Discussion Forums - USPS Postal Regulations USPS Postal Regulations

Topic: Printed postage wrapper-now can't find book! Can I use it for another book

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Printed postage wrapper-now can't find book! Can I use it for another book
Date Posted: 6/16/2009 1:08 PM ET
Member Since: 11/3/2007
Posts: 4
Back To Top

I moved and can't find a book I had posted, I know it's my own fault, but the receiver doesn't want any other books I have to offer, can I reuse the wrapper for another book?  It's like postage $ down the drain if not!  I still don't see why if it's postage, I can't use it to go "towards" another item/book I need to ship.  I went to the PO and she didn't know but called me later saying I could go to the website listed by the top right symbol...ensigna.com?  I am not sure if that's the correct name.  I'd appreciate any suggestions or ideas, as I know it's not refundable just don't want to just throw it away if possible. Thanks!

Subject: Name of contractor
Date Posted: 6/16/2009 1:53 PM ET
Member Since: 1/7/2005
Posts: 608
Back To Top

Hi, Natalia! It's endicia.com. I don't know if you can reuse the wrapper, but I hope so. Regards, Elaine

Date Posted: 6/16/2009 1:56 PM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2008
Posts: 2,007
Back To Top

Hmmm...  Interesting question!

I'm no expert on this but my thoughts are that it may be possible, with a few things to keep in mind...

First there's the DC#, which you'll have to cover up or remove.  That # is tied with the old address so it might cause problems if it's scanned.

Second, there's the barcode printed under the address.  If you just put a label with the new address over the old address and don't cover that barcode the package will be misrouted.  That barcode tells the USPS automatic sorting machinery how to route the package to get to its original destination, not the new one.

Third, there's the Request # (printed below the return address on the upper left).  That number will be different for the new request.

Fourth, electronic postage is supposed to be used within two business days of when it is issued.  If you wait too long the date will be too far passed.  You'll probably want to take the package to the PO and ask them to correct the date when you mailed it by putting on a $0.00 meter strip.  (This may also cause a problem when the receiver gets the package and tries to put the original date into the boxes provided)

Those are the things that, off the top of my head, I'd be concerned about in a situation like this.

 

Date Posted: 6/16/2009 7:18 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,201
Back To Top

First there's the DC#, which you'll have to cover up or remove.  That # is tied with the old address so it might cause problems if it's scanned.

Second, there's the barcode printed under the address.  If you just put a label with the new address over the old address and don't cover that barcode the package will be misrouted.  That barcode tells the USPS automatic sorting machinery how to route the package to get to its original destination, not the new one.

These two I know do not matter. I had someone PM me that they needed their books to go to a different addy in a different town after I'd printed the label with DC. I printed the new addy and taped over the original addy with bar code and DC still showing. My PO guy said none of those mattered, just the postage sticker he added.

But, that was with DC only. I am pretty sure that there is delivery information in the postage block on prepaid. You could most likely try it, but it is possible that it will get misdirected by scans at sorting centers. It would eventually get where it needs to, because people would read the label and redirect it to the printed label, but it will probably cause some issues along the way.



Last Edited on: 6/16/09 7:20 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Connie C. (Cade) - ,
Date Posted: 6/16/2009 10:31 PM ET
Member Since: 10/29/2006
Posts: 24
Back To Top

Actually, the barcode under the address does matter. As previously mentioned, the machines that sort the mail read the barcode first if there is one on the mailpiece. I know that alot of missent mail to my office have the wrong barcode. I can tell because if I scan the barcode with my scanner it gives me the zip at my office while the address is actually for a different town.

My opinion would be that if she used the wrapper within a few days and covered the adreess and barcode completely it could be used. Now, I'm not sure how endicia works with the delivery confirmation. Some just say mail from a certain zip with no destination zip, some have both. Really, as long as it gets delivered there wouldn't be a problem. DC's only raise red flags when they don't get delivered at all. It would probably make it through with no one noticing unless for some odd reason they decided to look online at the info. Who would do that unless there was some reason to check for delivery? If it was brought to me at my office and that person explained the situation to me, I'd just scan the DC as accepted and enter the new destinating zip. That being said, from reading the posts I know there are, unfortunately, quite a few uneducated and plain just mean clerks out there who would balk at this. I guess if I had a PO who didn't really give me grief, I'd just readdress it a throw it in the mail.

So, bottom line, if you decide to reuse it, it may or may not go through. It will be a gamble.

Date Posted: 6/17/2009 2:55 AM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,177
Back To Top

Natalia, you didn't say if you printed DC on your label and I don't use printable postage so maybe the always go together.  But if you wish to reuse the postage, I don't see why you can't...just print another label, and cut out only the portion (upper right) that would cover up your old postage.  Tape the new label over the old label with the previous postage visable (but covering all previous bar codes) , then take it to your post office to apply the 0.0 sticker (which redates your postage).

If you used DC in addition to PBS postage, you may wish to print the new label with DC only.  You will be charged again for the PBS portion of DC, but your postage should be usable.

OK postal employees, how did I do??



Last Edited on: 6/17/09 2:57 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 6/17/2009 10:14 AM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2007
Posts: 26,510
Back To Top

You have to have the DC when you use the printable postage.

The bar code under the address does matter. A postal clerk recently told me that it's this barcode that causes them to go on little detours sometimes.  If there's a wrinkle in the wrapper, or the printer had a hiccup or the  barcode got entered wrong into whatever system stored it (like PBS) then it comes up with a wrong scan.  And that's why the book you mail from MD going to CT ends up in Illinois or ME neither of  which is on the way to CT. 

The DC would definately have to be covered.  The zip code destination is in the DC number and it's attatched to that address.

Date Posted: 6/17/2009 10:15 AM ET
Member Since: 11/3/2007
Posts: 4
Back To Top

OK, thanks to all who have taken the time to help me with this.  I know it's only a few bucks but a few bucks is a few bucks!

So...yes I do have DC on the label and I printed it on a one page label so the label itself is set up differently than the other 2 pagers.  I am not sure how I'd reprint the postage since the request has been cancelled due to my airheadedness!  It's been more than a few days since I've printed it so I can't really use it now unless I reprint or get it redated?  I'm really still confused as I think all of you have referred to the 2 page postage label and they are set up differently.  Should I just leave as is, place new address on it and cover up the DC code and put a new request ID on it?  It's still money, that's what i don't get.  Well, I may not make any sense but that's because I have a 4 yr old daughter who keeps nagging me so I'd better stop while I'm ahead....

Date Posted: 6/17/2009 2:12 PM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,177
Back To Top

It is my understanding the the actual "address label" portion of our shipping information should be identical or very similar per USPS standards.   The placement on the page, or where the enclosure information is printed may be different, but the mailing address should be the same size and layout. 

Therefore, next time you ship a PBS mailer you should be able to print it with DC only and cut out the upper right hand postage information from the old/unused label  to place on your new label.  Do not include either the address or DC barcode from the old label.  This way you will have an additional PBS DC cost (.27?) but the USPS portion of your postage should be usable. 

This will need to be mailed from your local post office so they can add a 0.0 strip to update the postage date.



Last Edited on: 6/17/09 2:12 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 6/20/2009 9:14 AM ET
Member Since: 11/3/2007
Posts: 4
Back To Top

Thanks Denise L.  I think I get it now, I will try this the next time I receive a book request.  I appreciate you taking the time to help me out!

Date Posted: 7/26/2009 8:19 AM ET
Member Since: 11/3/2007
Posts: 4
Back To Top

do you know what the FCM right next to the postage part stand for?  SHould I cut that part out as well?

Date Posted: 7/26/2009 8:36 AM ET
Member Since: 2/10/2008
Posts: 1,080
Back To Top

If the package came to my post office I would mark it postage due if the label was not intact. I would consider it reusing postage. The long number near the postage part can be looked up on the computer and it would still show the information from the original address. I would have no reason to know that you do not do this with any and all postage. (There are people who do try cutting and taping or gluing postage to save a few cents.)

It is possible, as Connie said above, that the clerk in your local office would put a zero label on it and then send it on for you. In that case I would send it through figuring there was a valid reason for the label being cut out.

I think there is no refund if you printed it through PBS. It might be possible through endicia. I do not know what the policy is there.

FCM = first class mail

 

Date Posted: 7/26/2009 7:31 PM ET
Member Since: 6/13/2009
Posts: 433
Back To Top

I don't use the PBS to pay postage so I'm not sure how to cancel or get a refund using that system.  

I use Paypal for my shipping labels and there is an option to cancel the label.  This happened to me, I had to wait 2-3 weeks before it was credited back to my account.  But it was refunded in full. They have to wait to ensure that the label hasn't been scanned - which seems fair.      



Last Edited on: 7/26/09 7:31 PM ET - Total times edited: 1