Discussion Forums - eBook readers eBook readers

Topic: Why do I keep messing up! (rant)

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Why do I keep messing up! (rant)
Date Posted: 2/15/2015 9:25 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

The Kobo reader, used in conjunction with Calibre and some plugins, is perfection. So leave it to me to mess it up. Not just once but again and again. Why do I forget the adage "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!" No, instead, I just have to try new hacks. So now I have one processing content for an hour, and another doing a log out/log in to rebuild the data base. All because I wanted to try an alternative reader. Which I don't need! Grrr to me. I need to quit playing with my toys and read more!

The other two Kobos are safe...I just hope I have learned my lesson! You'd think I wouldn't mess with them again after the last time, but a new version was released, so I had to try it. Worked at first, then major fail. Hopefully I won't have to factory reset them, did that last week darn it.

So let this be a lesson, to me, at least! Kobo is a perfect reader so don't mess it up!

Date Posted: 2/15/2015 10:26 AM ET
Member Since: 4/22/2005
Posts: 5,474
Back To Top

At least you can do more than just turn it on and read. I can barely figure out Calibre and I wouldn't know how to hack anything if someone held a gun on me, lol.

Date Posted: 2/15/2015 10:31 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

What kind of reader do you use, Mary?

Date Posted: 2/15/2015 11:05 AM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2007
Posts: 11,442
Back To Top

I've never tried hacking one of my ereaders either Mary.  Calibre I use for stripping the DRM from my ebooks and tagging them how I want, other than that, not much.

Date Posted: 2/15/2015 12:07 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

I am going to have to factory reset at least one of them. Waiting for the other to finish processing then I'll know if I have to factory reset that one, too. Dag nab it.

Only had to reset my Glo. The Aura is fine, now. So now the Glo has to be reloaded. The processing tends to take a long time. At least my Aura is ready to go.



Last Edited on: 2/15/15 3:04 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 3/1/2015 7:54 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Well, after a fall, the Aura is broken. Oh, it still works, but 85% of the screen is frozen. Darn it! I really liked the size of that little reader.



Last Edited on: 3/1/15 7:54 AM ET - Total times edited: 1