Book Reviews of Talk

Talk
Talk
Author: Laura Van Wormer
Audio Books swap for two (2) credits.
ISBN-13: 9781552041505
ISBN-10: 1552041506
Publication Date: 8/1998
Edition: Abridged
Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1

3.5 stars, based on 1 rating
Publisher: DH Audio
Book Type: Audio Cassette
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

7 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Talk on + 25 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
As with all her books this one is excellent. This one on Jessica Walters really takes up where "West End" leaves off though it stands alone. The two books "West End" and then "Talk" should be read before the Sally Harrington novels as it gives background. I read a couple of "Sally" novels first and enjoyed them and started to read anything by Wormer. "Talk" is an excellent mystery, love story and a story of redemption.
reviewed Talk on + 8 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Talk show diva Jessica Wright has become the woman america is watching. Her nightly show is entertaining and delicously outrageous as she is. She's shown everyone that a woman can dominate the prime time schedule.
Butamong her admirers is someone who seems to know everything about her, from her favorite food to the conents of the drawer in her bedside table. Someone who knows the layout of the studio well enough to leave gifts without being noticed.
Jessica's nightmare begins when this admirer turns stalker. Cunning and unpredictable, he moves closer to her, waiting for the chance to make his final declaration. As he gets bolder, the police and FBI dig through Jessica;s past, looking for clues. But no one, not the authorities, colleagues or closet friends, could have predicted the stalkers explosive next move....
Great summer read!
reviewed Talk on + 76 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Bought this on a whim and it was one of the best books I've read! You won't regret reading it!!!!!!
reviewed Talk on + 31 more book reviews
I loved this thriller!
reviewed Talk on + 355 more book reviews
Talk show host is being stalked and at first she's not taking it too seriously, then when someone close to her is murdered, she finally believes that her life may be in danger.
reviewed Talk on + 377 more book reviews
ABRIDGED/2 CASSETTES/APPROX 3 HOURS.

Americans love to watch talk shows, and host Jessica Wright leads the ratings game. She's warm, friendly, and candid about her past and perfectly willing to share her descent into alcoholism and degradation in her soon-to-be-released autobiography, Talk. In her rise to fame, Jessica gained the friendship of Alexandra Waring, the network anchor, and her relationship with Alexandra's coanchor, Will Rafferty, seems to be heating up, but there's trouble ahead: one of her fans, Leopold, has been courting her via letters for months, and now he's sending her gifts and asking her not to wear revealing clothing on her show. Jessica dismisses him as a nuisance until the gifts and notes start appearing on the set. As security is beefed up, Leopold ups the ante. First, he murders someone he perceives as a "threat" to his beloved, and then he comes up with a plan that will shock the nation. Van Wormer's latest romantic thriller features characters from her earlier works, Riverside Drive (1989) and West End (1990), and has enough intrigue, drama, and tangled relationships to give Jerry Springer pause. This hot summer read will appeal to fans of Joy Fielding and Nora Roberts.
reviewed Talk on + 255 more book reviews
From Booklist
Americans love to watch talk shows, and host Jessica Wright leads the ratings game. She's warm, friendly, and candid about her past and perfectly willing to share her descent into alcoholism and degradation in her soon-to-be-released autobiography, Talk. In her rise to fame, Jessica gained the friendship of Alexandra Waring, the network anchor, and her relationship with Alexandra's coanchor, Will Rafferty, seems to be heating up, but there's trouble ahead: one of her fans, Leopold, has been courting her via letters for months, and now he's sending her gifts and asking her not to wear revealing clothing on her show. Jessica dismisses him as a nuisance until the gifts and notes start appearing on the set. As security is beefed up, Leopold ups the ante. First, he murders someone he perceives as a "threat" to his beloved, and then he comes up with a plan that will shock the nation. Van Wormer's latest romantic thriller features characters from her earlier works, Riverside Drive (1989) and West End (1990), and has enough intrigue, drama, and tangled relationships to give Jerry Springer pause. This hot summer read will appeal to fans of Joy Fielding and Nora Roberts.