Jeanne D. (jeepers) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 11/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fun, mostly light read. I enjoyed being with these women and their book group. I even put some of their books on my "to read" list. Many of the books I had read many years ago. It was interesting to move through 30 years of the book club, pop culture and history that I, too, had lived.


Anna Karenina
Anna Karenina
Author: Leo Tolstoy, Richard Pevear (Translator), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 5/28/2006


The original soap opera! Good story with lots of twists and turns.


An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England
An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England
Author: Brock Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I emerged at the end of this strange, confusing, narrative sad and frustrated about "the human condition". I really enjoyed the frequent personification of, say, weather elements or other inanimate objects that gave the sense that everything has emotions or feelings. This tool was used throughout the novel by Clarke in a most effective and humorous way to convey's Sam's perceptions about his experiences. This bazaar tale of one man's profound ability (or disability) to always make the wrong choices in any given situation clarifies that we really do create our own life and circumstances. By the end of the book and after reading the Q & A and discussion sections of the book, I felt that Brock Clarke was poking fun at me for even finishing the book. Of course, the other joke on the reader is, if one reads to the conclusion, is the hope that one holds that the ending will be a good one and not the sad, twisted, disappointing, dishonest ending that is finally reached. I really liked Sam Pulsifer in the way on likes the runt of a litter and really hoped for better for him. That he ended up in worse shape at the end than the beginning without learning much along the way was frustrating. One hopes is that he is simply a harmless oaf who hurt no one but himself. The irony is that in his career, he "invented" many of the items of plastic junk that will possibly be the eventual downfall of our earth's environment and humankind itself. So it seems, he wasn't so much of a harmless oaf after all, but a very lethal one, by "accident". Kind of like the human race itself.


Bigamists Daughter
Bigamists Daughter
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/23/2007


This is an interesting read. As Elizabeth Connelly digs into the past to uncover the mystery of her father's life, she discovers the truth about herself and her relationships to the other men in her life.


Blue Diary
Blue Diary
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 5/28/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Full of suspense, but better character development than most "suspense" novesl.


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 8/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very interesting perspective of an Afghan home and family. The challenges faced by the women, especially, are hard to imagine. The male head of the household rules completely. All others (including sons and less important brothers)are treated as slaves. Eye opening and fascinating true story.


Child of My Heart
Child of My Heart
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 1/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very sweet and well written book. The main character,15 year old, Theresa, seems to have the deep wisdom of an old soul. Her uncanny ability to relate to children and animals enables her to draw her shy, fragile cousin, Daisy to emerge from her shell and enjoy the most special summer of her life.


Cry, The Beloved Country
Cry, The Beloved Country
Author: Alan Paton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 8/24/2006


This is an incredible story; very moving and emotionally powerful. Its' universal themes are possibly more meaningful now even then in the time it was written. A must read for every human on the planet!


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4416
Review Date: 11/30/2006


This is a fascinating look at the way a person with autism views the world. It has humor, mystery, sadness and joy. Beautifully written and a delight to read.


Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man
Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 7/3/2006


This is a very fun book! A great, light summer read.


Do Drums Beat There?
Do Drums Beat There?
Author: Doe Tabor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/14/2006


Interesting story. I learned many aspects of the Native American Movement and the occupation of Alcatraz that I never had heard about before. I appreciated the main character, Ritta's, vulnerability that helped her evolve from a frightened teenager to a young woman. She discovered that she was a woman with a deep sense of strength and courage at her very core.


The Dogs of Babel
The Dogs of Babel
Author: Carolyn Parkhurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/26/2006


This is a book that will stay with me a long time. There is sadness, humor, mystery and suspense. Most importantly it is a story of healing and acceptance. Carolyn Parkhurst skillfully moves Paul, the main character, along with the reader through the process of recovering from the sudden and shocking death of his wife. I was very moved by this book and recommend it highly.


Emma's Table
Emma's Table
Author: Philip Galanes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/16/2009


Author, Philip Galanes, has a very special ability of delving into his characters psyche's and creating story around them using minimal actual history. His characters come alive from the inside out and one senses from the beginning that even Emma has a compassionate heart beneath her chilly exterior. Voices from the past (and present, in the case of Gracie) guide each character in their actions and reactions to each other and life's circumstances in general. Galanes demonstrates in his story how one simple act of kindness, i.e. Emma's need to find a Nakashima table for Mr. Tanaguchi,because of her own guilt of "stealing" her table at auction, can become the tipping point to opening a whole new world of compassion, understanding and acceptance, not just for Emma, but for all those around her.


Empire Falls
Empire Falls
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 5/28/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this one. I developed a real connection to many of the characters. Hated for it to end.


A Fine Balance
A Fine Balance
Author: Rohinton Mistry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 325
Review Date: 5/28/2006


This was an intense, compelling story.


Follow the River
Follow the River
Author: James Alexander Thom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 4/4/2009


I can't believe that so many people rave about this book. I found it to be tediously painful to read. Trudge, trudge, trudge; bad thing happens. Trudge, trudge, trudge; bad thing happens. I admit that it took tremendous strength and courage to live through all that happened. It just was all so depressing. Thom's writing is cliche strewn and his Native Americans are portrayed as if they are straight out of a 50's western. I read this book because it was recommended by several relatives. I bought a few Thom books, read this one and got rid of all the others because I thought this was so poorly written.


Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Author: Susan Vreeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 326
Review Date: 11/21/2006


Fascinating story of the life of Vermeer painting. Makes one think and imagine the stories all the old things around us could tell if they could speak. Well researched and a delight to read.


Half Broken Things
Half Broken Things
Author: Morag Joss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really loved this book! The story is very artfully developed as well as the characters. Morag Joss creates characters to whom the reader can relate and really care about regardless of their crimes. Great read!


The Hottest State
The Hottest State
Author: Ethan Hawke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/30/2006


I liked this book. It was if one was watching a friend in a realationship that made no sense to anyone but the couple and then watching it deteriorate as you thought it would. William nearly loses his mind when he is shunned by Sarah and nearly loses himself. But he survives as he takes another step on his journey toward adulthood.


The House at Riverton
The House at Riverton
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 12/31/2010


This was such a great story! I loved the main character, Grace, who fits her name to perfection. It demonstrates well some aspects of the huge cultural changes in England that took place during the last century in regards to class and the rights of women. It tells the story of a women who began service in a Lord's manor as a young girl and follows her till the end of her life. This is the first of Kate Morten's books that I have read and I am eager to read more.


1 to 20 of 36 - Page: