Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Updated w/PBS response, successes: PBS 10/23 book request cancel bug - work

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Updated w/PBS response, successes: PBS 10/23 book request cancel bug - work
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 8:41 AM ET
Member Since: 10/5/2008
Posts: 485
Back To Top

I have my requests to send books back - all my requests to receive books had had the label printed.

Update from PBS:

We are fixing this, and all of the inappropriately-canceled requests will be reactivated.  We are doing this as fast as we can.

We are very sorry for the confusion!

So, it's a system bug, and you should see those cancelled requests reappear once they test the fix.

I created this b/c there are about 10 different posts on this out there already, so we might as well have an unhappy home for all these.

Description: Any pending requests that have been accepted by the sender but the sender has not printed out the label are canceled overnight with a time-out email.

So, if Alice L. (PBS name Wonderland) requests a book from Bob B. (PBS name Builder), and Bob accepts but does not print the label, then Alice and Bob get an email in the morning that says Bob took too long to mail the book. Bob's copy of the book disappears from his bookshelf, and Alice is annoyed (as is Bob, if there are plenty of the book around and Bob is finally getting rid of it).

What can Bob do about it now?

Bob can go to My Account tab, click on Transaction Archive, and click on Alice L's name (on the right) to bring up her profile and PM her to let her know that PBS has an issue.

Bob then goes back to Transaction Archive (or to Personal Messages/From Me) and brings up her profile again, then goes to her Wishlist, finds the requested book, and then clicks on Post This Book. This puts Bob's copy straight into Alice's wishlist. Bob MUST then print the label on the same day (or Bob can wait until this issue is fixed).

What can Alice do about it now?

If  there is no other offer, please PM Bob (same place - My Account/Transaction Archive) with the sitch.

If there is another offer, please PM the offerer and explain the PBS glitch, and that to be fair to Bob you're going to accept his offer (via a credit transfer/promise to send from Bob's part if PBS doesn't step in and fix these).

What I think happened

In the recent feature upgrade the part of the code that sets the date in in which the request needs to be sent got a bit mangled, and when the nightly processing that expires all the book requests that are past the send date runs, it picks up e.g. 1969 or some other wierd past year, and thinks your request is something like 29 years overdue and of course cancels immediately.



Last Edited on: 10/23/09 2:18 PM ET - Total times edited: 3
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 8:48 AM ET
Member Since: 10/29/2005
Posts: 3,823
Back To Top

Does anyone know if canceled requests were passed on to another member?  My canceled requests were "only copy in the system" books, so I can't tell.

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 9:07 AM ET
Member Since: 10/6/2005
Posts: 10,717
Back To Top

All I know is I am not going to TOUCH my account page until I know this is resolved...

Would be nice if they could have some sort of "system status" messages on the PBS home page when things like this are going on.

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 9:12 AM ET
Member Since: 6/5/2007
Posts: 62
Back To Top

Well, I know that there were others with the same book as mine, so my requestor has already gotten their wish fulfilled by the next FIFO person.  Whether he/she has accepted or not I don't know but it's all automatic so I'm not going to PM anyone or do anything other than adding the book back to my bookshelf, maybe I shouldn't have even done that, but oh well....

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 9:52 AM ET
Member Since: 2/21/2009
Posts: 2,925
Back To Top

I second the motion for a system status notification when there is a problem!

I had deal orders outstanding when the glitch happened, PM'd the members who then readded the ordered books, and I've ordered them again. Both members were mailing tomorrow so I didn't want to wait. I'm just worried the fix will somehow reorder these books for me from different members, and I won't be able to catch them to cancel them in time!

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 9:58 AM ET
Member Since: 5/14/2009
Posts: 6,852
Back To Top

IMO I would not do anything until we hear back from PBS.  They are aware of the problem, it is programming  issue, so they are not going to have a immediate answer.   I would just PM the requesters/senders as the OP suggested and let them know there is a glitch, not to do anything (like reorder or accepted orders) until PBS has comes back with some answer. You could make matters worse regarding your transactions by reordering or canceling.  

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 10:14 AM ET
Member Since: 2/21/2009
Posts: 2,925
Back To Top

Well, since I have already reordered (these were deal orders from the Bazaar and I didn't want the order for a single book going to someone else, especially as the members had already removed the other books I was getting from their shelves) , it's a moot point!  I did not want the "fix" to essentially reduce my orders from six books to two. I have a lot of books in transit but only have one remaining credit at this time, and I'm going to spend it - thus the books can't be ordered from someone else.

I will say that when I got an order this a.m., I printed the label immediately!

Subject: Response from PBS
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 10:40 AM ET
Member Since: 10/5/2008
Posts: 485
Back To Top
Reasons why a book request would be canceled inappropriately (before the deadline date to mark mailed):

1. Bug in the system.

We are fixing this, and all of the inappropriately-canceled requests will be reactivated.  We are doing this as fast as we can.

We are very sorry for the confusion!
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 10:43 AM ET
Member Since: 6/5/2007
Posts: 62
Back To Top

I got a wish list offer just now and I really want the book.  There's 245 people in line behind me.  I PM'd the sender and explained that I want it but am not going to accept it just yet.  I've only got the 48 hrs to accept, what if it's not fixed by then (which I think it will be) but what if?  I guess sender would have to agree to print label right then.  I use printable postage myself and that would irritate me to no end to have to pay that fee over and over. 

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 12:23 PM ET
Member Since: 2/5/2007
Posts: 30,800
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 10/23/09 12:25 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 12:41 PM ET
Member Since: 6/21/2007
Posts: 2,015
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 2/3/15 7:00 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 12:47 PM ET
Member Since: 7/31/2007
Posts: 2,054
Back To Top

I have pm'd the two people who wanted my books. One has responded and wants the book still.

However I just got an email from PBS stating that I have correspondance from the person that I mailed a book for.

So pbs now says I mailed the book... lol

So glad when this gets fixed!

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 2:01 PM ET
Member Since: 6/5/2007
Posts: 62
Back To Top

Jeri D, I meant the fee that I pay to use the Printable Postage.  It's .50 per transaction.  My point was, with this problem we had today, the only way to avoid getting your books canceled would be to print immediately when someone accepted an offer.  If you are a person like me who always uses PP w/DC then you'd be out a lot of money... for example... say I got a request today, accepted it, printed the postage.... later in the day or tomorrow get another request, accept that... print more postage, be out another .50.  If you got a lot of requests you could see how that would add up.  See what I mean? 

I guess it doesn't matter now because they've fixed it right?

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 2:07 PM ET
Member Since: 5/18/2007
Posts: 13,193
Back To Top

Two of mine have now been reactivated. 

Hmmm, two other people reordered from me too. 

Wonder how this is going to play out!?!?!? 

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 2:09 PM ET
Member Since: 1/8/2009
Posts: 2,016
Back To Top

Looks like the bug might have been fixed.

I've gotten my book reordered, and the book on my WL is back to "waiting for sender"

Thanks PBS!

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 2:10 PM ET
Member Since: 7/15/2008
Posts: 2,164
Back To Top

I've got 6 of my 7 orders back now.  That 7th one was probably already accepted from the next person who got the order.

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 3:10 PM ET
Member Since: 5/14/2009
Posts: 6,852
Back To Top

UPDATE:  When your request has been reactivated you will receive a email message.  If you reposted (sender) or re-requested (requestors) the reactivation will not go through and the email will explain this.  If  you re-posted or re-requested, you should continue with the new request created and do not worry about reactivating the old ones.  Senders whose canceled books was re-requested by the requestor while PBS was fixing his problem will have their book go back onto his/her bookshelf at the previous place in the FIFO line, it gets requested next.

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 3:13 PM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2007
Posts: 26,510
Back To Top

I think it only cancelled books where the label had not been printed. 

Date Posted: 10/23/2009 3:24 PM ET
Member Since: 5/14/2009
Posts: 6,852
Back To Top

Jen147 - I think it is safe to accept the request.  I just requested a book and it went through without issue...it is pending.

Mary, I had a book that the label wasn't printed - it wasn't cancelled. 



Last Edited on: 10/23/09 3:33 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 3:59 PM ET
Member Since: 3/7/2009
Posts: 10,908
Back To Top

The book that was requested from me is back on my shelf now, but I didn't get the request back.  There are 130 other copies in the system, so I am sure it went to the next person in the FIFO line when PBS screwed up.  I very seriously doubt this book is requested very often, so I am out the credit I would have received when I sent the book off.  That sucks.



Last Edited on: 10/23/09 4:08 PM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 4:06 PM ET
Member Since: 5/14/2009
Posts: 6,852
Back To Top

Jenna - chances are that the requester re-requested the book when they saw it was canceled. When that was done it went to the next person in line.  My understanding the books weren't rolling over and if the member did not re-post or re-request everything would have been reactivated.  PBS said that for a sender whose book was canceled and the requestor re-requested, the book would go in front of the FIFO line - so it will be requested next. 

Ronda (RONDA) - ,
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 5:01 PM ET
Member Since: 3/3/2009
Posts: 415
Back To Top

My books were re-ordered fifo when PBS made the correction.  Problem was I had ordered them as part of a deal.  I noticed and was able to cancel and re-order from the person I have the deal set-up with.  Just something to watch out for........

Date Posted: 10/24/2009 6:51 AM ET
Member Since: 12/10/2005
Posts: 2,851
Back To Top

Like many here, I'm not happy with the way PBS handled the glitch. No notification! WTF!

Then, one of my book orders wasn't restored. Apparently, the request went to the next person in line. I think we should be compensated for this type of error. Sorry just doesn't cut it.

Date Posted: 10/24/2009 8:35 AM ET
Member Since: 8/25/2007
Posts: 13,134
Back To Top

I was quite surprised not to see an "official" response to this mess attached to one of the posts (the red megaphone thingy), unless I missed it.   Bad form, IMO. The 3 books I ordered that got cancelled were also part of a deal, but luckily the other member and I got it fixed before the not-official response was posted, so she re-posted the books to her account and I re-ordered them.  I would have been really P.O.'d had the requests been rolled over to 3 different members.

 

Date Posted: 10/24/2009 5:36 PM ET
Member Since: 7/13/2006
Posts: 3
Back To Top

I had 3 books ordered from a single trader, and because of this "bug," I'm left shipping out only 1 out of the 3. Apparently, because 2 of the books were not "first in line" and were requested only because the requestor wanted them (and wanted to give me a break on shipping), they were canceled and the requests sent to other traders. PBS told me that this was an "unusual" case.

I'm steamed about this, too, especially since I was told by PBS that all requests would get reinstated. The recipient was willing to re-request my books and I told her no, because PBS told me the original request would get reinstated in good time. Now I'm kicking myself for being so gullible and believing them.

I've donated credits, spent a lot of money on this site and been an honest and fast trader in all my transactions, and the "sorry" I received in an e-mail is just poor compensation that leaves me feeling a little bitter.

Page: