Search - Into the Storm (Destroyermen, Bk 1)

Into the Storm (Destroyermen, Bk 1)
Into the Storm - Destroyermen, Bk 1
Author: Taylor Anderson
Pressed into service when World War II breaks out in the Pacific, the US Walker   Great War-era destroyer finds itself retreating from pursuing Japanese battleships. Its captain, Lieutenant Commander Matthew Patrick Reddy, desperately leads the Walker into a squall, hoping it will give them cover only to emerge into an alternate worl...  more »
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780451462374
ISBN-10: 0451462378
Publication Date: 2/3/2009
Pages: 416
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44

4 stars, based on 44 ratings
Publisher: Roc
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 0
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Into the Storm (Destroyermen, Bk 1) on + 260 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
My goodness. I'm surprised no one has beaten me to the punch on this.

The premise is fairly simple: A World War I era destroyer, Walker, engages with a Japanese battle cruiser (along with the accompanying other vessels) in the early days of World War II. As they are being pursued, pummeled and looking death in the face, the Walker's captain orders the ship into a squall in a desperate attempt to escape.

That attempt succeeded a little too well. The Walker and its crew and hangers on from the evacuation of Java find themselves somewhere else. The ocean is full of fish the size of tuna that act like pirahna, plus sea monsters. As they gather information, they find dinosaurs grazing where a coaling station would be as well as small predators that are aggressive as all get out.

Further exploration leads them into contact with the ocean going Lemurians - sentient descendants of Lemurs and the discovery of their problems - namely, the existence of dinosaurian race called the Grik that will pursue the Lemurians to extermination.

I know basically recapitulated the cover blurb for the book, so let's get into the likes and dislikes.

Like: Interesting world building, early 20th century attitudes of the characters, view of WWI destroyer from the deck and the con.

Dislikes: Characters are a bit stiff, things take place too quickly for my liking, things also go too well for the human protagonists.

Overall, I liked it. I'd like to see more of the world and will check out Crusade the next book in the series. It reminds me of my much beloved World of Kong.

I'd suggest it as a fast fun read for fans of books like A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, Islands in the Sea of Time and similar series as well as fans of military fiction.
Read All 3 Book Reviews of "Into the Storm Destroyermen Bk 1"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Into the Storm (Destroyermen, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Better than I expected. An interesting mixture of alternative fiction and science fiction. A few slow spots but I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series.
reviewed Into the Storm (Destroyermen, Bk 1) on + 47 more book reviews
WOW! What a hell of a good ride this book was. Talk about a page turner. Of course I am a big fan of alternative history so I am tuned in to the plot of the book, but Anderson takes the word EXCITEMENT to a whole new level. His character development is outstanding, he sets a breath taking pace, and I LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT. I enjoyed it so much that I ordered his next two books on Kindle and paid the big bucks for the. If you enjoy military books, alternative history, or science fiction, you will LOVE the Destroyermen series by Anderson. I only gave it 4 1/2 stars because no book is perfect!!

Book Wiki

Series
Destroyermen  1 of 7

Genres: