Search - A Wedding in December

A Wedding in December
A Wedding in December
Author: Anita Shreve
Massachusetts: seven former schoolmates gather for a wedding. Nora, the owner of the inn, has recently had to reinvent her life following the death of her husband. Avery, who still hears echoes from a horrific event at Kidd Academy twenty-six years ago, has made a life for himself in Toronto with his wife and two sons. Agnes, now a history teach...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780316154512
ISBN-10: 0316154512
Publication Date: 5/2/2006
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 363

3.2 stars, based on 363 ratings
Publisher: Back Bay Books
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed A Wedding in December on + 59 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8
This is not my normal genre as I am more of a mystery, horror, fantasy reader. I starting reading this not expecting to finish it and then I got caught up in the lives of these people and had to see it to the end. It draws you in and keeps you wondering about life and it's many curves and turns. I enjoyed it very much and recommend it highly!
reviewed A Wedding in December on
Helpful Score: 7
The author is a great story teller and this was a very easy read. I really enjoyed the book Agnes was writing about the blast in Halifax in the 1930's. But I found this book very sad - about relationships that never were or missed chances. It makes me appreciate my life and my loved ones.
reviewed A Wedding in December on + 121 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
Some of Anita Shreve's books have been very enjoyable for me, such as The Pilot's Wife and The Weight of Water. Others, I have not enjoyed as much, such as Fortune's Rocks. So, I didn't know what to expect when I came upon the audiobook of this novel at my used bookstore. I was unexpectedly surprised to find that I enjoyed this novel very much. It goes into the past and present lives of several old college friends attending the second marriage of 2 in their group. The bride has terminal cancer, and having survived 2 bouts of cancer and 1 LONG bout of chemotherapy myself, I could really relate to her story. What she goes through is definitely what a cancer patient experiences. Ms. Shreve obviously has some personal knowledge of what that entails. That is the main thing that made this book so special to me. I also highly recommend it for fans of Rosamunde Pilcher or Maeve Binchy. Ms. Shreve introduces us to the main characters and builds their stories in much the same way as Pilcher and Binchy. This is one of those rare books that should be saved for a long, rainy weekend and enjoyed with a cup of hot cocoa in front of the fire.
reviewed A Wedding in December on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
Not my favorite Shreve book, but a good read anyway.
reviewed A Wedding in December on + 39 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This is a wonderfully written story of love and life. It is a beautiful story that wanders through the lives of friends during a weekend reunion. It is about life and love, hopes and dreams, expectations and reality. I really enjoyed this book. I think it is one of her best. A true story teller's story.
Read All 103 Book Reviews of "A Wedding in December"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed A Wedding in December on + 65 more book reviews
This book was terribly slow. The first half of the book is all snippets from the characters' former lives 20 years earlier. I didn't even know what was happening until half way through, and even then what was happening was not much. Ironically, one of the characters, Agnes, was writing a story within the book, and her story was more interesting than this book's storyline. I did finish the book, but the journey to get there was painfully boring.

On a side note, I'm currently halfway through "Light on Snow" by the same author, and that book is much more interesting.
reviewed A Wedding in December on + 9 more book reviews
Almost as good as the Pilot's Wife, this is still a good read. As usual Anita Shreve's character's are quite human and not so perfect, in other words believable.
reviewed A Wedding in December on + 2 more book reviews
I love Anita Shreve but this is one of my least favorite of her novels, but only because of the morality of a few of the story lines. I would suggest you read it if you like Anita Shreve but it isn't in the same ballpark as The Pilots Wife and Bodysurfing.


Genres: