Book Reviews of Someplace to Be Flying

Someplace to Be Flying
Someplace to Be Flying
Author: Charles De Lint
ISBN-13: 9780312858490
ISBN-10: 0312858493
Publication Date: 2/1998
Pages: 380
Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 13

4.6 stars, based on 13 ratings
Publisher: Tor Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

4 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Someplace to Be Flying on + 389 more book reviews
This is the first of DeLint's books that I have read but I will be looking for more.

FROM THE PUBLISHER
Here is Lily, a photojournalist in search of the "animal people" who supposedly haunt the city's darkest slums. Here is Hank, who knows those slums all too well. One night, in a brutal incident, their lives collide--uptown Lily and downtown Hank, each with a quest and a role to play in the secret drama of the city's oldest inhabitants.
For the animal people walk among us. Native Americans call them the First People, but they have never left, and they claim the city for their own. Not only have Hank and Lily stumbled onto a secret, they've stumbled into a war. And in this battle for the city's soul, nothing is quite as it appears.
reviewed Someplace to Be Flying on + 23 more book reviews
"An enthralling blend of old European and Native American mythology, seamlessly worked into a modern setting and situation. De Lint's best so far."
-Kirkus Reviews
reviewed Someplace to Be Flying on + 179 more book reviews
"Hank just wanted away from here. He'd sampled some hallucinogens when he was a kid and the feeling he had now was a lot like coming down from an acid high. Everything slightly askew, illogical things that somehow made sense, everything too sharp and clear when you looked at it but fading fast in your peripheral vision, blurred, like it didn't really exist." Fans of Emma Bull and Terri Windling (as both an editor and an author) will enjoy de Lint. He can make you believe "as many as six impossible things before breakfast.
reviewed Someplace to Be Flying on + 84 more book reviews
This was a wonderful book with some humor, mystery, action, and sadness. I enjoyed it immensely. I'm becoming a big fan of Charles de Lint.