annakanga - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Babes in Captivity
Babes in Captivity
Author: Pamela Redmond Satran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Cute, typical chic-lit kind of novel.


Beautiful Stranger
Beautiful Stranger
Author: Hope Donahue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fascinating, sad, and interesting all at the same time.


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 17


I am a fan of Chris Bohjalian, having read several of his previous books. I have especially always liked the thoughtful treatment he gives complex and delicate issues. This book, unfortunately, was a big disappointment. It's over 400 pages long, and easily could have been half this if it was pared down to the essential issues. For some reason, he found it necessary to examine even the smallest details from each character's point of view, which got very tedious, particularly when each person had a similar take on the situation. Additionally, he found it important to go over and over and over the same issues - there is a big secret that the girl who shot her father is hiding and she and her cousin discuss it ad nauseum. Again, I found this very tedious. I ended up skimming the last 100 pages and still feel like I didn't miss anything. My final criticism is that he didn't follow that writer's axiom - write what you know. He clearly knows very little about adolescent girls - other than that they are *boy crazy*!!!) and it showed.


The Feast of Love
The Feast of Love
Author: Charles Baxter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


It takes awhile to get into this one, but a good read once you understand the structure of the book. It goes back and forth between the stories of several different people, all of whom intersect at points.


Girl, Interrupted
Girl, Interrupted
Author: Susanna Kaysen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 710
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Better than the movie, as books always are! A fascinating read about one woman's experiences coping with mental illness and psychiatric wards in the 1960s.


The Grilled Cheese Madonna and 99 Other of the Weirdest, Wackiest, Most Famous eBay Auctions Ever
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Want to know why that woman wasn't allowed to sell Britney Spears' hair on ebay? This book will give you the answer.


Halfway House (An Evergreen book)
Halfway House (An Evergreen book)
Author: Katharine Noel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/16/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I had to force myself to finish this one. It is an interesting story but kind of drags. Also, the author doesn't clearly explain the progression of the main character's disease which I found frustrating. She got really ill in certain parts of the book without giving enough context around why that happened; jumping forward in time in huge leaps.


A Model Summer
A Model Summer
Author: Paulina Porizkova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/10/2008


This is a great book. You would not think that an ex-super model could put two words together, let alone write a book this compelling. I read the 300+ pages in two days, I could not put it down.


My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 734
Review Date: 2/28/2007


Not sure if you'll like this one? Check out her show on E! If you like her show, you'll like this book.


Savannah from Savannah
Savannah from Savannah
Author: Denise Hildreth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I bought this in Savannah, where the book takes place. It's a cute book, although the main character can get a little annoying because she is flighty and a bit of a drama queen! But then again, aren't we all?


Second Helpings (Jessica Darling, Bk 2)
Second Helpings (Jessica Darling, Bk 2)
Author: Megan McCafferty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A cute read, but if you haven't read the prequel (Sloppy Firsts), I would do so before reading this one, or it might be a bit confusing.


Solve Your Child's Sleep Problems: New, Revised, and Expanded Edition
Review Date: 5/26/2010


I can't say enough good things about this book. Dr. Ferber's techniques are excellent. My (then four month old) son went from waking around 8 times a night to waking only once (to eat) thanks to this book. He now sleeps through the entire night without waking. The followers of Dr. Sears may tell you that this book is "harmful" to your child because it advocates some crying to achieve better sleep. In my opinion, a baby and parent who are not sleeping is far more damaging than a bit of crying. This book is great!


1 to 12 of 12