN-13: 9780739449165
ISBN-10: 0739449168
Pages: 315
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.

4.3 stars, based on 35 ratings
Publisher: Bethany House
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

17 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 32 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This book is very good and all the other books that go with this
series. The series started out with two young ladies going to look for their father leaving a good family who they stay with. This book is one you can hardly put down.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 69 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Another great Snelling book! 3rd in the Dakotah Treasures series, Opal is another great read
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
My husband and I both have really enjoyed Opal, after the first 2 books in the series. Lauraine Snelling has such a good way to engage her readers in the story and LIFE of the characters in her books. After meeting Opal as the little girl who was so inquisitive and funny, yet hard-working and others-centered, it is good to know her as a young woman with a passion for working with horses, and questions about life and LOVE. Jacob enters the story, too, with a story of his own, and a young son who doesn't even know or trust him. The story is a gripping one!
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 32 more book reviews
Very good!!!!
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is the 3rd in a series of four and I found it better than the first two. I had never read any of Lauraine Snelling's books before starting this series, but will definitely read more of hers.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 353 more book reviews
I enjoyed this book very much. I liked it better than the first two. Another great series by Laurain Snelling. Her writing gives you a great picture of what life was like back on the frontier and how God blesses and answers prayers of those who worship him.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 20 more book reviews
To tomboy/cowgirl Opal ranching is her life. And then a dear friend is taken away through her own foolish decision.
Jacob Chandler hiding secrets from his past has come to the Dakotas to preach and begin a new life with his son. Then he meets Opal...
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 58 more book reviews
This is the 3rd in the series and it was as great as the 1st one. The first one is Ruby the second one is Pearl and the third is Opal and they will be continuing the story in book 4. I have the first three in the series on the board
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 79 more book reviews
Excellent continuation of the story of Ruby and her sisters out in Dakotah Territory in the 1800's. Must read.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 67 more book reviews
When Ruby Torvald marries rancher Rand Harrison, her sister, Opal takes to ranch life like a hummingbird to sugar water. She can outshoot, outride, and outwork any cowboy on the place. Ranching has clearly captured her heart. But when Opal makes a foolish though innocent decision, her dear friend Atticus is taken away from her, and she is consumed with feelings of guilt and self-recrimination. Will she ever see Atticus again?
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 16 more book reviews
This is the third installment in the Dakota Treasures series. The little sister Opal of book one (Ruby) is growing up and facing big decisions for her future. Opal knows what she likes (training horses, hunting,roping) and what she does not like (school). Soon though, she looses the chance to choose when a stranger threatens her innocense and her safety. Her guardians (big sister Ruby and Ruby's husband Rand) decide to send her back east to visit her "foster" family in New York, hoping she will like it there and decide to stay and go to finishing school. Will Opal ever be able to return to Dakota or will she meet her fate in New York? Maybe the admirer she knows as a friend will be able to help Opal decide.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 23 more book reviews
Part of the overall Dakotah Treasures Series. These are wonderful books. Inspirational reading with an excellent story. Lauraine Snelling's books ahve been recommeneded by Sons of Norway, I am glad they turned me on to her work. LOVE it.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 56 more book reviews
This is the third book I have read by Lauraine and while she is a very good writer, I don't feel as though she completes the stories in her novels. Perhaps I am just spoiled to most Christian romance writers in that at the end of the book, the guy always gets the girl and they "live happily ever after". Not so with Snelling's books. She leaves you hanging - wondering which guy is going get the girl. And while she usually finishes the story in the next book, it's always from another character's point of view. I find it just a bit disappointing. However, her writing is tremendously good! You feel as though you are really there. She puts words together in amazing ways, making your mind picture everything. She seems to be able to make even the most mundane task seem interesting to read about. I suppose this is why I continue to pick up her books again and again.

This book follows the story of Opal, a young woman who would rather be on a horse than anywhere else in the world. The story opens with her making a mistake, just one tiny mistake and it will cost her far more than she could ever imagine. She will never forgive herself for what her mistake has cost her best friend, Atticus and others to follow. Opal grows in this books from a young girl bent on womanhood to a young lady. She learns to forgive herself and others and to really trust God for His direction and leading.

Jacob Chandler. Another man who made a mistake, just one, and is also paying for it. However his cost is far different than Opal's. Jacob also is on the road searching for forgiveness and the grace of God.

Each on the road for their own life's battles. Follow them and learn.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 15 more book reviews
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 43 more book reviews
Great addition to the Dakotah Treasures series. Made me very anxious for the 4th installment.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on
Very Good, Couldn't put it down.
reviewed Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3) on + 22 more book reviews
This book is terrific. You never want to put it down! Lauraine's books are so easy to visualize. I absolutely love this series! I wish there were more.