Discussion Forums - eBook readers eBook readers

Topic: Sony PRS-T2 and Calibre (and an ongoing T2 review...)

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Sony PRS-T2 and Calibre (and an ongoing T2 review...)
Date Posted: 8/21/2012 9:43 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

Just a note for anyone looking into the new Sony PRS-T2 and uses Calibre. As of yesterday the developer said they don't have a driver for it yet.

Here.

For me, love the Sony's, but gotta be able to use Calibre to stay sane. If you're the same, might want to hold off on getting one until they're compatible.



Last Edited on: 8/25/12 8:16 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 8/22/2012 12:51 AM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

LOL  Thanks Cindy! 

Date Posted: 8/22/2012 11:00 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

Now looks like they're up and running! Didn't take them long. Lol.

Date Posted: 8/22/2012 4:38 PM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

Let us know how it works!

Date Posted: 8/25/2012 8:30 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

Well, curiosity got the better of me, and I got a new T2 today. Any questions, just ask!

My main concern was if this new machine could actually handle a full 32gig SD card. I don't have 32 gig of files, but found that the Sony's realistically couldn't handle over a certain number of files. (Usually saw the start of problem at 6,000. At 12,000 it would lock up and spontaneously restart). So after messing with them all summer, I've limited the T1's to what I can get into main memory and a 2 gig microSD card and less than 8,000 of anything.

So I've been loading it up, and at 10,056 for tonight, where I'll test it out by finishing a book I'm at the end of, and then see how it handles browsing the lists and me picking a new one. We'll see.

I've gotten a red one with case specified for the T2. I've read that it's just a millimeter smaller than the T1, so should fit a T1 case, but I haven't tested that out. The buttons are physical, they're just separate buttons shaped as the icon. No button 'bar'.

Biggest difference so far, which I wouldn't have even noticed if I hadn't read about it, is that there's no sound jack and no way to play audio files. I never used it for audio anyway, so don't know if they did this to save space, memory or power.

I got a red one, which I think is even glossier than the T1 red. I've heard that the black is a matt finish (since so many complained about it being shiny) and you can get a coupon for a free Harry Potter book if you order the black one. Already having the HP books, and not minding the shiny paint, I went for the red.

The background is a touch whiter. Barely. I can't say I would have noticed that it was if I hadn't read about it. The home page has been redesigned a bit, and I'm still trying to find some stuff they've moved. Fonts are supposed to be a bit sharper. Going to test it tonight and more tomorrow. It has browser connection to Evernote and Facebook, both of which I never use, so not a selling point to me. The battery may be better. (two months power is advertised on one charge, which I imagine is wifi-less and 30 minutes of reading a day.)

It does seem faster. I'm pretty sure stuff loaded from Calibre a lot faster. I didn't time the old ones, but what used to take me about 30 minutes to load seemed to take about 13 minutes on the T2. (Yeah, I'm not being very scientific about this, I'm afraid.) But it does feel faster on turning pages and pulling up collections and lists. I'll have to see if I can find if the battery or processor are better.

So far it still seem like a bit sportier version of the T1, so if you can find a cheap T1 I'd be happy with that as well.

Well see how the storage works out.

 

[Edited many times because I 1) Can't spell and 2) apparently can't proof very well either.



Last Edited on: 8/25/12 8:33 PM ET - Total times edited: 3
Date Posted: 8/26/2012 12:23 AM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

Cindy Litteri owners found the same problem!  UNTIL  Some one discovered You Can get more book on SDCard By putting the eBook into files!   I do mine by author!  While the Litteri nor the Sony T1 reconise the Files them selves they will read the ebooks!  So Give that a try see what happens!

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 12:37 AM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

No Audio  LOL  I found No Text to Talk on the T1 crying  The only times I use the feature on the K3 was to Pronounce words I couldnt.  Never play my Audio on either soooo  guessing I wouldnt miss it on the T2 LOL    Good feature to use IMO! 

No Battery life same LOL 15 hours straight LOL  Which is 1/2 the K3 at 30 hours.

Yea the Black Shiny bugs me Also the dang Fingerprints!  Tonite I ran a bead of Black Electrical tape down the sides & across the top....  See If that helps!  

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 7:43 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Cindy, congrats! I'll be interested in reading your comparisons. Also the processor specs if/when you find them.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 8:42 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

Some one discovered You Can get more book on SDCard By putting the eBook into files!

I do that on the Nook, since I can browse the SD card from the Nook interface. Then the Nook isn't trying to index everything, it just lets you see what's there. (Although I've had a complete collection on the Nook, it sometimes wouldn't open the files when chosen. You could see them, just not use them.)

Problem is, the Sony interface doesn't browse like the Nook does. It either sees "Collections" or "All". So if I put the books into the files on the Sony it still has trouble indexing and handling the number of files on the T1. I'm hoping they've boosted the processor a bit so it won't choke on large numbers. I'll have to use it for a week to get a good idea.

Which is 1/2 the K3 at 30 hours.

I'm not convinced that when the companies are giving out how many hours of use that they're all comparing the same thing. I don't think my Kindle Touch gets close to that.

Sony used to advertise 'page turns' since that's what used the power. One of the older models, IIRC, had about 4,000 page turns. How long you took to read them didn't matter. I wish they measured eInk use on page turns since reading time isn't what uses power, but now with wifi sucking power down I guess it wouldn't work anymore.

Yea the Black Shiny bugs me Also the dang Fingerprints!  Tonite I ran a bead of Black Electrical tape down the sides & across the top....  See If that helps! 

Actually, I like the shiny! Lol. Doesn't bother me so far. I've got a lighted case, so that light may not have the same glare problems as other lights. If I do have a problem, I'll just get a Decal Girl skin. I LOVE those things, and you can get them in matte or glossy finish. Pricy, but sexy as hell and durable. (Except for a problem with the skins and the Sony cases. The tight fitting cases tend to push the sides of the skins in, so I have to trim mine, which is dangerous. Me and sissors do not equal a straight line!)

Cindy, congrats! I'll be interested in reading your comparisons. Also the processor specs if/when you find them.

No problem! Hoping the specs will be listed somewhere, but so far looks like they're a state secret or something. Usually someone will open a reader up on Youtube and check out the guts. I'll be looking for it.

So far, read about 20 pages last night, so didn't finish the book. I actually changed the contrast of the font/background to sharpen it up a bit and then realized I think I put the whiter background back to the same gray as the T1. Just a shade darker, but I think it helped the contrast. I think there are different font choices than last time. I'll have to do some checking to compare. I know I can add fonts to the Sony's but don't know if it has to be hacked.

[Ed. Checking side by side, both have the same font choices; Original, Amasis, Frutiger Neue, Palation Nova, Really No 2, Univers Next and Verdana.]

I'm not hacking the new one to test. Not that brave, and wasn't impressed with the hack for the T1. I restored it after testing a T1 out and decided I liked it better as it was.

Page turning seemed quite a bit faster. So far, it does seem a lot more responsive.

 



Last Edited on: 8/26/12 8:49 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 8/26/2012 9:02 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

This morning, side by side comparison of the fonts shows that they've tweaked them a bit. Same font, same chosen size and the T2 fonts look slightly bitter and a bit more 'rounded'.  With the exact same file in both, the pages don't match. What's at the top of one page is at the middle of the other. So there's definately a difference in sizes among the same settings. Choice of eight sizes in both.

Not sure if it's good or bad, just different. Both have 20 lines of text per page. I think the T2's last line is just a touch lower than on the T1, so the tiny-bit larger font still fits.

The row of buttons is quite a bit higher on the T2. I think it would make it easier to hold without a case, since you now can hold with your thumb on the bottom and not be pushing buttons.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 9:14 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

I just realized my new red Sony T1 does not have the latest firmware. And yet I have none of the complaints that people who bought them when they came out in 2011 whined about! LOL. I will update after I charge and see if there is a difference. I am hoping this is going to be true:

There's an option now in General Settings, called Recent View, which lets you choose between Added and Read. This applies to the Recent section of the Home page.

Someone posted that in MR. There is no such option on my rooted T1. (Not needed due to the root, anyway).

Now Cindy I am just dying to know the processor in the T2. and wondering how it will compare to the next release of Kindles.

Did you see, someone posted the Cowboom deal of the day for a Sony 350 for $25? Wow. I don't want a 5" reader, thank goodness. I had one, a Jetbook, and prefer the 6" screen.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 9:29 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

On a side note, the lighted case for one fits both. Although the lighted cases do have different product numbers.

T1 size is... 173(mm) high, 110(mm) wide, 8.9(mm) depth and 168 grams weight.

T2 size is... 173(mm) high, 110(mm) wide, 9.1(mm) depth and 164 grams weight.

 

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 9:43 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

Now Cindy I am just dying to know the processor in the T2. and wondering how it will compare to the next release of Kindles.

I found an old add for the T1 that says it has a 1 GHz Intel processor, but no luck with the T2.

DH says that it can certainly have a slower processor and still be quicker. Depends on what class they are. (32 bit vs 64 bit, or newer model.)

I'll keep an eye out for any mention.

There's an option now in General Settings, called Recent View, which lets you choose between Added and Read. This applies to the Recent section of the Home page.

