Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Wrapper Printing Issue

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Wrapper Printing Issue
Date Posted: 12/2/2009 12:01 AM ET
Member Since: 9/13/2006
Posts: 28,497
Back To Top

I use Firefox as my browser and today everytime I have tried to print a wrapper it crashes Firefox .  I have to wiat to restore Firefox and then print the backup wrapper.  Is anyone else having or had this problem?

Date Posted: 12/2/2009 12:26 AM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2009
Posts: 1,452
Back To Top

LaVonne--I use Firefox, and I was able to print two labels this evening without any problem.  Hope it starts working for you.

Date Posted: 12/2/2009 2:05 AM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,177
Back To Top

I have no problems printing out of Firefox or Internet Explorer...best wishes 

Cathy A. (Cathy) - ,
Date Posted: 12/2/2009 10:08 AM ET
Member Since: 12/27/2005
Posts: 4,132
Back To Top

Is the problem occurring when Firefox tries to launch the Adobe Reader window? If so, this problem is on your computer, not with the site. You should go to Help / Check for Updates in Firefox to make sure you're running the latest version. If you've recently installed any Add-ons or 3rd party toolbars remove them.

If that doesn't work, go to www.adobe.com and click the Get Adobe Reader button.

Date Posted: 12/2/2009 12:49 PM ET
Member Since: 11/5/2009
Posts: 1,083
Back To Top

If your system is having problems with Acrobat, here's how to solve it.  Hold down the CTRL and ALT keys and then hit the Delete Key.  This will bring up Windows Task Manager.  Go to the "Processes" tab and sort by Image Name.  Look for Acrobat.exe.  Highlight it and then hit the "End Process" key.

Acrobat is notorious for leaving a "phantom" copy of the program open and sometimes this interfers with a browser being able to bring up a PDF.  This is especially true if you have a full version of Acrobat on your syste, not just the reader.  If you have a full version, it's best to uninstall the reader because it will conflict with the full version.

 

 

Date Posted: 12/2/2009 3:01 PM ET
Member Since: 9/13/2006
Posts: 28,497
Back To Top

Yes -  the problem is occuring when I launch to Adobe.  I will try the steps outlined and see if it takes care of the problem. 

Date Posted: 12/2/2009 3:33 PM ET
Member Since: 9/13/2006
Posts: 28,497
Back To Top

I just downloaded the lastest version of Adobe and the wrapper printed just like I was use to having them print.  Hooray!    PBS friends are wonderful with all their help.