Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Requester conditions really that hard deal with???

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Requester conditions really that hard deal with???
Date Posted: 12/27/2007 10:11 AM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,178
Back To Top

 

Why do some people feel the need to be jerks on RCs? If they don't want to send it don't, why the snotty PMs? It just makes the responder look like an a$$ in my opinion. They are insulted?!?!

 

This is the response I got on a WL request:

jeez ... even though all of my books are from a smoke-free home and I ship every one of them in a padded envelope, I was quite insulted by your long list of requests for a "used" book.  I'll pass.

My Conditions:

Due to allergies, I am not willing to receive books that are currently in a smoking home.

Please do not mail a paperback if the book is posted as a Hardcover. (Even if the problem is that the ISBN lists the paperback that way). Paperback do not work in my bookholder!

Its winter time !! So please add a little extra protection to the books when you send them. The plain PBS wrapper won't stand up to our weather and will get soggy. Even just a layer of plastic shopping bag or plastic wrap will help. Thanks!

 Are 3 requests really that hard for someone to read? I never say anything about a "used" book condition; just don't smoke on it, send the right one, and try to keep in dry.

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 10:14 AM ET
Member Since: 2/5/2007
Posts: 30,793
Back To Top

Your requests are very resonable.       This is a site with thousands of users.   You ran into one of the unpleasant ones.  Thank goodness they are few and far between. 

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 10:36 AM ET
Member Since: 11/27/2007
Posts: 1,222
Back To Top

I don't think your requests are hard to meet at all and why would they be insulted? That was an odd choice of words I think.

Also, I don't think they were right to say anything about your requests being long for a "used" book. What does it matter if it's used or not? Just because it's used doesn't mean it can be any old piece of crap!!!

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 10:41 AM ET
Member Since: 8/8/2005
Posts: 1,061
Back To Top

I didn't see anything there that is unreasonable either.  I generally wrap all my shipments in plastic, just to be safe. 

I would have accepted your requests :-)

Don't sweat it.

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 10:50 AM ET
Member Since: 4/11/2007
Posts: 1,640
Back To Top

I think your conditions are fine,  someone got up on the wrong side of bed this morning.

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 11:57 AM ET
Member Since: 1/8/2007
Posts: 8,139
Back To Top

The response you received was out of line. Person needed another cup of coffee or something. (Or perhaps had too much?)

But I still think that shortest is best. I wouldn't add a bunch of reasons, except to mention allergies. Also, I think that am not willing to receive is a bit wishy-washy and a bit confrontational. So I'd write them like this.

Due to my allergies, I can only accept books that are currently in a non-smoking environment.

Please double-check that the binding type of your book matches the book listing.

To help prevent water damage during shipping, please wrap the book in a layer of plastic.

Thanks for your consideration!

 

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 1:01 PM ET
Member Since: 8/25/2007
Posts: 13,134
Back To Top

 

I agree with what the others said--I see nothing wrong with your RCs, in what you requested or how they were worded.  Maybe someone is a bit PMS-y or suffering from post-holiday stress?

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 4:03 PM ET
Member Since: 12/19/2005
Posts: 5,091
Back To Top

Your conditions are fine.  Some people seem to take it very personally if they can't meet your RCs - as if you had told them "Your books aren't good enough for me.  You aren't good enough to send a book to me."  Or something like that.  Or maybe they were upset that you forced them to stop and think for a moment?  Any way, I wouldn't worry about it.

Subject: Seem Fine To Me : )
Date Posted: 12/27/2007 4:08 PM ET
Member Since: 7/14/2005
Posts: 232
Back To Top

If they don't read it Won't you be afraid what they mail to you : ) Just a thought.....Boy have I received some doosies....

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 4:38 PM ET
Member Since: 10/25/2005
Posts: 125
Back To Top

Just a thought...Some requests (not neccesarily yours) seem to assume that the person who has posted the book isn't capable of following the rules without handholding. 

I have no problem with conditions, but when someone takes an accusatory tone ("You KNOW if it's a good book or not!") or a set of conditions fills my screen or reiterates the rules as set up by R&R, I'm more likely to give that person a pass and go to the next FIFO if there is one. 

Short and sweet really is best.  Most people here are pretty decent and will do their best to be sure you're not disappointed in the books you receive.  By the same token, a drop of honey certainly will certainly draw more flies than a cup of vinegar.  A charming note about the messy weather in Minnesota will get you a lot further than eighteen bullet points on what you will accept. 

All of the above is true and has appeared in my request window in the last month.  The names have been changed  -actually left off- because I felt like it.

Subject: Requestor's Condition - Can't send wrong edition
Date Posted: 12/27/2007 4:48 PM ET
Member Since: 10/20/2007
Posts: 1,680
Back To Top

I received a request with the above condition.  "Can't be wrong edition".  I don't understand what this means.  The ISBN numbers match and the cover looks like the cover in PBS.   How am I to know what is the "wrong" edition?

 

TIA

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 5:08 PM ET
Member Since: 5/10/2007
Posts: 5,526
Back To Top

Phyllis, that is for those that post a book by title and not ISBN becaus there wasn't an ISBN number so therefore they are posting it incorrectly.  Make sense?

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 5:21 PM ET
Member Since: 10/20/2007
Posts: 1,680
Back To Top

Thanks Hugs,

 

Makes sense.  Thanks!!!

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 6:31 PM ET
Member Since: 8/27/2007
Posts: 3,326
Back To Top

I've not been a member here all that long, but I have received several nasty notes about RC, too.   One of my RC does reiterate a PBS rule, but I added that after receiving several books that were in *really* bad condition!

Does anyone think my RC are unreasonable?

Please don't send books that smell of mildew, mold or tobacco smoke.

I prefer not to accept books that are extremely worn: very creased or torn covers, loose pages, etc. Avg. used book wear is okay.

If you are uncertain, please accept this request, then PM me with details or questions. Thanks!

Mendy -
Date Posted: 12/27/2007 6:35 PM ET
Member Since: 6/16/2005
Posts: 8,262
Back To Top

then PM me with details or questions

Denise - the part about PM'ing you is not something that can be done before the request is actually accepted or declined by the sender.  I suggest that you include a copy of the link to your profile page so that someone can PM you before they accept or decline your request if they want to.

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 6:35 PM ET
Member Since: 5/11/2006
Posts: 100
Back To Top

IMO, I would have declined your requests, though I would not have responded as kurtly as the response you received.   I follow PBS rules and suggestions, and feel a bit offended when a requester recommends how I should ship a book and questions whether I have the "right' book listed. 

Just as it is a requester's right to have conditions, it is a sender's right to decline them.

Subject: I can see how your sender was upset.
Date Posted: 12/27/2007 8:07 PM ET
Member Since: 12/25/2007
Posts: 2
Back To Top

They already knew the rules.  When everyone goes to put in their ISPN, it reminds them to check it twice. There was no need for you to remind them a 3rd time. I have had someone, maybe it was you?, lol, send me requests like that. I thought it was pretty snobby, but I sent them the book anyway because I wanted my credit lol.... Yeah, there's no need to put in requests like that. Everyone here should be perfectly capable of following the instructions. Also, it says in the instructions to use plastic. So ya, you were out of line in my opinion and I can see how the sender was upset, but something like that wouldnt upset me..I would just think im my mind that it was snobby.

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 8:53 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,178
Back To Top

They already knew the rules.  When everyone goes to put in their ISPN, it reminds them to check it twice. There was no need for you to remind them a 3rd time. I have had someone, maybe it was you?, lol, send me requests like that. I thought it was pretty snobby, but I sent them the book anyway because I wanted my credit lol.... Yeah, there's no need to put in requests like that.

You would really find it snobby and out of line? That intrigues me. I agree they should know the rules, but the wrong binding is one that I found repeatedly broken because so many ISBNs are on both bindings and people think because the system lists it that way it is OK to ship it wrong. I figured that people who followed the rules would just go past it and not stop to be offended by something that didn't apply to them. This is the one RC that I figured might cause me trouble, but I really didn't think it would be a big deal to anyone unless the they were one that did it and got offended for being called out on it.

Also, it says in the instructions to use plastic. This one is not true, the system suggests it, but it is not required. Prior to my RC, I would say 80% of the books I received were not covered with anything but paper.  I guess my alternative to asking for plastic would be to put my shelf on hold for the winter.

 

Thanks for the pointers on how my RCs might be tweeked everyone. I really did try to work them so they would be as short and clear as possible, as non-accusatory as possible, yet show that I had reasons for my requests and wasn't just being a book snob. I have had many great trades here and I guess it caught me by surprise that someone would react so negatively to something that is not directed at anyone in particular, just a general request. Oh, well I am willing to wait for someone who doesn't take my RCs as a personal assault to post the book. 

