Search - Slim to None : A Journey Through the Wasteland of Anorexia Treatment

Slim to None : A Journey Through the Wasteland of Anorexia Treatment
Slim to None A Journey Through the Wasteland of Anorexia Treatment
Author: Jennifer Hendricks
A young woman's fatal battle with anorexia, in her own words In the tradition of Go Ask Alice, Prozac Nation, and Girl Interrupted, Slim to None grants readers precious access to the emotional and psychological underpinnings of its author. Step-by-step, readers follow Jenny's long journey through a "wasteland" of fai...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780071410694
ISBN-10: 0071410694
Publication Date: 1/24/2003
Pages: 256
Rating:
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10

2.9 stars, based on 10 ratings
Publisher: McGraw-Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
Read All 3 Book Reviews of "Slim to None A Journey Through the Wasteland of Anorexia Treatment"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Slim to None : A Journey Through the Wasteland of Anorexia Treatment on + 192 more book reviews
I usually enjoy true health stories, but this book was something else. First of all, it is NOT written by Jennifer Hendricks. It is written by her father who uses her journals and he writes things from "her perspective". Ultimately he is a sick man who is still continuing his twisted relationship with his dead daughter by writing this book. Also I found myself disliking the main "character" Jennifer intensely. Her medical care cost her insurance company more than a million dollars this alone is stomach turning. The way she is presented in the book is as a master manipulator, self-centered, spoiled brat. About 2/3 of the way through the book I was like enough die already! Maybe others will feel differently but my overall impression was that her father enabled her to the grave.
reviewed Slim to None : A Journey Through the Wasteland of Anorexia Treatment on + 20 more book reviews
Fascinating account of a woman's struggle with anorexia, mostly from her own journal.


Genres: