Search - White Noise (Lib)(CD)

White Noise (Lib)(CD)
White Noise - Lib - CD
Author: Don DeLillo
Audio Books swap for two (2) credits.
ISBN-13: 9780736680479
ISBN-10: 0736680470
Publication Date: 1/25/2002
Rating:
  ?

0 stars, based on 0 rating
Publisher: Books on Tape
Book Type: Audio CD
Other Versions: Paperback, Hardcover, Audio Cassette
Members Wishing: 2
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed White Noise (Lib)(CD) on + 66 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Very well written metaphorical exposition on our obsession with death and trying to escape it. Black humor with meaining.
reviewed White Noise (Lib)(CD) on + 9 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Original, thought-provoking and meticulously worded for maximum effect at all times. A must-read for fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Douglas Coupland, both of whom seem to have been influenced by DeLillo's examinations of the effect of consumerism and technology on the individual in modern society.
reviewed White Noise (Lib)(CD) on + 38 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This novel is supposed to be an edgy postmodern commentary on materialism, intellectualism, death, perception v reality, etc. However, these ideas were more radical in the 60s. This book was written in the 80s which means DeLillo was at least 20 years behind the curve in his own time and that it was done better by others.

Besides the anti-climactic ending, I enjoyed most of the book even when the dialogue became repetitive and preachy. All of the characters had an annoying habit of answering a question with a question and never actually answered anything. It quickly became obnoxious and made the "controversy" feel forced. Here is a typical exchange:

First character asks, "Is it raining right now?"
Second character answers, "What is rain? Perhaps you perceive rain differently than I do. And when is 'now'? 'Now' at this moment or 'now' when you asked me a few seconds ago? Time is an illusion."

I could have done without reading this one. Perhaps DeLillo does a better job in one of his other works.
reviewed White Noise (Lib)(CD) on + 110 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Truly insightful book on modern day life. Gave me the chills
reviewed White Noise (Lib)(CD) on + 18 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This is an interesting look at modern, present day life in the US.
Read All 15 Book Reviews of "White Noise LibCD"

Book Wiki

Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
Important Events