Book Reviews of The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1)

The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Wayfarer Redemption - The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1
Author: Sara Douglass
ISBN-13: 9780765341303
ISBN-10: 0765341301
Publication Date: 9/17/2001
Pages: 672
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 134

4 stars, based on 134 ratings
Publisher: Tor Fantasy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

20 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 99 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
This was a great book! I loved the writing style. It's a long book, but the author does a great job of keeping the story moving forward. I thought the characters were wonderful, strong and well-written. Douglass does a fantastic job of keeping the tension level high, while not getting lost in the details that are needed to move the story along.
I'm looking forward to the other books in the series from this author.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 40 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
This book has the appealing good vs. evil basis that we expect from fantasy, but its magic, its races, and its feel are all unique. I really enjoyed meeting all the characters: good, evil, and to-be-determined. I'll be reading the next book soon.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 5 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This is a great series in regards to storyline, but I was not happy with some of the character development.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 80 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
A good start to what promises to be a great series. I really enjoyed this book and hope the next is as entertaining.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 19 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
AMAZING BOOK. I would recommend this to anyone -- and I wish I'd found it sooner :) The religion in here is very well thought out, and since it is as the forefront of the plot, that is very important. A religion that thinks that trees are the work of evil? It could have been crazy and stupid if not done correctly, but Douglass did a wonderful job, as always.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 4 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
Great series. So good that you pick and read all three.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 28 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I really enjoyed the book. Could not wait for the sequel. Which I have read but have loaned out and never got back. It is about the Acharites who have lived prosperous lives, protected by vast and insurmountable mountains and the powerful Seneschal, guardians of the mysterious Way of the Plow and intermediaries with the great God Artor. But now Achar's security is threatened as a millennia-old prophecy predicting the return of the forbidden Ones flares into life. An unnatural winter grips the land as the Ice Lord Gorgrael moves his armies of demonic wraiths and Ice Worms south. Achar crumbles under Gorgrael's murderous onslaught: it seems that no one can stop him. But he has a brother born on the same night and has the same father but by different mothers. Who will challenge him.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 27 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I was surprised to read any negative reviews on this book...of course you know you can only read reviews to help make a guesstimated idea of whether or not you'll like...but I thought this book was great!
It's based around a prophecy...no new idea, but it has twists and turns and I thought that S.Douglass does a great job with dialogue and the pace of the story...I liked the character development and appreciated the battles they had due to the circumstances...I also liked the multiple cultures as opposed to dwarves or elves all over again...This book has a well thought out journey, battles and adventure, a tad bit of romance without all the explicit material and fluff, and magic and realistic characters....so that's my two cents, opinion, take, experience with this book...
I am waiting on the sequel and totally excited to see what happens next! I won't be posting this book cuz' I've loaned it out....you'll just have to wait! ; )
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 13 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
For 1,000 years the Acharites have lived prosperous lives, protected by vast and insurmountable mountains and the powerful Seneschal, guardians of the mysterious Way of the Plow and intermediaries with the great god Artor.

The Wayfarer Redemption is the beginning of an epic fantasy about honor, family and love: of Faraday's fight for one man's love and their struggles to free the people from the lies that have bound them ... and lead them to the truth of the Star Gate.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 45 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This was an amazing book, so amazing that I was willing to read it even though the paperback version is as thick as both my wrists and the font is small enough to make my eyes pop out with strain. That's how much I love it! Sara Douglass spins a very unique, rich fantasy world with enough of the 'basic' elements mixed in so that you don't feel completely lost and alone. This book had me from the first sentence, and I can only hope to share it with as many people as possible.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
This is one of the best series I have ever read. I have read all of the The Malazan Book of the Fallen and would compare Sara Douglass's books to the Malazan, but actually, Sara's were alot easier to follow and was just as intense. What started as a Trilogy, has ended in a total of 6 books. She will keep you interested and the story line is like none you have ever read before. I think anyone who loves high adventure and fanasty will love this book, and go on to read the entire series.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on
Picked up this book while in Iraq, recognized the cover art by Royo. Didn't finish it, a bit lengthy.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Wow... If you haven't read any Sara Douglass, this is a great one to start with!
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 34 more book reviews
Very fast paced with rowdy men and testosterone all over the pages. Its very funny to see the portrayal of the warriors and nobles act like immature and impatient children throwing insults at each other. One minute its child-like barbs being spewed at one another. Brothers who hate each other, but never eat at the same table, much less have some tea together in the same room. They don't even really know each other.
They are little boys on the pages that can't make up their minds one second, then act as though they are in complete control of their affairs the next, then they're stomping their feet like children again on the next page.
The women of this story, though, are very strong. And they love the men despite their immaturity and disgusting habits to show off to one another.
I couldn't read much farther past chapter ten when the male figure of the book, Axis, snapped impatiently at the heroine of the book, Faraday. I could see this book would not hold my attention much further as I willed in my mind, when will the characters growup to the ages they are portrayed on the pages?
After reading the back of the book, I thought the book looked very promising with a rich adventure. But I was very wrong. This book should be in the teenager section instead of in with fantasy and adult novels.
Its a bummer to find out that this is a series. Guess I won't be reading these anymore....
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 6 more book reviews
"An epic fantasy in the tradition of David Eddings and Terry Goodkind."

"This grand and heroic story tells the tale of one woman's struggle to learn the truth of her people and change their hearts and their minds forever. She fights against oppressive forces to share this reality and will not desist until everyone knows the truth of the Star Gate."
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 54 more book reviews
I enjoyed this book, and was greatly intrigued by the world and character building Douglass accomplished.

I was also however greatly disappointed by the turn certain characters take in the sequels and I was unable to finish the series.
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 52 more book reviews
As a rule, I never read fantasy books. But I picked this one up out of curiosity, and I was pleasantly surprised! It's usually very difficult to me to lose myself in "other" worlds - I like to be firmly rooted in reality - but this book swept me away rather quickly, and I found that I couldn't put it down. It was a good choice for someone who had never read fantasy books before...I will definitely pick up another one!
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 27 more book reviews
This is one of my all time favorite Series....I read the first three books and it then seems to keep going with different characters.
This is fun cuz it's a neat take on fantasy where you don't have just typical elves and wizards, but introduces new 'species' of characters.
I loved that it has a bit of romance but not too much to get sleazy, and the story fits together and is truly brilliantly thought up.
I loved it and highly recommend it. Order this one, or another- you won't be gettin mine!
^_^
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 6 more book reviews
I really liked this book and i hope you (the buyer) will like it to! Its is in good condition!
reviewed The Wayfarer Redemption (The Axis Trilogy, Bk 1) on + 58 more book reviews
Total crap.