Search - The Reincarnationist

The Reincarnationist
The Reincarnationist
Author: M. J. Rose
A bomb in Rome, a flash of bluish-white light, and photojournalist Josh Ryder's world exploded. From that instant nothing would ever be the same. — As Josh recovers, his mind is increasingly invaded with thoughts that have the emotion, the intensity, the intimacy of memories. But they are not his memories. They are ancient and violent. A batt...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780778325765
ISBN-10: 0778325768
Publication Date: 10/1/2008
Pages: 464
Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 63

3.5 stars, based on 63 ratings
Publisher: Mira
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Reincarnationist on + 33 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
This book had so much potential. It could have been written to provide more tension, more mystery, more meat. Reincarnated persons crossing and re-crossing each others' paths could be so much more interesting and rewarding.

While it kept my interest enough for me to finish it, I'm disappointed (that I finished it). I literally didn't realize that the book was over until I turned the page and found the Author's Note. What?

Yes, it had a very UN-satisfying ending.

I will admit that I didn't see "the big twist" until about the time I was meant to see it, but it wasn't all that surprising. The plotting and character interactions were sloppy and fairly mechanical.

This is the author's 9th book. If this is what she's done after 8 previous attempts, I'm glad I didn't start at the beginning.

I will, however, look for other novels addressing the subject. Now that I've considered the potential for the story line, I'm interested in finding something more satisfying.
reviewed The Reincarnationist on + 173 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
Fans of Preston & Child's thrillers will find somewhat familiar turf and pacing in this thriller that weaves past lives with the quest for some historical artifacts. The rapid switching between the here and now and the past lives can be a bit tricky at first, but the payoff is worth it. An intriguing plot that is fresh and interesting in the thriller genre.
reviewed The Reincarnationist on + 330 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
What if one day you had a dream that was more real than your current reality. What if the person you were today kept flashing into someone that you really shouldn't know? What if you know things that happened 1700 years ago with the precision that astonishes the experts? What if you were reincarnated? What if the book just leaves storylines dangling? What if the authors previous writing experience in erotica appears in this book? What if the end is sudden and way too abrupt? What if when you finished the book you said, "so what"? http://tinyurl.com/3c69x3
reviewed The Reincarnationist on
Helpful Score: 3
With all the hoopla about this book I was expecting a great read. Unfortunately that didn't happen. The storyline was predictable and you don't realize the book is finished until you turn the page and see the author's notes. I'm sorry I did finish (?) it, if that's what you call this ending. About a third of the way through I did have to force myself to keep reading.

I have read several books on the subject and much preferred âGreen Darknessâ by Anya Seton.
reviewed The Reincarnationist on + 153 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
Exciting and rather long thriller involving reincarnation and past life regressions. Josh Ryder keeps having hallucinations about a past life as a priest to the Vestal Virgins in Rome, in 391 A.D. He tries to get proof that past lives exist and that souls are reincarnated in another body to right the ancient wrongs of their past lives. The plot gets befuddled with a secondary past life involving others in 1880s New York. I liked the book and wanted to know what was happening, but I felt that the writing was long-winded and belabored the reincarnation theme to death (no pun intended).
Read All 17 Book Reviews of "The Reincarnationist"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Reincarnationist on + 7 more book reviews
I enjoyed it. This book will be very interesting to believers in the concept of reincarnation and archaeology/anthropology/history enthusiasts. I felt a little bit let down by the conclusion, however, and felt that this book definitely needs a sequel. I am a neatly-wrapped-up-with-a-bow-ending kind of person, I guess.
reviewed The Reincarnationist on + 6 more book reviews
As the book begins, the main character, photojournalist Josh Ryder, is in Rome to cover the meeting of a delegation of major superpowers when he is injured during a terrorist attack. The injury triggers episodes that he slowly realizes are not hallucinations, but actual memories of a past life. His attempts to discover the truth about the events that he glimpses during these episodes set the stage for the mysteries that must be solved in both the present and the past. As Josh's story unfolds, the author deftly introduces buried treasure, illicit romance, multiple villains and, finally, a surprise ending.

This is a fast-paced mystery based on events that began in the past lives of the main characters. Even if you do not believe in or accept the possibility of reincarnation, the plot of the book is still intriguing and the writing holds the reader's interest. The story switches effortlessly back and forth in time; flashbacks are handled in such a way as not to confuse the reader and past and present events are well connected. If you are looking for suspense with a twist, I can highly recommend this book.

Book Wiki

Common Title
People/Characters
Josh Ryder (Primary Character)

Genres: