Book Reviews of Souvenir

Souvenir
Souvenir
Author: Therese Fowler
ISBN-13: 9780345499684
ISBN-10: 0345499689
Publication Date: 2/1/2008
Pages: 384
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 25

4.1 stars, based on 25 ratings
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

17 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Souvenir on + 6 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
I was very pleasantly surprised by Souvenir. I went into it thinking it would be all about the romance between Meg and Carson, pretty much a toned-down contemporary bodice ripper. What I found was a deeply resonant depiction of family, love, regrets, and living life fully despite past mistakes. A page-turner almost from the start, I found myself going back to reread scenes long after I had finished it. Beautifully written with plenty of heart, Souvenir reads like Divine Sisters of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and carries the emotional force of The Notebook.
reviewed Souvenir on + 2 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This book was magnificent. I could not put this book down. The book has an unexpected secret that will blow your mind. There were so many great smaller plots with other characters that seamlessly tied into the heroine's story that added a realism and depth to the characters. Be ready to laugh and cry.
reviewed Souvenir on + 2 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I thought this book had a lot of twists and turns. Some of what happened was a bit far-fetched but overall it was very thought provoking and an interesting read. The whole situation with the teenage daughter was very well written, totally believable and scary for those who have kids. I didn't like how that portion ended though, no consequences for the daughter or the guy involved. I would have called the cops and had that loser arrested!!
Will definitely look for more books by this author.
reviewed Souvenir on + 6 more book reviews
I fell in love with the main character, Meg. The story line and character development were great ... when you stop reading you find yourself thinking about the characters as if they are people you know in real life. What an amazing read ... I hope I don't regret giving this book up and yet I truly want others to enjoy the book.
reviewed Souvenir on + 7145 more book reviews
Reviewed by Amanda Dissinger for TeensReadToo.com

SOUVENIR is a heart-wrenching novel in the vein of Nicholas Sparks' THE NOTEBOOK and A WALK TO REMEMBER.

It is a novel about lost love, the possibility of second chances, and the fate that brings us all together.

Meg is a doctor with a sixteen-year-old daughter, and a businessman husband. Things seem to be normal in her life; she's stable at home, and she loves her job. However, she's still holding on to many secrets from her past, including a mistake that haunts her every day.

After a shocking change in her life, she decides to come to terms with her regrets, and decide what she wants in the future.

SOUVENIR is a tearjerker that is very realistic in its tale of true love and heartbreak. It is very well-written, and stays with you long after the first reading. This title will no doubt become a classic in future years because of its touching story and meaningful characters.
reviewed Souvenir on + 27 more book reviews
Great read. Couldn't put it down.
reviewed Souvenir on + 2 more book reviews
Loved, loved, loved it! I could not put this book down. For anyone that's ever had a childhood friend of the opposite gender, you'll find connections throughout the book. No frills or fancy....just a simple plot line that is incredibly addicting because you keep hoping for a good ending.
reviewed Souvenir on + 8 more book reviews
If you like Jodi Picoult, Nichoals SParks, and Luanne Rice, Yull love this book!
reviewed Souvenir on + 28 more book reviews
This book was AMAZING! I cannot wait for the release of Fowlers next novel. I was not able to put this down. Its a MUST READ, one of the best I have read in years!
reviewed Souvenir on
I truly enjoyed this book. It's definitely a quick read and the characters are true to life.
reviewed Souvenir on + 106 more book reviews
At first I thought this book was a bit slow, but after finishing it I realize it was me just taking too long. Quite a realistic view into someone's life facing a fatal disease and the preparations that are taken to make sure those still here will have something to hold on to when the sick person is gone. It really made me think of my own life and writing a journal or at least a long letter for my son to have when I'm not here. It also made me appreciate more of how each day is a gift and that I need to keep remembering to live each day as if it were my last - at least do the best I can. Great first novel for this author. Highly recommend!
reviewed Souvenir on + 36 more book reviews
Very touching and poignant story about living in the present but dealing with the past. I couldn't have written it better myself!
reviewed Souvenir on + 7145 more book reviews
Reviewed by Amanda Dissinger for TeensReadToo.com

SOUVENIR is a heart-wrenching novel in the vein of Nicholas Sparks' THE NOTEBOOK and A WALK TO REMEMBER.

It is a novel about lost love, the possibility of second chances, and the fate that brings us all together.

Meg is a doctor with a sixteen-year-old daughter, and a businessman husband. Things seem to be normal in her life; she's stable at home, and she loves her job. However, she's still holding on to many secrets from her past, including a mistake that haunts her every day.

After a shocking change in her life, she decides to come to terms with her regrets, and decide what she wants in the future.

SOUVENIR is a tearjerker that is very realistic in its tale of true love and heartbreak. It is very well-written, and stays with you long after the first reading. This title will no doubt become a classic in future years because of its touching story and meaningful characters.
reviewed Souvenir on + 20 more book reviews
When you can figure out the end from the prologue you assume the book is not going to be good. But you (read I) stick with it because you hate giving up on a book. It's the journey right? You know how it's going to end but it the how you get from A to B that's important.
I am so very happy that I stuck with this book. It starts out very cheesy, boy meets girl, boy wants to propose to girl, girl breaks up and marries someone completely wrong. Being an avid reader of âromanceâ novels you know boy and girl are going to get back together before the end of the book. The journey that Theresa Fowler takes you on in her first novel is one of Robert Frost proportion, the road less taken.
This is a fairly new book and as I mentioned it is her first novel. I will definitely put her in my authors to watch for category.
reviewed Souvenir on + 355 more book reviews
A debut novel about a woman who is a wife, mother, and obstetrician diagnosed with ALS. The focus is on the decisions she makes subsequent to the diagnosis concerning the reconciliation of her past and present. This author shows promise.
reviewed Souvenir on + 426 more book reviews
Read this for my online book club, The Reading Cove. This story had some poignant moments with Meg and Carson, Meg and Savannah. I teared up during Meg & Carson's first conversation about her illness. The writing had its moments, but overall I must say it was too heavy on the melodrama. Could've been better executed.
reviewed Souvenir on
I was not impressed with this book. Even though it was well written, it was so predictable. I felt like I could've simply read the first 25 pages and had the rest of the story figured out. It was a "nice" read, but not worth the time.