Discussion Forums - USPS Postal Regulations USPS Postal Regulations

Topic: Printable DC for normal orders

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Printable DC for normal orders
Date Posted: 7/3/2008 10:24 PM ET
Member Since: 12/14/2006
Posts: 1,007
Back To Top

Hi all, I'm not sure this is the exact right forum for this question, but I figured I'd start here...

Is anyone else running into trouble at the PO when their DC bar codes are scanned? 

When I "order" DC for a book requested from me, the PO employee ALWAYS has to type in the numbers. 

When I "order" DC through the Custom DC section, it always scans.

Does anyone know what's going on?  What do I have to do to fix this?  Thanks.  Also, let me know if I need to move this question to another forum...

Date Posted: 7/4/2008 11:29 PM ET
Member Since: 6/25/2006
Posts: 382
Back To Top

the only post office that has to scan DC is the reciving post office not the sending one but sometimes

they do or they get scanned enroute

 

Date Posted: 7/5/2008 11:00 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,194
Back To Top

You are saying the books will not scan so they have to type in the numbers? That is odd. I do think that the print is darker on custom DC because it is all black, but haven't had a problem with scanning on the orders. Have you tried printing your order labels in black only, on a higher resolution? Might be that a colored ink isn't being read by their scanners.

Date Posted: 7/8/2008 3:01 AM ET
Member Since: 1/19/2008
Posts: 14,777
Back To Top

printing Custom DC labels, it just gets printed through the browser.

printing the standard order labels, it goes through Adobe Acrobat.  i would check your print settings in Acrobat - perhaps printing at a higher resolution, or using the black cartridge only might help.  the one thing i'd be sure to check is that when you print, the page is not being scaled.  i noticed when i started using this that scaling in Acrobat was defaulting to 'fit to page' (or something like that), and the label was being reduced to 94% instead of printing at 100%.  for me it was still scanning, but i did read that if the label size was changed it might not scan right.