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 11:42 PM ET
Member Since: 1/12/2007
Posts: 1,305
Back To Top

I find your conditions fine. I wrap all in plastic, and I have one book that says it's paperback and it's a hardback so I don't have it listed. I try to make sure to check the binding on requests to make sure it's not an mess up in the system and if it's a used book I'd PM you to let you know it came to me used and doesn't smell like smoke and give you the option. Not too hard but some get very pissy about any condition at all.

Date Posted: 12/27/2007 11:48 PM ET
Member Since: 8/27/2007
Posts: 3,326
Back To Top

Denise - the part about PM'ing you is not something that can be done before the request is actually accepted or declined by the sender.

 

Mendy, that's why it says please accept this request, then PM me with details or questions. 

(If everyone followed the rules, the only RC would be probably be about smells.)

I don't understand why people get so defensive about RC.  If people think RC are stupid/unnecessary, why not just decline the request and move on?  Why do some people feel the need to be snarky and rude? I guess it's just too easy to be rude on-line where you don't have to look the other person in the eye.

As for the "wrong ISBN" problem -- I would simply mark it rec'd with a problem if I ordered a specific binding and didn't get it. I'd ask for my credit back, plus one more if they wanted the book back. 

Or, if a specific edition was required, I'd send a PM immediately after reqesting. I did that recently with a book for my daughter. There is a 6 book set she wanted. I found #2-6 from one member and was pleased to have them arrive in like-new condition. Book #1 arrived from a different vendor dirty, stained and really abused. I got my credit back for that one, and re-ordered from a different member. That one was the wrong edition (different cover & publisher) and the cover fell off about 5 minutes after I marked it "received".  Both of those books went into the trash. The next time I ordered that book, I sent a PM immediately after letting the member know that I was looking for the exact edition and cover shown on the listing and if possible, I was trying to get a very nice copy in good condition to complete a set.  The member sent a very nice reply.

patticom - ,
Date Posted: 12/28/2007 2:27 AM ET
Member Since: 11/3/2007
Posts: 416
Back To Top

I've got a good chuckle from some snooty requests, but I've never yet turned down a book purely because of requests or the way they were worded.  The original poster's requests are fine, and IMHO worded politely!! 

As for the wrapping, I prefer the plastic thing to be mentioned because I might not think of it if I'm in a hurry!  I feel that PBS actually encourages you to use the paper wrapping, and while I don't usually wrap the book in only their printed "wrapper" I never would have thought of plastic wrap if I hadn't read it on the bazaars.  All my mail comes to/from a post office indoors!  Even now I don't plastic wrap all the books I send--unless it is in RC or I notice that the address is rural Montana or something.  :)  It seems like overkill to me for books going to city or southern addresses, and I do wrap in grocery bags or other heavy brown paper.  But I have to assume the requestor knows their mailbox better than I do!--why take offense?

Actually the only "correction" I would make to any of the RC mentioned is the one about mold/mildew smells--IF you ever request vintage books.  For newer books, sure--it's easy to tell if they smell like a clean book or not.  :)  But books over a certain age almost always have a distinct odor that while I would not really call "mildew" it's certainly not a new paper smell so how do I knew what the requestor defines as "smelly"?!?  If anyone requests a vintage book from me with a smells (other than just smoke) condition, it would have to be turned down rather than take a chance.

patti

Date Posted: 12/28/2007 9:59 AM ET
Member Since: 4/11/2007
Posts: 267
Back To Top

I never had a problem with conditions until recently. The RC conditions was LONG and I went through them carefully and sent out the book. Well of course there was a problem and I had to give my credit back. Yes it was probably my error (flex binding - is this hard or paperback?) but it just irked me enough that if I ever see a long list of conditions again I won't accept them.

A previous poster stated to make them short and sweet and I agree! :)

Mendy -
Date Posted: 12/28/2007 10:10 AM ET
Member Since: 6/16/2005
Posts: 8,262
Back To Top

Sorry Denise, I misread you.   But... if they do accept and then PM you and the book can't be sent out, if they cancel they lose their place in the FIFO line.  So it might be better to include your PM link so they can PM before doing anything.  Just a thought.

I don't turn down RC's unless it's a book that I bought from my UBS or Goodwill and the RC deals with smells.  I figure life is too short to nit-pick on someone else's allergies or conditions.

Date Posted: 12/28/2007 11:01 AM ET
Member Since: 6/30/2007
Posts: 1,837
Back To Top

I feel your pain.  My RCs are apparently INfamous, LOL.

Date Posted: 12/28/2007 11:26 AM ET
Member Since: 1/8/2007
Posts: 8,139
Back To Top

LOL, Carol!

Page: