Book Reviews of Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1)

Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1)
Slave to Sensation - Psy-Changelings, Bk 1
Author: Nalini Singh
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780425212868
ISBN-10: 0425212866
Publication Date: 9/5/2006
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 420

4.3 stars, based on 420 ratings
Publisher: Berkley
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

37 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 310 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 10
This is definately a romance novel in a paranormal setting rather than a paranormal fantasy with a romantic subplot. Well conceived world, interesting races. Psys are a race of psychics that have control of the world. Lesser races are humans and changlings (half man, half animal that can change form at will). Because of past violence and explosiveness in their race, Psys have stamped out all emotion and are now seemingly incapable of feeling. Sascha is one such Psy but she is flawed - she can feel, but so far she has hidden this under impregnable shields. Changelings, due to their animal natures have emotion close to the surface and have a very different culture from the Psys (who consider them and humans little more than animals). Lucas is the head of his pack of leopard changelings and is working with the Psy on a housing project for other changelings. Sascha is his laison with the Psy, but Lucas has more in mind than just the housing project. He must learn as much as he can about the Psy to track down a serial killer who has targeted changeling women. And of course there is the mystery of Sascha herself. Oh you know where thats going, this is a romance; but the differences in races, finding the serial killer, and understanding Sacha's flaw make this story stand out.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 25 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8
I hesitated in buying this book. While I normally read time-travel, paranormal romance, I simply couldn't see how a science fiction wolf book could work. (Yes, I know they are out there but I simply don't enjoy them.) I enjoy Sci Fi but I usually want to separate it from romance. First, if you are now or have ever been a Sci-Fi nut AND a romance genre person, you will REALLY enjoy this book. I found myself caught in the intricasies of Singh's description of the Psy Net she has created here. If you enjoy Feehan or J.R. Ward then this is probably right up your alley. The female isn't quite strong enough for me, but then I'm not a sweet young thing myself anymore and I want my characters to have alot more spine then women in the romance genre generally have. But again, What a great writer! This is no throw-down romance. You'll think while you read it and hey, the sex is great! :-) In a sea of average books out there, most of which I've read and not been able to finish, this is really a find. I'm off to pick up the next two in the series and from me, ever determined not to spend more money on books, that is a real compliment!
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 44 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
This is pretty much a romance novel (aka Harlequin style) that's slightly spicier, with a bit of fantasy thrown in. It's not completely plotless, which made it palatable for me, but it's very light on the fantasy part.

I WILL see if I can get the next few books in this series, but I'll try the library first. This isn't the kind of book I'd read more than once, but it's light, fluffy reading, perfect for a day at the beach.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 114 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
I had very high hopes for this book and in some ways it let me down. I really don't feel like it was as suspenseful or as romantic as it should have been.

Sascha is one of the Psy, a race of people without emotions. She is incredibly strong and smart, but she finds herself beginning to slip into madness as she realizes she can feel. Lucas is the alpha of the leopard-changeling pack, and he's working with Sascha on a project to build safe homes for his people. He is also in the midst of a murder investigation with strong suspicion toward the Psy. He recognizes Sascha as different, and soon becomes overwhelmed by the desire to claim her as his own.

The romance that happened to be present was nice. The development in the relationship was very well paced.

Lucas is a complex and interesting character. Sexy, smart, and edgy. The author does a good job of letting her readers into his head and heart.

The changelings are a fascinating group, I almost wished the book were just about them. The world building there is flawless. The pack structure, social dynamics, and close relationships are enthralling.

I felt bombarded with confused, unintelligible information about the Psy. There background, history, purpose, the entire PsyNet thing--it didn't make much sense and it was too boring to try to figure out. The chapters that venture into the PsyNet felt like SciFi B Movie material. As a result, a lot of the book was seriously dull. Worse, all the mumbo-jumbo cut into the otherwise beautiful romance.

I feel this particular book would appeal more to science fiction or fantasy fans then it would romance fans.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 672 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
The world of the Psys - an emotional-less society who live in constant touch with the mental stimulation of the Net - when one is not suited to the niche one has been assigned...

The world of the Changelings - a world of sensation, able to embrace both human and animals Changelings embrace emotion and touch...

The world of Humans - a world pressured from both of the other races, filled with people trying to get along...

Order is important with this series, each of the h/h are continuing characters in the later books - especially true of the first one because the hero is Alpha of the pack. After you've read the first you could probably skip around if you had to.


Psy/Changeling Series

1. Slave to Sensation (September 2006)
2. Visions of Heat
Free short Story: The Cannibal Princess available from the author's website
3. Caressed By Ice (September 2007)
4. âBeat of Temptationâ in An Enchanted Season (October 2007)*
5. Mine to Possess (February 2008)
6. Hostage to Pleasure (September 2008)
7. âStroke of Enticementâ in The Magical Christmas Cat (October 2008) *
8. Branded by Fire (July 2009)
9. Blaze of Memory (November 2009)
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 24 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Plot Summary: This is the first book in an alternate reality/fantasy romance series called the Psy-Changelings. Sascha, a psy(chic) lives among the severely emotionally repressed Psy and is hiding the fact that she is "flawed", that is, she has emotions. She meets a Leopard Changeling (shapeshifter), Lucas, and together they try to save a girl from a Psy Serial Killer (and build a relationship as well!)

Main Characters: Sascha (the Psy Heroine) is intelligent, likable, courageous, and maybe one of the best heroines I have come across in a paranormal!
Lucas (the Changeling Hero) is also intelligent, passionate, alpha but not in the caveman-like way I see so often. He is able to laugh, to grieve, he strikes me as a while person. Very likable. Very sexy.

Best About This Book: The world building is great. I am fascinated with the Psy and absolutely loved the changelings: the characters, the way they live, everything! I am already curious about some of the minor characters and am left satisfied with the ending but wanting more.
Worst About This Book: Can't think of one complaint! MAYBE a little slow in the beginning? (feel like I am reaching for that criticism).

Summary: EXCLLENT book. I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes romance/ paranormals/ just a really good story. A really fun, romantic, at times, intense read.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 55 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This shouldn't have worked for me. I like paranormal romance, but shapeshifters and anything with mates leaves me profoundly skeptical. Toss in the fact that Singh is a headhopper - switches POV without scene breaks - and I should've tossed the book after the first couple chapters. It's a credit to her storytelling talent that I didn't. I got sucked into the story with absolutely no fail, and couldn't put the book down once I'd started. I love Sascha's "brokenness," and her struggle against it while at the same time trying to figure out what exactly is going on with her. Lucas, too, is an alpha hero to the nth degree. As pack leader, he is strong, loyal, and passionate, and the way he goes after Sascha took my breath away.

The mystery of the serial killer is secondary to the romance, and not really all that surprising when the truth is ultimately revealed. But for anyone who loves their alpha heroes paired with deceptively flawed yet strong heroines, this one's a keeper.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 32 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Didn't love it. I didn't even finish it. Read all but last 50 pages and decided, who cares.

This book had it moments, loved the dream scenes and I liked Lucas as a hero, but it didn't move fast enough for me.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 55 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I adored this book! The detail the author went into about the Psy and Changling worlds was detailed, beautiful, and so chaotic in their dealings with one another. Singh does an amazing job of spinning together an great paced plot and building a unique world for the characters without slowing the story telling or yanking the reader out of the story.

Sascha and Lucas are great characters with a wonderfully deep relationship and interesting familial backgrounds race/species wise. But I really liked that while romance was the main aspect of the book there was a huge amount of sci-fi thrown in regards to the Psy, their abilities, their technologies, and their culture.

If only the cover wasn't so cheesy! All in all though, an amazing book! I will definitely read more from this author!
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 14 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
i really enjoyed reading slave to sensation. i read book 2 before reading book 1, so i knew what to expect. i loved every minute of it. the male changelings are dominant alphas determined to protect their pack and mates by any means necessary. this is an awesome series and i look forward to reading the other books. Singh's writing style is similar to Feehan's. so Feehan fans will love the psy-changelings
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 5 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This book was just "ok" for me. It didn't quite live up to all the hype I heard about Nalini Singh. The premise was interesting, ie. the world of the psi but it just didn't go far enough for me. It seemed very surface. I did like Lucas though, and Sascha wasn't too bad. There were a few cheesy bleeding heart moments that weren't necessarily during a romantic moments but that just seems to be Singh's style. I like romance but I don't like dripping sap. Anyway, I give this 3 stars.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 56 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Just checked out this book from my local library today. Really enjoying this story and the paranormal setting with psychic abilities as well as shape shifting. Good character development and story keeps your attention. Highly Recommended if you like paranormal romances.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on
Helpful Score: 1
This was the first of Nalini Singh's books I had ever read, and I was impressed very quickly. Her characters are very "real" and the world she has created is very detailed and in depth, even as it is unique. At last I have found a series in which the main female leads are not whiny, weak, 'somebody-save-me' types, but can stand strong on their own. This series is better read in order but can be read as stand alone novels. It is near impossible not to give this book 5 stars just for the sheer intricacy of her world. It is a must read for those looking for something different in the paranormal romance genre.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 257 more book reviews
Good stuff! Strong characters, reasonable attraction factors, relatable dialog. A fine writer has created an alternate paranormal world and it is both exciting and interesting!
Basic romance sensuality with an alpha male - not erotica. Recommended.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 56 more book reviews
All I can say is WOW! This book was fantastic. I can't believe I've never heard of this writer before but I'm so glad that I stumbled across her in someone else's bookshelf. I can't wait to get my hands on the next book of the series. It's a real page-turner and I was up most of the night finishing this book in one day.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on
Awesome series! This has a place on any bookshelf. If you like Patricia Briggs be sure to read Singh
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 113 more book reviews
I think I'm seeing why this series is so widely popular. The futuristic setting is interesting, the idea of the Psy and changelings society is very intriguing and the relationships are yummy, especially the changelings! The story was a little slow, plodding along through all the world set-up. While explaining it all, Singh tended to reiterate many of the ideas much more than needed (if Sascha breaks free of the Psy network she will die -we know!!) but overall this is a great first book in a series I'm now looking forward to reading
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 504 more book reviews
I won an unabridged copy of Slave to Sensation over at the All About Romance Blog (thanks!) and read it for Leas Audiobook column.

I have to say I was expecting a super fantastic read. This is a series that seems to be a favorite of many of my goodreads (and real life) friends but Im afraid it didnt quite live up to the amazing read I had built up in my head. It wasnt bad, not by any means, but it didnt leave behind any lingering emotions or sense of awe. Ill read more of them, I am intrigued but I wasnt blown away by any of it.

Im not going to rehash the plot because so many have done it so well and Im lazy. Im just going to jump in with my random thoughts, issues and complaints.

The narrator did a decent enough job, I think she got Saschas monotone down pat but I have to admit the entire reading was a wee bit too emotion-less and sleepy inducing. Even sexy Lucas was all quiet and breathy. He was a sexy panther-creature but I couldnt sense the purrs nor the growls and had to rewind on numerous occasions because I didnt catch what he was saying. I can get what the narrator was doing but it just didnt do it for me.

The world-building was well done and relatively interesting without being too over-powering BUT the love story just didnt have enough awww moments to hook me and I felt a little detached from the whole thing. I know, I know, Im too freaking picky. The shared sensual dreams and Saschas introduction to the world of sensation, sex, food, etc. was fun to read and I enjoyed watching the bonds shared by the changelings and loved the shoe nibbling cubs wish there was more of that stuff.

In the end, there was too much psy-techy talk, suspense and too many characters for me. I like more intimate character studies I guess and the balance in this type of PNR novel is a difficult one. Its a solidly written, good book but it didnt have that something special to knock me over the edge into 5 start territory and if Im being completely honest, I found myself bored through too much of it. I never felt moved by any emotion (maybe Im just dead inside!). I actually listened to this twice to be sure it wasnt my mood or that Id missed something special the first time around but alas I still felt the same way on the second reading.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 1076 more book reviews
I've been putting off this book and putting it off. I have absolutely no idea why as it is a terrific story.

In a world that totally denies emotions and harshly punishes any sign of feelings, Sascha Duncan is an anomaly. She's terrified she won't be able to keep her growing emotions under control and sees herself as flawed. Then she starts working with sexy leopard shifter (changeling) Lucas Hunter on a long term building project. Lucas is the alpha male of his group of leopards. Natural enemies, the leopards and the wolves, are forced to work together when females of each are being murdered supposedly by a Psy individual.

Lucas has ulterior motives for working with Sascha. He is hoping that Sascha will have inside information of the Psy and be able to access the PsyNet in order to help with the murder investigation. The sexual tension between them is intense. Sascha believes she is losing her mind due to these emotional attacks...Psy aren't supposed to have any emotions. She forces herself to deny her growing feelings as the Psy are brutal and will rehabilitate her if they get any inkling of her situation. (Rehabilitation = emotional death = vegetable state.) As Lucas gets closer and closer to Sascha, he is determined to help her as she helps them.

The sex scenes are very hot and yet rather romantic. Lucas is the perfect alpha male. Where's mine?
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 66 more book reviews
what a great book!!!!! can't wait for the next one
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 239 more book reviews
I just found this series and think its great~! Can't wait to read the next one.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 35 more book reviews
wonderful new series
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 15 more book reviews
I loved this book! I am going to read the next in the series and cannot wait for them all :)
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 105 more book reviews
I enjoyed this book and look forward to the second installment.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 55 more book reviews
Can't wait for the next book in this new series!
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 80 more book reviews
This is a series for the true SciFi Romance lover...ya know, before the whole paranormal genre even got started! If I was "keeping" fiction, this would be a keeper. While character development could be stronger, it's not weak...and the alternate racial thing is terrific! I am sensitive to too much "ugliness" and though there was a serial killer plot, I found it secondary to everything else that was going on - YET it was an interesting take (again, very SciFi for giving you something to really THINK about) on the role emotions play in society. I intend to read the whole series!
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 33 more book reviews
This series was recommended to me from a fellow paperbackswapper. I'm so glad. It's a great start to the series and I'm looking forward to reading the 2nd book in series which is on my TBR bookshelf (thanks to PBS).

The author's descriptions and telling of the story is excellent. With some paranormal/shape shifter stories the storyline become so muddled, you get the feeling the author is confused too - but not so with this series. I highly recommend it.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 503 more book reviews
Excellent!
I might like this better than Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter). Nalini Singh creates a very interesting mythology regarding the Psy, a people with exceptional psychic abilities who have been bred and trained to eliminate all emotion. I don't know that she has added much to the were-panther/werewolf lexicon, but as I know this is the start of a series, perhaps she develops that back story more in future books. She creates a great deal of detail about the Psy world and the Psy connections. It is very original and refreshing.

The romance was a slow build and convincing. Their chemistry and their emotional connection was carefully established and believable. It was sexy and sweet. I found the love scenes in this book a wee bit more risque than Angels' Blood, pretty steamy.

I like Singh's books because not everyone in the book is a WASP and the people feel more like the real world. I think the super dominant male is sexy and she shows him being dominant, doesn't just tell us over and over (which is a failing of many other writers in this genre). The worst part of the book is the silly/embarrassing title. Definitely looking forward to reading more from this series and this author.

4 stars
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 150 more book reviews
Good mental wandering!
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 765 more book reviews
Great book!
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 388 more book reviews
Great beginning to a great series.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 30 more book reviews
I really liked this book. There are so many shape shifter romance books out there. This one was a refreshing change from the typical. There is much more sci fi and less shape shifting. This author has created an unusual world. I will be diving into book 2 immediately.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 504 more book reviews
I have to say I was expecting a super fantastic read. This is a series that seems to be a favorite of many of my friends but I'm afraid it didn't quite live up to the amazing read I had built up in my head. It wasn't bad, not by any means, but it didn't leave behind any lingering emotions or sense of awe. I'll read more of them, I am intrigued but I wasn't blown away by any of it.

I'm not going to rehash the plot because so many have done it so well and I'm lazy. I'm just going to jump in with my random thoughts, issues and complaints.

The narrator did a decent enough job, I think she got Sascha's monotone down pat but I have to admit the entire reading was a wee bit too emotion-less and sleepy inducing. Even sexy Lucas was all quiet and breathy. He was a sexy panther-creature but I couldn't sense the purrs nor the growls and had to rewind on numerous occasions because I didn't catch what "he" was saying. I can get what the narrator was doing but it just didn't do it for me.

The world-building was well done and relatively interesting without being too over-powering BUT the love story just didn't have enough "awww" moments to hook me and I felt a little detached from the whole thing. I know, I know, I'm too picky. The shared sensual dreams and Sascha's introduction to the world of "sensation", sex, food, etc. was fun to read and I enjoyed watching the bonds shared by the changelings and loved the shoe nibbling cubs wish there was more of that stuff.

In the end, there was too much psy-techy talk, suspense and too many characters for me. I like more intimate character studies I guess and the balance in this type of PNR novel is a difficult one. It's a solidly written, good book but it didn't have that something special to knock me over the edge into 5 start territory and if I'm being completely honest, I found myself bored through too much of it. I never felt moved by any emotion (maybe I'm just dead inside!). I actually listened to this twice to be sure it wasn't my mood or that I'd missed something special the first time around but alas I still felt the same way on the second reading.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 40 more book reviews
After remarking to acquaintances that I rather liked most of Christine Feehan's Ghostwalker Series books, they suggested Singh's Psy-Changelings series. I can see why. The series seems to be an attempt to mimic the Ghostwalkers, albeit in a lackluster way. The plot in this particular book didn't capture my attention at all, I didn't care for either of the main characters, and in comparison to Feehan's men this alpha male was closer to an omega. The "romance" was lukewarm. I'll be passing on the rest of Singh's offerings.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 3389 more book reviews
Book Description
THE HOT NEW NAME IN PARANORMAL ROMANCE.

Nalini Singh dives into a world torn apart by a powerful race with phenomenal powers of the mind-and none of the heart.

Born a Psy, Sascha Duncan must hide the emotions which mark her as flawed. But a passionate Changeling will tempt her to reveal everything-and risk her very soul.
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 112 more book reviews
In a world that denies emotions, where the ruling Psy punish any sign of desire, Sascha Duncan must conceal the feelings that brand her as flawed. To reveal them would be to sentence herself to the horror of "rehabilitation"-the complete psychic erasure of everything she ever was...
Both human and animal, Lucas Hunter is a chageling hungry for the very sensations the Psy disdain. After centuries of uneasy coexistence, these two races are now on the verge of war over the brutal murders of several changeling women. Lucas is determined to find the Psy killer who butchered his packmate, and Sascha is his ticket into their closely guarded society. But he soon discovers that this ice-cold Psy is very capable of passion-and that the animal in him is fascinated by her. Caught between their conflicting worlds, Lucas and Sascha must remain bound to their identities-or sacrifice everything for a taste of darkest temptation...
reviewed Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changelings, Bk 1) on + 29 more book reviews
Paranormal.. In a world that denies emotions, where the ruling Psy punish any sign of desire, Sacha Duncan must conceal the feelings that brand her as flawed. Both human and animal, Lucas Hunter is a changeling hungry for the very sensations the Psy disdain. After centuries of uneasy coexistence, these two races aer now on the verge of war over the brutal murders of several changeling women...