Book Reviews of Pearl Moon

Pearl Moon
Pearl Moon
Author: Katherine Stone
ISBN-13: 9780778321859
ISBN-10: 0778321851
Publication Date: 5/1/2005
Pages: 384
Rating:
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9

3.6 stars, based on 9 ratings
Publisher: Mira
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

12 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Pearl Moon on + 111 more book reviews
Good read! Kept me awake until 3 am this morning. Romance, intrique, mystical chinese beliefs, Just read it!
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 657 more book reviews
From Publishers Weekly: "Contemporary Hong Kong is the exotic backdrop for this romantic story of two sisters separated by fate but reunited in the construction of a sumptuous hotel. As Maylene Kwan lavishes her architectural skills on the Jade Palace's design, she skirmishes with its builder, an arrogant chauvinist who has more than a business interest in Maylene. Elsewhere, photographer Allison Whitaker is handed a golden opportunity to escape her smothering Texas family-an assignment to decorate a new Asian hotel with her murals. (That the hotel is the Jade Palace, and that Allison and Maylene are the long-separated siblings, will hardly surprise readers.) While Maylene struggles with her conflicted past and romantic present, Allison is falling for the hotel's developer, who is still consumed with thoughts of his dead wife (the Jade Palace will be a monument to her memory). Lurking in the shadows, meanwhile, is a madman set on destroying the Jade Palace and all who stand in his way." Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 256 more book reviews
this is about four intertwining love stores in an entertaining and entrancing novel.
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 53 more book reviews
Remarkably romantic and throroughly enchanting.
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 64 more book reviews
Pulsing with romance, danger, and excitement, Pearl Moon is the ravishing tale of two gifted sisters, strangers to each other who were raised half a world apart. Hurled together by circumstance into a fateful conflict, Allison Whitaker and Maylene Kwan must confront each other and their pasts-and the men they will love with passionate intensity in exotic and turbulent Hong Kong, a city on the brink of metamorphosis from British Crown Colony to Chinese possession.
Pressure builds for completion of the luxury hotel they're involved in developing. Both will know the deadly menace of a force as elusive as the morning fog swirling over Victoria Peak... and as deadly as the typhoons that strike the island with such fury. The love of British aristocrat James Drake for the beautiful Allison and of rudden Texan Sam Coulter for the exquisite Maylene will be tested in an unforgettable life and death struggle.
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 351 more book reviews
As Maylene Kwan lavishes her architectural skills on the Jade Palace's design, she skirmishes with its builder, an arrogant chauvinist who has more than a business interest in Maylene. Elsewhere, photographer Allison Whitaker is handed a golden opportunity to escape her smothering Texas family-an assignment to decorate a new Asian hotel with her murals. (That the hotel is the Jade Palace, and that Allison and Maylene are the long-separated siblings, will hardly surprise readers.) While Maylene struggles with her conflicted past and romantic present, Allison is falling for the hotel's developer, who is still consumed with thoughts of his dead wife (the Jade Palace will be a monument to her memory). Lurking in the shadows, meanwhile, is a madman set on destroying the Jade Palace and all who stand in his way.
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 151 more book reviews
she's one of the best
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 55 more book reviews
Good book.
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 1072 more book reviews
Romance, danger and excitement is the pivotal point in the lives of two sisters raised in different parts of the world. Unknown to each other their worlds collide. Add to the mix the two men who fall in love with them and a great story is revealed.
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 357 more book reviews
Two gifted sister,stranges to each othe who were raised half a world apart. Hurled together by circumstance into a fateful conflict, Allison Whitaker and Maylene Kwan must confront each other and their past -and the men they will love with passionate intensity in exotic and turbulent Hong Kong,a city on the brink of metamorphosis from British Crown Colony to Chinese possession.
Pressure builds for completion of the luxury hotel they're involed in developing. Both will know the deady menace of a force as elusive as the morning fog swirling over Victoris Peak... and as deadly as the typhoons that strike the island with such fury. The love of British aristocrat James Drake for the beautiful Allison and of urgged Texan Sam Coulter for the exquisite Maylene will be tested in an unforgerrable life-and -death struggle...
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 3389 more book reviews
From Library Journal
Pearl Moon begins with an account of a young Chinese girl and an American flyer on leave from the Vietnam War and their week of wondrous love. Because of their different backgrounds, they conclude that a relationship is impossible. A female child is born of this union. The flyer returns home, marries, takes over the family business, celebrates the birth of his baby daughter, and dies. On to the present day, when two girls meet in Hong Kong in connection with the building of Hong Kong's newest luxury hotel, the Jade Palace. They soon discover that they share the same father, our flyboy. They each meet the other parent; find true loves; survive a car bombing, an evil villain, and a typhoon; and live happily ever after. This is light and fluffy formula reading in the vein of Danielle Steel and Sandra Brown.
reviewed Pearl Moon on + 8 more book reviews
My cousin loved it, but I haven't read it.