Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: where to ask a read-alike question?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: where to ask a read-alike question?
Date Posted: 7/31/2007 3:12 PM ET
Member Since: 1/15/2007
Posts: 880
Back To Top

I don't know what section to put this in. :) I am looking for read-alikes for Jodi Picoult... Where should I ask that? contemporary fiction? I don't know where to find the kind of readers I'm hoping to ask. If it's already been ask, then does anyone know which forum to search?

Thanks. :)

Allie

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 3:16 PM ET
Member Since: 12/26/2006
Posts: 280
Back To Top

Go to My Account, Book Lists, Book Recommendations and try FABIL.  It's pretty cool.

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 3:17 PM ET
Member Since: 1/15/2007
Posts: 880
Back To Top

I have tried the FABIL thing and it has not worked for me in this instance. :) I want to hear from actual humans... :) Thanks, though.



Last Edited on: 7/31/07 3:17 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 7/31/2007 3:22 PM ET
Member Since: 12/26/2006
Posts: 280
Back To Top

Anita Shreve, Joy Fielding, stilling thinking...

ETA:  Mary Alice Monroe

You can also browse Literature and Fiction, sub-genre Women's Fiction.  The problem with the Literature and Fiction genre is that people seem to dump everything in there so it takes a while to sift through it.  But if you choose a sub-genre, that may help some.  Good luck!



Last Edited on: 7/31/07 3:30 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 7/31/2007 3:58 PM ET
Member Since: 2/28/2007
Posts: 2,164
Back To Top

Try posting to the chick lit board.  I know Jodi Picoult is a bit heavier than chick lit, but a lot of people on that board read her books.  Also, I would recommend Sue Miller or Anne Tyler to you.

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 4:06 PM ET
Member Since: 4/21/2005
Posts: 6,176
Back To Top

Try the literature map at the following web site:

http://literature-map.com/

Type in the authors first and last  name and you will get a map of similiar authors.

Diane

 

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 5:08 PM ET
Member Since: 1/15/2007
Posts: 880
Back To Top

Wonderful! Thanks for all these ideas. :)

Allie

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 6:05 PM ET
Member Since: 2/17/2007
Posts: 94
Back To Top

Someone posted the site whatshouldireadnext.com a few weeks ago and it might help you!!! It was a great site!!!  I also LOVE Jodi Picoult...she is my FAVORITE author!!!! 

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 6:39 PM ET
Member Since: 11/10/2006
Posts: 2,946
Back To Top

Another source:  http://www.gnooks.com/

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 7:32 PM ET
Member Since: 2/17/2007
Posts: 94
Back To Top

That site is really cool Charlie!!!



Last Edited on: 7/31/07 8:39 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 7/31/2007 7:58 PM ET
Member Since: 8/9/2005
Posts: 20,024
Back To Top

That is a cool site Charlie thanks.

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 8:42 PM ET
Member Since: 8/30/2005
Posts: 826
Back To Top

Chris Bohjalian is very much like Jodi Picoult.  They are friends, actually LOL.   I like his books as much as hers.

Date Posted: 7/31/2007 11:26 PM ET
Member Since: 1/15/2007
Posts: 880
Back To Top

Thank you, everyone! I love these sites that direct you to what else you might like, I am bookmarking them all...

Date Posted: 8/1/2007 8:48 AM ET
Member Since: 10/29/2005
Posts: 3,823
Back To Top

I want to second Chris Bohjalian, I actually like his books much better than Picoult's.

Date Posted: 8/1/2007 8:53 AM ET
Member Since: 11/28/2006
Posts: 877
Back To Top

When I saw Jodi speak, some authors she mentioned were Chris Bohjalian, Marge Piercy, Alice Hoffman.  There were probably others but that's what I remember.

Check out Jodi's website too - www.jodipicoult.com for ideas.

Date Posted: 8/1/2007 8:55 AM ET
Member Since: 10/29/2005
Posts: 3,823
Back To Top

The site is very cool Charlie! Wouldn't it be great if they provided a printable version of the author names? So you could print it out and look up the author's that were suggested. Or, maybe I just too lazy to write them all down!

Date Posted: 8/1/2007 9:50 PM ET
Member Since: 10/23/2005
Posts: 7,718
Back To Top

On fantasticfiction.com, Jodi Picoult has some books she recommends, not sure if they are in her style, though.