Book Reviews of YEARWOOD (Finnbrach Trilogy, Vol 1)

YEARWOOD (Finnbrach Trilogy, Vol 1)
YEARWOOD - Finnbrach Trilogy, Vol 1
Author: Paul Hazel
ISBN-13: 9780553266818
ISBN-10: 0553266810
Publication Date: 4/1/1987
Edition: Reissue
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.

3.5 stars, based on 4 ratings
Publisher: Spectra
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

2 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed YEARWOOD (Finnbrach Trilogy, Vol 1) on + 774 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Scandinavian/Celtic myth-influenced tale.
The trilogy reminded me rather a lot of A.A. Attanasio's Arthurian fiction - a comparison I haven't seen elsewhere, but that I nonetheless feel is rather apt.
They take an unusual view of myth, playing with time and reality...
The first book, Yearwood, with its giants, heroes and witches could almost be straight from the Mabinogion. The second, Undersea, is more experimental, playing with multitudes of identities and the concepts related to how mythological figures and gods can be conflated over time.
The third, Winterking, is strikingly different - but, I thought, more entertaining - moving the characters and concepts into an alternate American of indeterminate (but more modern) time. An immortal man conspires to keep him immortality secret, while pursued by the keepers of his fortune, the women who may love him, and the god of death himself....
reviewed YEARWOOD (Finnbrach Trilogy, Vol 1) on + 18 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Excellent book, beginning of an intense, atmospheric, dark and enthralling series. Some of the most undeservedly unknown stuff out there in the fantasy world, IMHO.