Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Question about book browser

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Question about book browser
Date Posted: 9/8/2011 8:56 PM ET
Member Since: 4/20/2009
Posts: 519
Back To Top

If I go to search and  click the book browser I no longer get to just fill in what I'm looking for.  I have to wait while the system loads up 10,000 books (yes it says 10,000) before I'm able to input my search info.  Is this something new or is my acct just messed up?

Date Posted: 9/8/2011 10:04 PM ET
Member Since: 5/4/2009
Posts: 388
Back To Top

I just tried it and did not have to wait for it load any books.

Subject: possible solution
Date Posted: 9/8/2011 10:45 PM ET
Member Since: 9/22/2010
Posts: 2,973
Back To Top

Kate H.

You may be selectiing "Posted Books" first.  Try not doing that.  Instead, enter the name of the book or author and then select "posted books." You may also want to deselect either paperback, hardback or one of the audio books choices (depending on your preferences), before selecting "posted books." 

It sounds like you have a slow connection to the internet.  I have a fast connection and if Iselect "posted books" before entering a title or author, it still comes up very fast.

Good luck.

 

Date Posted: 9/9/2011 12:35 AM ET
Member Since: 2/26/2006
Posts: 34,907
Back To Top

Kate, I've noticed the very same thing recently and I'm fairly certain it's new.  I too have a fast internet connection so I don't have to wait anytime at all for the books to load, but previously, I don't think it performed the same way.  As soon as I select Book Browser, it doesn't matter if it's Posted Books or Wishlisted Books or All Books, it's still 1 of 10000.

Date Posted: 9/9/2011 8:23 AM ET
Member Since: 4/20/2009
Posts: 519
Back To Top

Yea I'm not entering anythng at all.  Just selecting book browser that's it.  It's doing that as soon as the screen comes up.  I'm suppose to have high speed internet too, but it sure does take them awhile to load. 

Cathy A. (Cathy) - ,
Date Posted: 9/9/2011 10:29 AM ET
Member Since: 12/27/2005
Posts: 4,124
Back To Top

Instead of going to book browser from the menu, put something in the search box at the top of the page and click on the search button there. If you enter something that gets fewer hits than the default search, it will come up much faster.

Date Posted: 9/9/2011 10:50 AM ET
Member Since: 4/7/2008
Posts: 15,690
Back To Top

I'd also suggest cleaning your cache, cookies, etc. Maybe there's an old version of that page in your system that is messing you up.

Date Posted: 9/9/2011 8:36 PM ET
Member Since: 4/20/2009
Posts: 519
Back To Top

Thanks for all the help.  I'm not sure what it was but I did a complete disc cleanup including cookies and it's gone now.  Really strange though because I had just done this a week ago and it still hadn't gone away.  I won't complain though, just glad it's gone.



Last Edited on: 9/9/11 8:37 PM ET - Total times edited: 1