Book Reviews of A TAN SANDY SILENCE

A TAN  SANDY SILENCE
A TAN SANDY SILENCE
Author: John D. Macdonald
ISBN-13: 9780449124048
ISBN-10: 0449124045
Publication Date: 1/1/1972
Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2

3.5 stars, based on 2 ratings
Publisher: Fawcett
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

5 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed A TAN SANDY SILENCE on + 26 more book reviews
Until Harry Broll crawled out of the blue, waving a gun and accusing McGee of spiriting away his wife. Travis was blissfully contemplating the well-rounded bikini-clad jobs of life abroad The Busted Flush.
reviewed A TAN SANDY SILENCE on + 125 more book reviews
As always, Travis McGee is amazing
reviewed A TAN SANDY SILENCE on + 351 more book reviews
#12 in Travis McGee series. As always, a good read.
reviewed A TAN SANDY SILENCE on + 552 more book reviews
Series: Travis McGee Series, #12
Synopsis
When real estate developer harry Broll shows up at the Blusted Flush convinced that McGee is hiding his missing wife, Travis is nonplussed. Soon he's nearly nonplused, as Broll gets off several shots before McGee can wrestle his gun away. Broll goes away empty-handed, leaving a worried Travis to wonder about his friend her in three years. And it isn't like Mary to keep her troubles to herself--if she's alive to tell them....
reviewed A TAN SANDY SILENCE on + 813 more book reviews
An interesting book by another underrated, lost, and almost forgotten novelist. This one is murder mystery in the vein of Mary Roberts Rinehart, Dorothy L. Sayers, Dashiell Hammett, and Raymond Chandler. One of the Travis McGee novels all titled to include a hue from the color spectrum. McGee, something other than a professional detective, has the qualities of a Sam Spade, or Philip Marlowe, bedding down the best of the dames (although not all of themhe does pass on some), but always with a more polished prose. The author, always the sociological sexologist, is up to tune. Not a shabby read for a quiet evening or two.