Book Reviews of Wyoming Widow (Wyoming, Bk 1) (Harlequin Historicals, No 657)

Wyoming Widow (Wyoming, Bk 1) (Harlequin Historicals, No 657)
Wyoming Widow - Wyoming, Bk 1 - Harlequin Historicals, No 657
Author: Elizabeth Lane
ISBN-13: 9780373292578
ISBN-10: 0373292570
Publication Date: 5/1/2003
Pages: 304
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

4 stars, based on 29 ratings
Publisher: Harlequin
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

2 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Wyoming Widow (Wyoming, Bk 1) (Harlequin Historicals, No 657) on + 3389 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Cassandra Logan is a pregnant widow who is desperate. She can't find work and facing being on the streets, she schemes the Tolliver family to provide a roof over her head and a place for her child. She tells the family that their missing son and brother is the father of her child, after she notices that he bears a striking resemblence to her dead husband. Soon, she finds herself in love with Morgan Tolliver, still lying the entire time.
reviewed Wyoming Widow (Wyoming, Bk 1) (Harlequin Historicals, No 657) on + 1156 more book reviews
The plot of this book required me to suspend disbelief that a God-fearing woman could concoct and brazenly lie about such a serious matter as the father of her unborn child. The author did spend time explaining that Cassandra Riley would do ANYTHING for her child.

Morgan Tolliver surprised me with his willingness to allow Cassandra to stay while he checked her story. Again, the author did a great job explaining the animosity between Cassandra and Morgan and the angst Cassandra felt while continuing to lie.

Once the reader gets past those two boulders in the road, the rest of the book is fascinating. There are unusual characters aplenty in this story. The subplot about Morgan helping his Chinese cook import 2 brides for his adult sons was interesting and unusual.

This was a story I couldn't put down until I finished it.

Wyoming Series
1. Wyoming Widow (2003)
2. Wyoming Wildcat (2003)
3. Wyoming Woman (2004)
4. Wyoming Wildfire (2006)