Book Reviews of The Tavern on Maple Street

The Tavern on Maple Street
The Tavern on Maple Street
Author: Sharon Owens
ISBN-13: 9780515141412
ISBN-10: 0515141410
Publication Date: 2006
Pages: 320
Rating:
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29

3.7 stars, based on 29 ratings
Publisher: Jove
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

11 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 152 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
If you like the stories by Maeve Bincy, you might want to give the novels by Sharon Owens a try.
Set in Belfast the story line revolves around the lives of Lily and Jack Beaumont, the owners of the Tavern on Maple Street. Jack and Lily have invested a lot of their lives in the tavern only to hear rumors that a developer wants to tear down all the buildings in the area and erect a high tech complex. Lily decided to upgrade the tavern to bring in more business so she hires four young women to help with the food and drink and hopes that these women will help attract more cliental to help save the tavern. The girls all come from some dysfunctional past and so they create their own problems. The events that happened sound like real things that happen to real people, without violence and profanity - a pleasure to listen to
I listened to the unabridged version on 8 CDs. I had read some reviews that said they didn't like the narrator. I, myself, enjoyed the way that Caroline Winterson told the story and I would not mind listening to other audiobooks that she narrates.
I enjoyed the story, the characters and the setting. I had previously listened to The Tea House on Mulberry Street by Sharon Owens, and I am looking forward to getting the Ballroom on Magnolia Street.
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 79 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A very light read...a sweet, romantic story. It reminded me of some of Maeve Binchey's books.
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 23 more book reviews
A feel good,warm and fuzzy book.
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 60 more book reviews
What a nice heartwarming story! This was the first book I've read by this author and I'm putting her other books on my Wish List right now!
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 3 more book reviews
I love all of Sharon Owens' books. You won't be disappointed.
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 159 more book reviews
I thought this was a wonderful book. Once I started, I couldn't put it down.
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 718 more book reviews
I have now read all three of Sharon Owens first books and this is far and away my favourite! Charming, wonderful characters and a real sense of Belfast during "The Troubles". Loved remeeting characters from "The Tea Room on Mulberry Street"! I highly recommend this book for fans of Rosamunde Pilcher and Maeve Binchy. Quick, involving, delightful and most of all, satisfying read!
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 39 more book reviews
Sweet story; quick read. Nice book to take on vacation.
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 577 more book reviews
At the end of a cobblestone path is a quaint victorian pub owned by Jack and Lily Beaumont. More than a business it is a family business. But a developer threatens to rock the foundation of all Jack and Lily have fought for. But there is a secret about the tavern on Maple Street that no one knows and once discovered, it'll raise the stakes even further, and it will define the meanings of love, friendship, snd family in the most surprising ways.
A great book by the author of: The Teahouse on Mulberry Street and The Ballroom on Magnolia Street.
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 28 more book reviews
The people in this book seem to be very weak individuals working hard to follow their dreams and continue the history of their area.
reviewed The Tavern on Maple Street on + 293 more book reviews
Chic lit or a good beach read. A bit too schmaltzy for me.