Book Reviews of The Testament

The Testament
The Testament
Author: Eric Van Lustbader
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780765353436
ISBN-10: 0765353431
Publication Date: 7/31/2007
Edition: Reprint
Rating:
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 75

3.6 stars, based on 75 ratings
Publisher: Tor Books
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

11 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Testament on + 30 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Van Lustbader certainly ranks among the best in building plots within plots, subtrafuge around subtrafuge, leading to en end that you might perhaps expect, but is still surprising. I have read most everything he has written and am happy to se him active again, after a period of absence from the scene. If you are a fan of highly convoluted and historically based thrillers, in the vein of Ludlum or Forsythe, this book is most worth a read. It will keep you turning the pages well into the night.
reviewed The Testament on + 6 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Very detailed path to this book. Audio book made a long drive go quickly
reviewed The Testament on + 534 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Dexter Shaw dies in an explosion that injures his son Bravo and his daughter Emma. When Bravo awakens and recovers somewhat, Jenny visits him to inform him she is his Guardian assigned by his father to watch over him as he seeks a secret cache of documents. Bravo is shocked to learn that his dad lived a double life as a member of the ruling cabal, the Order of Gnostic Observatines, an organization that has influenced world events for centuries.

The group's enemy The Knights of St. Clement want that cache too because it contains something that will heal the dying Pope, enhancing their secret behind the scenes power in the shadows of the Vatican. Another item the group wants in the cache is the Testament of Jesus Christ that contains explosive information that could destroy Christianity if revealed. Bravo realizes a traitor amidst the order is providing information to the Knights. He trusts no one especially friends, family, or his guardian.

Readers who enjoyed the Da Vinci Code and the Brethren will defiantly want to read THE TESTAMENT, a highly sophisticated fresh religious conspiracy thriller whose fast-paced storyline will leave the audience breathless. The protagonist is an interesting person who does not quite grasp how or why his father was involved like he was or why he puts his life on the line to keep the cache out of the hands of the wrong people. Still like a true hero he does what he believes is right and if nothing else has the audience rooting for him.
AMAZON.COM READER'S REVIEW
reviewed The Testament on + 30 more book reviews
Good read. Sometimes the characters are bit convoluted and get bogged down with their own insecurities that slows the pace of the story. No real big surprises but enjoyable read.
reviewed The Testament on + 37 more book reviews
Wow! This one's a real page turner; I didn't know what would happen next. A cross between the DaVinci code and one of the Bourne novels. Really enjoyed it.
reviewed The Testament on + 3 more book reviews
Great read! Fast paced...keeping you on the edge of your seat. If you liked The Davinci Code you will like The Testament.
reviewed The Testament on + 2 more book reviews
Good book. A fast paced thriller and a really fun read!
reviewed The Testament on + 12 more book reviews
Bravest of the 'Code of Christ' genre. Has a most believable basis in history. A most
compelling and continuous code chase from beginning to end. Action to grip, romance to
fathom, all the loose ends bundled and hung out to dry that anyone could ask for. One
super readers delight, a better book. It will hold your interest. You too can be brave.
reviewed The Testament on + 2 more book reviews
Just ok. Very slow in place. Like the idea.
reviewed The Testament on + 28 more book reviews
Good premise and plot. Very similar to Dan Brown's Angel's and Demons or The DaVinci Code although not as exciting.
reviewed The Testament on + 298 more book reviews
good book..