Book Reviews of Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1)

Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1)
Solomon vs Lord - Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1
Author: Paul Levine
ISBN-13: 9780440242734
ISBN-10: 0440242738
Publication Date: 2005
Pages: 576
Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100

3.8 stars, based on 100 ratings
Publisher: Bantam Books
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

36 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 209 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This is a book I highly recommend. Two lawyers who can't stand one another but are attracted to one another at the same time. Underlying the story is a great courtroom thriller.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on
Helpful Score: 1
THE SOLOMON SERIES IS PRETTY QUIRKY. I ENJOYED THEM VERY MUCH
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on
Helpful Score: 1
Excellent. A court room story with a Moonlighting feel.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 20 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Probably the best lawyer book I've ever read.......very
funny Courtroom drama with plenty of romance thrown in.
Highly recommended !
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 16 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A great book! Can't wait to read the next one in the series!
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 48 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
For me this book did nothing. Bad boy meets nice girl...confrontation begins. When I get a book about courtroom trials, I want to follow the action leading up to the trial without all the silly romance. It was predictable and boring.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 249 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Loved the book! Good fun story. Great characters, well developed. Flawed people you care about. All crisply written with wit, humor and love. Couldn't wait to start the second book (Kill All the Lawyers).
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 9 more book reviews
Paul Levine writes some of the funniest and most wickedly accurate courthouse dramas you'll ever read.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 27 more book reviews
They are both lawyers, but they interpret the law very differently. She's a ruler follower, he's a rule breaker. She is a prosecuting attorney. He is a defense attorney. She is prim and proper in the courtroom. He acts like a madman in front of the jury. They infuriate and exasperate one another. And yet, since they day they were both thrown in jail for contempt, they haven't been able to stop thinking about each other. Solomon vs. Lord is a comedy, thriller, drama and romance novel all wrapped up in one. I loved it!
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 10 more book reviews
I read the second book (Deep Blue Alibi) first and thought that it was a better book. This one has trouble getting going and wanders. But still a pretty good read.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 41 more book reviews
"A sexy, wacky, wonderful thriller with humor and heart!" --Harlan Coben
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on
Quick moving mystery. Sophomoric and predictable. Reinforces lawyer stereotypes.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on
This book was one of the best legal thrillers I've read in a long time. It had suspense, humor and romance. If you know anyone with Autism you will enjoy reading about Steve's nephew.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 14 more book reviews
Bought it at the pharmacy waiting to get a prescription refilled. Read the first few chapters there, and have never wanted to pick it back up. A silly beach read, maybe.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 7 more book reviews
Story for story's sake. Great beach read, but not much more.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 21 more book reviews
Wonderful read. The verbal sparring between the attorneys is classic.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on
Thoroughly enjoyed. Want to read more of this author after reading Solomon Vs Lord
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 26 more book reviews
Steve Solomon & Victoria Lord join forces to represent a socialite accused of murdering her husband during kinky sex. At the same time Lord represents Solomon in a custody battle for his nephew.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 24 more book reviews
Witty and thoroughly enjoyable.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 162 more book reviews
Two adversarial lawyers end up codefending a client on a highly publicised case. Soloman, who sometimes makes up his own laws, and Victoria Lord who is strictly by the book. Opposites attract
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 41 more book reviews
Good book. Interesting and fast read. Funny.........hilariously and laugh out loud funny. Can't wait to read the next book
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 504 more book reviews
I dislike courtroom drama's a whole lot but a friend foisted this book upon me and insisted I read it because it was so great. Turns out she was correct. I enjoyed every page of this book despite the fact that some of it takes place inside a courtroom. The lawyers here are nicely drawn, real people and the book has a ton of heart as well as humor.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 47 more book reviews
Excellent book, first in the series by Levine. Steve Solomon teams up with Victoria Lord to defend a socialite accused of murdering her husband. The dialogue reminds me of the old "Moonlighting" series with Cybill Shepard and Bruce Willis.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on
GREAT book!
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 60 more book reviews
Great book. Loved it. Now have requested more of his books off this site. It's funny also with being suspenseful and you just don't know he gets away with stuff. Something between John Grisham and Robin Williams!
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 216 more book reviews
I hope this book is the beginning of many more with Solomon and Lord. Humor, romance, an autistic/savant child, murder cases, excellent read!!
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 137 more book reviews
this book is fun!!
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 169 more book reviews
Very funny, although the main female character is obviously written by a man . . . who can't imagine a woman can know what she's doing without some man telling her how to do it. Great secondary characters.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 2 more book reviews
This book was ok. Entertaining court drama / comedy. 3/5 stars.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 148 more book reviews
humorous read...must read!
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 23 more book reviews
Fun. Funny. Makes me think of those 80s shows that were part mystery, part comedy. (Think: Bruce Willis and Cybill Shepherd.)
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 378 more book reviews
Steve Solomon is the sharpest lawyer wver to barely graduate from Key West School of Law. Victoria Lord is fresh from Yale, toiling for a ambitious D.A. and engaged.
When these two take on the steamiest murder trial of the century, the case is sure tomake headlines scream===and sparks fly. Now with Solomon inventing his own laws and Lord sticking to the real ones, they most solve the case before they end up in ruin, in jail.....or in love.
This is not only a thriller it is also a funny romantic relationship.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 12 more book reviews
Steve Solomon is the sharpest lawyer ever to barely graduate from Key West School of Law. Victoria Lord is fresh from Yale, toiling for an ambitious D.A., and engaged. When these two take on the steamiest murder trial of the century, the case is sure to make headlines scream - and sparks fly. Now, with Solomon inventing his laws and Lord sticking to the real ones, they must solve the case before they end up in ruin, in jail...or in bed.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 153 more book reviews
loved, loved, loved these characters!!!! Can't wait to read the next one.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 27 more book reviews
Solomon vs. Lord is one of the funniest, laugh-out-loud books that I have read in a long time. This novel features a criminal trial at which a talking parrot is called upon to testify, lots of avocados, an idiot savant who makes anagrams out of the names of everyone he meets, and a murder mystery. Paul Solomon and Victoria Lord, both lawyers, are the main characters. The opening scene finds them held for contempt in adjacent jail cells, and from that moment on, the tension and energy of their love/hate relationship makes the novel sizzle. Fans of John Grisham or Carl Hiaasen should try some of Paul Levine's novels.
reviewed Solomon vs. Lord (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1) on + 54 more book reviews
great book -enjoyed it throughly fast paced but not to fast so that you have to go back and reread certain parts - right balance of humour, crime and a little romance thrown in for good measure reminds me of a less funny more drama less blood carl hiassen