Book Reviews of Sweet Savage Eden (North American Woman, Bk 1)

Sweet Savage Eden (North American Woman, Bk 1)
Sweet Savage Eden - North American Woman, Bk 1
Author: Heather Graham
ISBN-13: 9780440202356
ISBN-10: 0440202353
Publication Date: 2/1/1989
Pages: 313
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.

3.9 stars, based on 30 ratings
Publisher: Dell
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

5 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Sweet Savage Eden (North American Woman, Bk 1) on + 3389 more book reviews
I am a Pamunkey Indian and I wish to commend Ms. Graham for her research and correct use of the Tribe in her book. This is the ONLY book I have ever seen that uses the Tribe name and the history of our people. We are the forgotten tribe. I love to read historical romances and this is one of the best I have ever read. I had to buy the book again as my last copy began to fall apart from my constant rereading of it
reviewed Sweet Savage Eden (North American Woman, Bk 1) on + 1072 more book reviews
With plans to sail to Virginia the Lord set his sites on Jassy...will she conceed to make that journey...
reviewed Sweet Savage Eden (North American Woman, Bk 1) on + 64 more book reviews
From the first time Jasmine's eyes met those of Lord Jamie Cameron in a smoky British inn, theirs was the wrong kind of attraction - not gentle, slow, and easy, but hot, hard, and all consuming. The illegitimate daughter in an actress and a duke, Jassy had dreams no man could wrench from her in a moment of desire. She'd resist this bold nobleman with all the strength of her soul. But her golden hair, fiery temperament, and indomitable spirit obsessed Lord Cameron.. and he wanted her with him when he sailed for the new wilderness called Virginia.
reviewed Sweet Savage Eden (North American Woman, Bk 1) on
One of my favs from this author. Good bodice rip romance...
reviewed Sweet Savage Eden (North American Woman, Bk 1) on + 1221 more book reviews
This book is the opening of the series CAMERONS SAGA: NORTH AMERICAN WOMAN TRILOGY. And this series is the prequel to CAMERONS SAGA: CIVIL WAR TRILOGY (also 3 books). Since I enjoyed the Civil War trilogy, I decided to back up and read this set.

The story opens in England, as Jassy Dupre is taking care of her dying mother. Mother and daughter have fallen on hard times; Jassy is the illegitimate of a stage actress and a duke. For the first several years, the duke kept the 2 Dupres in wealth and splendor. When he died, the duchess, out of spite, had the actress blackballed from work in the theater. Now, they live in an attic and work 14+ hours each day as kitchen maids.

Two men see Jasmine walking behind the coffin the next morning, and recognize her as the wench who served them ale the night before. Soon, the lives of these 3 people are permanently linked. Jasmine marries Jamie while she is enamored with Robert. Although attracted to Jassy/Jasmine, Robert marries her half-sister Lenore.

Both couples travel to Virginia, where Lord Jamie Cameron holds a huge plat of land, bestowed on him by the King for services rendered in the past. Jamie, as third son, is expected to make his own way in the world and he has.

This story weaves and bends with interesting scenes that holds the readers attention. However, I had a problem with 3 things. (1) The violence against women was excessive; Ive never heard of someone of Henrys stature beating a woman - especially in such a way.

Jamie, who had sufficient reason to be enraged with Jassy, was also excessive. I had a great deal of compassion for his situation but he was hard and implacable hardly what one would expect of a new groom.

(2) The decision Jamie made about his wife and child did not make sense, especially in relation to his avowal that what is mine, I keep.

(3) The constant misunderstandings and tempers got to be boring after a while. It was actually so tedious that I considered not finishing the book. Hopefully, the next book is an improvement. 2.5 stars

Camerons Saga: North American Woman Trilogy
1. Sweet Savage Eden (1989)
2. A Pirate's Pleasure (1989)
3. Love Not a Rebel (1989)

Camerons Saga: Civil War Trilogy
1. One Wore Blue (1991)
2. And One Wore Gray (1992)
3. And One Rode West (1992)