Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Resolved

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Resolved
Date Posted: 9/21/2009 10:26 AM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2008
Posts: 279
Back To Top

I'm not sure how to explain this.  When I am on pbs the pages load ok for a little while but then it slows down to a crawl or keeps trying to load but never does.  I thought at first it was hp updates that runs all the time so I would close that but it doesn't help anymore. 

Are there settings that I should change?  I don't have a problem at any other site.  It goes very smoothly anywhere else I go.  It is driving me crazy that I can only get around pbs for a few minutes before it stops.



Last Edited on: 9/22/09 8:17 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 9/21/2009 10:39 AM ET
Member Since: 1/17/2009
Posts: 9,664
Back To Top

What is your browser?

Date Posted: 9/21/2009 11:00 AM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2008
Posts: 279
Back To Top

I have Internet Explorer (not sure which version) and have Comcast Cable high speed.

Date Posted: 9/21/2009 12:13 PM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2007
Posts: 26,510
Back To Top

Diane-PBS is the only website have issues with as well. Doesn't matter if I'm using IE or Firefox.  The pages lock up, they take forever to load or my computer tells me it can't find that page.  Doesn't happen with any other site I use. 

I can't figure it out either.  And I routinely clear out caches, cookies and junk. And I'm updated.

Date Posted: 9/21/2009 2:37 PM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2008
Posts: 279
Back To Top

Well, at least I'm not the only one.  I have been looking around for settings but can't find any specifically for this problem.  I clear out cookies and such all the time as well. 

I was wondering if it is because of the high traffic here.  Wouldn't know though.

Date Posted: 9/21/2009 3:10 PM ET
Member Since: 2/24/2009
Posts: 160
Back To Top

Wow this has never happened to me.  Do you have a bunch of other windows open perhaps?

Date Posted: 9/21/2009 6:12 PM ET
Member Since: 1/18/2007
Posts: 530
Back To Top

I had the same problem in IE. I now use Firefox and no longer have problems.

Date Posted: 9/21/2009 10:34 PM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2008
Posts: 279
Back To Top

The only thing I usually have open is IE.  Maybe I should check out Firefox.  Haven't heard much about that. 

Date Posted: 9/21/2009 11:41 PM ET
Member Since: 2/24/2009
Posts: 160
Back To Top

Firefox is an excellent browser.  

Date Posted: 9/22/2009 8:16 PM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2008
Posts: 279
Back To Top

I downloaded Firefox and I have to say I am amazed at how fast it is.  It is really nice.  Thanks for the suggestion.  I've been going through the site for a while just testing it out and haven't had a problem.  Hopefully it fixed the problem.