I should have the latest firmware, 1.0.01.08010, but don't see that under General Settings for the T2. I know it was a favorite hack element for the T1 for some, but I was more interested in the page clock. If I find it I'll post.

Did you see, someone posted the Cowboom deal of the day for a Sony 350 for $25? Wow. I don't want a 5" reader, thank goodness. I had one, a Jetbook, and prefer the 6" screen.

I still have my old 350. I think at this point it'd be a matter of the batteries going bad. People have tried replacing some of them, with mixed results. It's a nice little machine, though, with 2gig memory. No SD card port though. Font size choices weren't so hot, though.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 10:19 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Update done, and no change under the General Settings. Oh well, not that big a deal.

The 350 sold out super fast. No surprise, at that price! But I prefer the SD card slot anyhow.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 3:17 PM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2007
Posts: 11,517
Back To Top

I always forget that my Sony PRS600 has an audio feature and picture feature.  I don't have any digital music files to put on there anyway and since it's not color, I wouldn't bother with pictures either.  I just wanna read on it.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 3:34 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

The only thing I use pictures for is for screensavers.

It's not a huge deal, but it's what I miss on the Kindles, no personal screensavers on the one I have without hacking.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 3:56 PM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2007
Posts: 11,517
Back To Top

Screensaver?  On an ereader?  I turn mine off when I'm not reading on it.  I don't even use a screensaver on my computers.  I turn those off also when I'm not on them.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 4:21 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Sarah, the T1 uses the cover of the last book opened as a screen saver. There are also three pictures that come on the reader, which can be used instead of last cover. I like it!

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 4:31 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

Screensaver?  On an ereader?  I turn mine off when I'm not reading on it.

You don't need to turn eInk off unless you're going to store it for a long time.. On most you can just turn wifi off so it won't go browsing for a connection. (The T2 has a standby setting so if it's not using wifi it suspends the mode after 10 mintues.) Otherwise, you're not saving any real energy by turning them off, and it takes a chunk of energy to turn them back on and have them reload everything into memory.

I like the screen savers, and can chose personal ones or chose the cover of the book I'm reading on the T2. Some of the art in monochrome format for screensavers is gorgous!

I don't even use a screensaver on my computers.  I turn those off also when I'm not on them.

We only turn ours off when the system seems slow. Otherwise, they're on all the time. We have our monitors go off after a certain period of time, and moving the trackball wakes them back up.

They do use power when on, but from what I understand it's the start up and the first electrical hit on a motherboard that does the most wear and tear. Works for us.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 5:33 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

I think I am going to un-root my original T1, and then maybe add the June Reader package, which is not a root. Charging up the T1 now.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 6:14 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

I think I am going to un-root my original T1, and then maybe add the June Reader package, which is not a root. Charging up the T1 now.

Un-rooting. Always fun. wink

I've been loading up the T2, got to 15,834 and when trying to write the metadata to the device Calibre is sending and "Error: Can not communicate with device."

I'm loading it up sideways, then will re-reun the database. Somewhere along the line the may have database gotten corrupted. If it won't rebuild over the 12,000 mark then it may be a database limitation, or a problem with the on-board database mixing with the SD card database and creating duplicate ID numbers.

The T1 had that problem early on, the databases of the on-line and SD card didn't mix well, (it created duplicate ID numbers) and there was a program to fix it, but Sony seemed to fix that in a firmware update soon after the third party patch came out.

I can try later to put everything on just the SD card and see if it behaves. Otherwise, I may have to go back to the same limits as the T1's.

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 6:59 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Oh no...I never tried that many books, but I did get the error message when using the file manager to move files after loading via Calibre.

I did successfully unroot the T1. Once I ran it back through Calibre the series info was restored. I found a lot of "leftover" files that remained after un-rooting. I deleted most of them. I'll have to look it over again another time.

I then successfully added a little hack that shows last books opened instead of recently added (though it still "says" recently added). I did that to both T1s. I like it :)

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 7:05 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

I think I've got that on one of mine, the one with the little clock as well. I liked that one. Easy and it works.

Non-rooting hacks I can deal with when I've got limited time and attention for it. smiley Gotta have me a whole lotta concentration for the regular hacks! Always afraid to brick something.

 

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 8:03 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Well, now that I've figured out the tags/Calibre thing, I don't need Coolreader's file organization, nor do I need Dropbox as I prefer to load via Calibre. So I really didn't need the root package any more. The only thing I will miss is the progress bar and percentage displayed while a book was open. But the page numbers at the bottom is a nice trade-off. (the hack with the clock doesn't provide the percentage, does it?)

Date Posted: 8/26/2012 9:59 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

(the hack with the clock doesn't provide the percentage, does it?)

Nope. I just see "Page 263 of 287", then the clock over to the side.

Page: