Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: want to add money but....

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: want to add money but....
Date Posted: 10/19/2007 12:04 PM ET
Member Since: 7/7/2005
Posts: 87
Back To Top

I want to add money to my PBS account using the PBS "secure"  payment instead of paypal, but my web browser is not showing that the site is secure.  There is no little secure lock icon at the bottom of the website.  Anyone else notice this, or is there a way around it?  Like if I type in https in the browser?

 

Tricia

Date Posted: 10/19/2007 12:22 PM ET
Member Since: 8/30/2005
Posts: 827
Back To Top

Tricia, I went to the Kiosk and went through buying PBS Money and clicked PBS Secure Checkout and on the next page my browser did show the lock (to the right of the address) and the address was secure and had the https in it: https://secure.paperbackswap.com/checkout/checkout.php

What URL are you seeing?

 



Last Edited on: 10/19/07 12:22 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/19/2007 12:29 PM ET
Member Since: 7/7/2005
Posts: 87
Back To Top

My URL does say secure. paperbackswap.......etc.  But there is no lock on my screen.  Is this the way they note it secure is in the browser? 

Tricia

Date Posted: 10/19/2007 12:42 PM ET
Member Since: 7/7/2005
Posts: 87
Back To Top

Ok, now I got the https in my web browser, but still no lock on the page.  Hmmmmm.

I am using IE, do others that use firefox see the lock?



Last Edited on: 10/19/07 12:42 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/19/2007 12:43 PM ET
Member Since: 8/30/2005
Posts: 827
Back To Top

I think "https :// secure" in the URL means it is secure.  I am using Firefox.    Maybe someone who uses IE can comment on the lock question in that browser.

 



Last Edited on: 10/19/07 12:43 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/19/2007 12:53 PM ET
Member Since: 4/20/2006
Posts: 5,647
Back To Top

I did it using IE just now, and when I got to the page where you put your credit card payment info in, I have the lock up at the top in the toolbar area.

Date Posted: 10/19/2007 1:01 PM ET
Member Since: 7/7/2005
Posts: 87
Back To Top

Ok, I got it all worked out.  Duh, my status bar had been turned off by one of my children which is why is was getting the https but no lock.  Sheesh.  Thanks all for trying it out. 

Tricia