Book Reviews of Su Teatro: 20 Year Anthology

Su Teatro: 20 Year Anthology
Su Teatro 20 Year Anthology
ISBN-13: 9780888802224
ISBN-10: 0888802226
Publication Date: 1991

0 stars, based on 0 rating
Publisher: El Centro Su Teatro
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Su Teatro: 20 Year Anthology on + 11 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This book tells the story of Su Teatro, beginning with its founding in 1971, and includes selected plays by Anthony J. Garcia who is also Artistic Director of El Centro Su Teatro.

Plays include: "Serafin: Cantos y Lagrimas", "Little Hands Hold the Wind", "The Day Ricardo Falcon Died", "An Obsidian Rain", and "Ludlow; El Grito de las Minas".

From the cover:

Anthony J. Garcia is the Artistic Director at El Centro Su Teatro [in Denver]. He is the author of numerous play and short stories which include "La Carpa Aztlan presents: I Don't Speak English Only", "El Corrido del Barrio", and "Tavio Lucero". He is a former Theater Communications Group / National Endowment for the Arts Director Fellow, and a Colorado Council of the Arts Recognition Award recipient. The short story version of "The Day Ricardo Falcon Died" is included in the Tumblewords Anthology, University of Nevada Press.

Su Teatro was founded in 1971, and is the third oldest Chicano theater company. The company has toured extensively throughout the U.S. and Mexico, and in collaboration with Mr. Garcia has contributed to the Chicano theater movement, many originally developed and produced plays, many of which are included in this anthology.