Search - A Wedding in December

A Wedding in December
A Wedding in December
Author: Anita Shreve
Writing with the fluent narrative artistry and the acute grasp of human motivation that distinguish all of her bestselling novels, Anita Shreve tells the compelling story of seven former schoolmates who gather at an inn in the Berkshires to celebrate a wedding. Their reunion becomes the occasion of astonishing revelations, recrimination, and for...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780316001632
ISBN-10: 0316001635
Publication Date: 11/1/2007
Pages: 416
Edition: Reprint
Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 83

3.3 stars, based on 83 ratings
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed A Wedding in December on + 59 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8
This is not my normal genre as I am more of a mystery, horror, fantasy reader. I starting reading this not expecting to finish it and then I got caught up in the lives of these people and had to see it to the end. It draws you in and keeps you wondering about life and it's many curves and turns. I enjoyed it very much and recommend it highly!
reviewed A Wedding in December on
Helpful Score: 7
The author is a great story teller and this was a very easy read. I really enjoyed the book Agnes was writing about the blast in Halifax in the 1930's. But I found this book very sad - about relationships that never were or missed chances. It makes me appreciate my life and my loved ones.
reviewed A Wedding in December on + 121 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
Some of Anita Shreve's books have been very enjoyable for me, such as The Pilot's Wife and The Weight of Water. Others, I have not enjoyed as much, such as Fortune's Rocks. So, I didn't know what to expect when I came upon the audiobook of this novel at my used bookstore. I was unexpectedly surprised to find that I enjoyed this novel very much. It goes into the past and present lives of several old college friends attending the second marriage of 2 in their group. The bride has terminal cancer, and having survived 2 bouts of cancer and 1 LONG bout of chemotherapy myself, I could really relate to her story. What she goes through is definitely what a cancer patient experiences. Ms. Shreve obviously has some personal knowledge of what that entails. That is the main thing that made this book so special to me. I also highly recommend it for fans of Rosamunde Pilcher or Maeve Binchy. Ms. Shreve introduces us to the main characters and builds their stories in much the same way as Pilcher and Binchy. This is one of those rare books that should be saved for a long, rainy weekend and enjoyed with a cup of hot cocoa in front of the fire.
reviewed A Wedding in December on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
Not my favorite Shreve book, but a good read anyway.
reviewed A Wedding in December on + 39 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This is a wonderfully written story of love and life. It is a beautiful story that wanders through the lives of friends during a weekend reunion. It is about life and love, hopes and dreams, expectations and reality. I really enjoyed this book. I think it is one of her best. A true story teller's story.
Read All 102 Book Reviews of "A Wedding in December"


Genres: