Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Pull-down menus not working?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Pull-down menus not working?
Date Posted: 5/29/2009 12:52 PM ET
Member Since: 6/20/2007
Posts: 4,992
Back To Top

When I click on any of the pull-down links up top (the links that appear under "My Account", "community" etc.) nothing happens.  When I hover over "MY Account", the links all drop down, but nothing happens when I click on any of them.  I exited PBS, shut the browser, and reopened and they still don't work.  Is it just me, or are others experiencing this?

Date Posted: 5/29/2009 12:55 PM ET
Member Since: 4/30/2007
Posts: 2,728
Back To Top

Me too- must be a glitch.

Date Posted: 5/29/2009 12:57 PM ET
Member Since: 6/20/2007
Posts: 4,992
Back To Top

Thanks for the reply Leslie.  Glad to know it's not a problem on my end!

Sianeka - ,
Date Posted: 5/29/2009 12:59 PM ET
Member Since: 2/8/2007
Posts: 6,630
Back To Top

Happening to me as well.  I had to get to my Main page by clicking on Home link, then My Account link at the top of Home page, since I couldn't use the pulldown menus...

Anissa (WVgrrl) - ,
Date Posted: 5/29/2009 1:28 PM ET
Member Since: 1/16/2009
Posts: 432
Back To Top

I don't have this problem, but it has happened to me before. It usually is around the time they do some tinkering with the site, and then I can't get in at all for a couple of hours.

Date Posted: 5/29/2009 1:30 PM ET
Member Since: 11/11/2005
Posts: 5,238
Back To Top

The pull down menus aren't working for me either.  I had to find a back door into the discussion forums.

Date Posted: 5/29/2009 3:13 PM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

Me too. I have to click on the "Discussion Forums" link to get the list of Forums page.

Date Posted: 5/29/2009 4:04 PM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2008
Posts: 2,007
Back To Top

They seem to be working fine for me.  Could it be a browser specific problem?  I'm using FireFox.

Sianeka - ,
Date Posted: 5/29/2009 4:25 PM ET
Member Since: 2/8/2007
Posts: 6,630
Back To Top

Seems to be that Internet Explorer browser, specifically versions 6 and 7 that are having the most problems with this...

Date Posted: 5/29/2009 5:17 PM ET
Member Since: 11/21/2007
Posts: 7,575
Back To Top

I am glad it is not my computer or mouse that is acting up. I am also having the same probs as in the OP.

Date Posted: 5/29/2009 5:21 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,204
Back To Top

I'm using IE7 and have no problems. Guess I have upgraded to 8 on the work computer.



Last Edited on: 5/29/09 5:23 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 5/29/2009 6:30 PM ET
Member Since: 4/30/2007
Posts: 2,728
Back To Top

Well, now that I am home from work, the menus are working fine.  So either the issue has been fixed, or there is something different about IE on my home computer than on my work one.

Date Posted: 5/29/2009 7:22 PM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

"Seems to be that Internet Explorer browser, specifically versions 6 and 7 that are having the most problems with this..."

GRRR! I have IE 6. I hope this is not a permanent CHANGE for PBS. I already have problems with the font size in the reply box appearing as only 4 pt font size with IE 6. You'd think that a READING website would care that some of their posters might have visual problems.

I understand that PBS is short on money and we are getting a free service. But, understand also that some of US don't have a lot of money either to be getting the newest computers capable of the latest software. To have servers ( or whatever) that don't work with versions of IE, one of the most widely used Internet browsers in the world is simply ridiculous. *&%**&&$#@*&*!!!

Date Posted: 5/30/2009 8:34 AM ET
Member Since: 11/22/2008
Posts: 836
Back To Top

Weren't working for me last night.........still not working this morning.

Date Posted: 5/30/2009 9:29 AM ET
Member Since: 11/11/2005
Posts: 5,238
Back To Top

Well, I got home and it works fine here.  I have IE7 at home.   No idea what version I have at work, but it would suck if this is a permanent thing because I have no control over what internet browser I use at work.

Date Posted: 5/30/2009 9:45 AM ET
Member Since: 6/21/2007
Posts: 2,015
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 2/3/15 7:38 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 5/30/2009 9:12 PM ET
Member Since: 6/20/2007
Posts: 4,992
Back To Top

I can't use them at home or at the office.  I will send feedback.

Date Posted: 5/30/2009 9:29 PM ET
Member Since: 12/9/2007
Posts: 9,601
Back To Top

I use Firefox (I'm not in charge of what browser we use - that's DH's job).  Have had no problem in the last 2 days.  There was a problem earlier, though.

Ruth

Date Posted: 5/31/2009 7:33 AM ET
Member Since: 4/13/2008
Posts: 129
Back To Top

Still not working for me this morning. I didn't realize how much I used them until they are gone! Hope they fix them back. But I can go the long way around I guess.

Date Posted: 6/1/2009 9:30 AM ET
Member Since: 11/11/2005
Posts: 5,238
Back To Top

I'm back at work, and once again the pull down menus aren't working for me :-(    Unfortunately, I have no idea which version of Internet Explorer my company chooses to use - and have no control over it either.  So I guess that until this problem is fixed I won't have use of the drop down menus.

Date Posted: 6/1/2009 10:40 AM ET
Member Since: 3/18/2009
Posts: 250
Back To Top

Pulldowns haven't worked for me since last Thurs.

Date Posted: 6/1/2009 11:04 AM ET
Member Since: 4/30/2007
Posts: 2,728
Back To Top

Yep, that confirms it- works fine at home, where I have IE7, but here at work, where I have IE6, no pull-down menus.  Thanks for sending feedback, Sheryl- hope they fix it soon!

Date Posted: 6/1/2009 11:54 AM ET
Member Since: 6/20/2007
Posts: 4,992
Back To Top

Dear Sheryl,

We're sorry you are having this trouble! The site is working when we test it.

This may be an issue with your browser - we see that you are using Internet
Explorer version 6, which is a really outdated, buggy browser and may be the
source of all kinds of problems! We would recommend updating your version of
Internet Explorer or getting Firefox which is  a free, much more stable and
secure browser than IE.

Please try the following:

(1) go to http://download.mozilla.org and download and install Firefox

AND/OR

go to http://www.microsoft.com/downloads and download a later version of
Internet Explorer

then

(2) restart your computer
(3) open your new browser (the new IE or Firefox)
(4) Clear the cache in your browser (also called deleting your temporary
Internet files).
(5) Then go to http://www.paperbackswap.com and click Log in, then enter your
login information and click Login.

Let us know if doing this does not solve the problems for you.

Have a great day!

The PaperBackSwap Team

Date Posted: 6/1/2009 11:56 AM ET
Member Since: 6/20/2007
Posts: 4,992
Back To Top

At home I use AOL, at work I have no control, but I have no use of pull down menus in either place.  I sent the Feedback from home when I was able to confirm that I had the problem on both computers.  Unfortunately, it doesn't sound like they are going to try to fix it.

Cathy A. (Cathy) - ,
Date Posted: 6/1/2009 12:02 PM ET
Member Since: 12/27/2005
Posts: 4,148
Back To Top

Sheryl -- did you try clearing your browser cache? This could be caused by an out of date javascript file that your browser has stored.

Page: