Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Question about signature images..

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Question about signature images..
Date Posted: 3/28/2009 12:16 AM ET
Member Since: 5/4/2006
Posts: 1,117
Back To Top
I can’t seem to get the image to show up. It’s uploaded and listed in my current images but it’s not showing the image on my signature. Anyone know what I’m doing wrong here?

 

 

 

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 1:12 AM ET
Member Since: 2/5/2007
Posts: 30,800
Back To Top

Try rebooting your computer.

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 1:58 AM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2008
Posts: 2,007
Back To Top

I don't think that's it Cozi...  I can't see it in her sig either, and I had a similar problem with images in my own sig.  Eventually I gave up on getting it to work.

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 2:22 AM ET
Member Since: 5/4/2006
Posts: 1,117
Back To Top
OK... I’ve tried rebooting and I also tried to upload it in both IE and Firefox thinking maybe a browser problem, still no image.
Daniel T. - ,
Date Posted: 3/28/2009 3:54 AM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2008
Posts: 272
Back To Top

The restrictions for signature may be causing some concern.

Valid file types: gif, jpg, png
Maximum filesize: 20kb
Maximum Dimensions: 75px x 550px

px=pixels

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 8:50 AM ET
Member Since: 6/19/2007
Posts: 11
Back To Top

Just testing mine.. trying it for the first time.

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 8:51 AM ET
Member Since: 6/19/2007
Posts: 11
Back To Top

Nope. Didn't work.  :(

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 8:52 AM ET
Member Since: 8/25/2007
Posts: 13,134
Back To Top

Most times it is because it's too big.   When you Browse for the image, before you click on it, run your mouse over the file name and the size should pop up. If it's larger than 20 kb, then it will not upload to your signature.  You can resize it, depending on what programs you have on your computer.  I often crop and minimize larger jpgs I want to use.

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 9:33 AM ET
Member Since: 11/14/2005
Posts: 6,421
Back To Top

It also appears that you have blank lines with your text. Try copying out the two lines of text, making sure you only have copied from the first letter to the last letter and nothing more, not even an extra space at the end. Then backspace several times, and then hit delete several times. Paste back in your text, then try uploading your images, and then save (oh sorry, save after after copying out the text, and after the backspace and delete keys)

Don't ask me why such a rigamarow would work, but I've seen it happen that nothing logical worked, and when they went to the extreme of being absolutely positvie there couldn't be anthing else there, it works.

Good luck!

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 11:26 AM ET
Member Since: 5/22/2007
Posts: 9,682
Back To Top

Yep, I agree with Sherry. If you have too many lines of text then your images won't show up. That's why I usually only keep one or two lines of text in my siggy. If you have more then two lines of text, condense if you can to one or two lines. Then after the lines of text, put your cursor at the end and hit Delete a bunch of times or just keep your finger on the Delete button for a few seconds to remove any extra lines that you can't see. Then try uploading your images again and see if you can see them. Also make sure they're not too large, Daniel above mentioned the file sizes.



Last Edited on: 3/28/09 11:26 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 3/28/2009 2:19 PM ET
Member Since: 6/19/2007
Posts: 11
Back To Top

It worked!! I didn't realize that you had to click on "update signature" after browsing for a picture.  That made the difference.  Woohoo!

Date Posted: 3/28/2009 7:43 PM ET
Member Since: 5/4/2006
Posts: 1,117
Back To Top

That worked! Thank you!!!