Discussion Forums - USPS Postal Regulations USPS Postal Regulations

Topic: Using PBS DC and not mailing from standard post office?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Using PBS DC and not mailing from standard post office?
Date Posted: 2/24/2010 11:15 AM ET
Member Since: 6/15/2006
Posts: 15
Back To Top

I'm using PBS DC for the first time. I'm mailing to an APO and it seemed the best way to make sure I got my credit right away. I have the postage and DC printed, so I shouldn't owe any money at the post office, right? Also, I do most of my mailings (we have a business) at the local Hallmark store. I know they can't scan it there, but will it be scanned somewhere else before it reaches its destination? Or should I go up to the post office? (yuk) I'm not worried about getting my credit right away.

Thanks!

Date Posted: 2/24/2010 12:28 PM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,171
Back To Top

If you are using PBS postage and DC, the post office is unlikely to scan your package anyway.  If you print DC and purchase postage at the counter, USPS will scan as part of the transaction, otherwise 'courtesy' scans are discouraged. 

DC is Delivery Confirmation, and only guaranteed to be scanned upon delivery.  But the vast majority are scanned enroute, most often at the sorting centers.  IIRC PBS printable postage receives immediate credit upon printing (or maybe marking 'mailed'), check your credit archive.

If using PBS DC and adding your own postage, you will be credited 1) after USPS scans the barcode, and 2) after the information is uploaded (usually about midnight).



Last Edited on: 2/24/10 12:31 PM ET - Total times edited: 3
Date Posted: 2/24/2010 8:53 PM ET
Member Since: 6/15/2006
Posts: 15
Back To Top

Okay, I understand. Thanks!

Date Posted: 2/24/2010 8:56 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 209
Back To Top

Mailing to an APO also requires a customs form and mailing at a Post Office.  The package is going to another country so customs requirements have to be met even though you are only paying domestic rates.

Date Posted: 2/25/2010 2:25 AM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,171
Back To Top

Oops, with all the initials floating around I missed APO.  Good catch Steve!

Date Posted: 2/25/2010 12:56 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,186
Back To Top

You do need to make sure to do the customs form so that might require a trip to the PO anyway. But as for the scan - every APO package I have sent was scanned at the PO in the city where left the US shores.