Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Is there a way to post a link in a pm?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Is there a way to post a link in a pm?
Date Posted: 12/16/2008 11:42 PM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2007
Posts: 1,248
Back To Top

I was trying to post the following links into a pm.

They show up, but would have to be copied and then pasted.  Is there anyway to make them clickable through the pm?

http://stargate.mgm.com/specialops/link.php?urlid=43&id=8814

http://stargate.mgm.com/specialops/link.php?urlid=42&id=8814

http://stargate.mgm.com/specialops/link.php?link=35&id=8814

 

Thanks for the help!!

Date Posted: 12/16/2008 11:46 PM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2007
Posts: 1,248
Back To Top

Well when it posted it just came up showing "Link."  I was trying to show the links so you could see them so you would know how to help me.

But the link starts with h t t p : //   (had to put the spaces so it would show...LOL) without www.  I have no idea what any of that means, but a more techno savvy person might.  It may also not make a bit of difference, but I didn't know that either.



Last Edited on: 12/16/08 11:47 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 12/17/2008 12:13 AM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,185
Back To Top

I have never been able to get a link to work in a PM. I'd like to know if someone has figured it out too!

Date Posted: 12/17/2008 12:26 AM ET
Member Since: 10/23/2005
Posts: 7,718
Back To Top

I have had this saved as a word doc since someone posted it years ago. I have never tried it, so I am not sure if it would still work since all the upgrades have been implemented on the site, but here it is:

Make a link instructions
<a href="  ">  </a>
<a href="web address here">what you want the link to show up as here</a>

 

Date Posted: 12/17/2008 8:42 AM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2006
Posts: 15,930
Back To Top

That does work!  Cheryl, thank you so much - I've been wanting a way to do that for the longest time!!!!

Date Posted: 12/17/2008 12:23 PM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2007
Posts: 1,248
Back To Top

Okay,

Gonna go try it.  Be back in a jiffy!!

 

Date Posted: 12/17/2008 12:28 PM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2007
Posts: 1,248
Back To Top

It worked It worked!!!!

 

Thank you sooooo much.  I knew people had sent me links that way before, but I had no idea how to do it for myself! 

You guys are awesome...as usual!!!!!

 

Amy C

Date Posted: 8/17/2011 8:21 PM ET
Member Since: 2/26/2009
Posts: 35,328
Back To Top

not sure I understand- technochallenged here-

<a href="  ">  </a>
<a href="web address here">what you want the link to show up as here</a>
would it be
<a href="http://www.paperbackswap.com/60-Swap-Aka-Pass-Happy/topic/243894/">
?? so confused
Date Posted: 8/17/2011 9:18 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,185
Back To Top

I think you are missing some stuff Adrienne.

Looks like you have the first part < a href="web address here" > what you want the link to show up as here</a>

but not the last part   < a href="web address here" >what you want the link to show up as here</a>

The </a>closes the formula so I don't think it will work without it. I will often PM myself the link first so that I can see how it will look and if it works before I send it to someone. You can PM yourself from your Friends list if you haven't deleted yourself from being your own friend.

(spaces added after first < and before first > to break the link so it would post showing the formula and not as a link. You can usually tell if you have a link set up correctly because it won't post looking like a formula it will post the link!) 



Last Edited on: 8/17/11 9:23 PM ET - Total times edited: 5
Date Posted: 8/17/2011 9:27 PM ET
Member Since: 2/26/2009
Posts: 35,328
Back To Top

what you want the link to show up as here</a>

that's the part I don't understand??

Date Posted: 8/17/2011 9:30 PM ET
Member Since: 6/29/2007
Posts: 17,042
Back To Top

what you want the link to show up as here = the title of the link.  Do you want the link to say "Link" or "Check out my swap"  The text you put in the middle of the tags is what becomes the clickable link.

Date Posted: 8/17/2011 9:34 PM ET
Member Since: 2/26/2009
Posts: 35,328
Back To Top
<a href="web address here">what you want the link to show up as here</a>
would it be
<a href="http://www.paperbackswap.com/60-Swap-Aka-Pass-Happy/topic/243894/"> My New Swap </a>
Date Posted: 8/17/2011 9:52 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,185
Back To Top

Looks right, but if it was right, it should just beshowing as a link unless you've stuck some extra spaces in there for it to show up.

Yup, I take out the spaces before and after My New Swap and it works!yes


Last Edited on: 8/17/11 9:53 PM ET - Total times edited: 3
Date Posted: 8/17/2011 10:40 PM ET
Member Since: 1/12/2009
Posts: 4,412
Back To Top

Oh, thank you for posting this question!  I have wanted to know for ages how to do this.  4hu5109.gif

Date Posted: 8/18/2011 2:29 AM ET
Member Since: 2/26/2009
Posts: 35,328
Back To Top
                                 thumbnail.aspx?q=1189398118755&id=bb1cbece52206c2ce1b0da9f9f472e57                           http://s.myniceprofile.com/myspacepic/445/44586.gif
Date Posted: 8/18/2011 8:55 AM ET
Member Since: 7/12/2010
Posts: 4,177
Back To Top

Okay, first off anyone who has some spare times on their hands should take a basic HTML course.  Not only will it give you a bit of insight into the basics of computer code and help you with problems like this, but writing lines and lines of basic code helps you think logically.  Its a great exercise to keep the brain young.

Alright, consider the little piece of code were talking about here as a Container (actually thats what its called).  In basic HTML coding there are containers for just about everything that make the computer do what you want it to. Remember when you open a container to do something you need to close it when your done. The basic container tag is <a and to tell the computer to close it you do this /a>.

So this is what we are working on:

<a href="http://www.paperbackswap.com/60-Swap-Aka-Pass-Happy/topic/243894/"> My New Swap </a>

<a href opens the type of container we are going to use; href is the indicator for a link (think of it as a reference).


= sign identifies the link; this always needs to be enclosed with " " or it won't work.


> tells the program that what follows is the text representation for the link; its actually an embedded container, notice the > and < on both sides of the text (My New Swap)


/a> tells the program that we are done with this container that we opened at the start with <a

Hope this helps 

-RD

Date Posted: 8/18/2011 9:36 AM ET
Member Since: 2/13/2007
Posts: 2,249
Back To Top

Or you could just use the linking tool that appears in the toolbar right above this message box when you are entering copy -- it is the 4th box from the right, Highlight what you want to link, go to the left hand tool in that 4th box and it will open a box to enter the actual linking info. Sounds more complicated than it is! It's easy and I use it all the time like here http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/.

Date Posted: 8/18/2011 9:45 AM ET
Member Since: 7/28/2006
Posts: 4,978
Back To Top
That's true Sally. But if you ever want to send a "clickable" link via pm, you'll have to do it the HTML way.
Date Posted: 8/18/2011 10:20 AM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,185
Back To Top

Or you could just use the linking tool that appears in the toolbar right above this message box when you are entering copy

Unfortunately, there is no linking tool in the PM system.

Date Posted: 8/18/2011 12:55 PM ET
Member Since: 6/26/2006
Posts: 2,584
Back To Top

I'm with Rob, basic HTML is something that is really helpful to know.  You can also use HTML to imbed images into PM's, and use it to add images to forum posts without using the forum tools.

Date Posted: 8/19/2011 2:28 PM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2006
Posts: 4,269
Back To Top

Another little tip: when you find an URL in a post or webpage that isn't a 'live' link, hilite the url and right-click, then click on Open link -or- Open link in new tab, -or- Open in new window.

Date Posted: 10/28/2011 2:09 PM ET
Member Since: 1/30/2010
Posts: 8,359
Back To Top

Thank you so much!

Date Posted: 6/20/2012 11:43 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,384
Back To Top

I have tried everything to paste pictures into this site and I just can't.  It is so frustrating.

i have given up on trying to do it with cut & paste and instead go to Source and use HTML.  let's see if i can get the steps typed in here, because i don't think i've seen them posted yet.  i'm doing this on a PC, mileage may vary doing this on some other kind of device.  [and this might get munged - i guess i'll find out!  ETA: looks good!]

  1. type up whatever text you want in your post, and then leave a blank line to put your picture on
  2. click on the 'Source' button, which is the last one in the bottom row of the text box you're typing your post in
  3. your blank line will look like:  <p>
        &nbsp;</p>
  4. and then you replace that with this text:  <p>
        <img src="X" /></p>
  5. and then you replace the X with your URL, so a real example is something like: <p>
        <img src="http://www.    " /></p>
  6. then you click the Source button again to put you back to the regular forum screen and you should be looking at your picture like i have my example below.
  7. more steps than cut & paste, but i've never had it not work!


Last Edited on: 6/21/12 1:01 PM ET - Total times edited: 4
Date Posted: 6/21/2012 3:31 PM ET
Member Since: 8/26/2006
Posts: 9,321
Back To Top

In a PM, if you want to include a link to another link (for example, I do this to include a link to a help doc in a PM):

Highlight the link

Right click on it

Choose "view selection source" (wording may vary by browser -- I use Firefox)

Copy everything betweeen the opening <a and the closing /a>

Paste it into your PM

Date Posted: 6/21/2012 9:46 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,384
Back To Top

I just wanted to add the photo coding info to this old thread so I could find it later.  

So Patty, does that work with the Help pop up windows?  The other coding method links to the search, not the pop up window.