Chris R. (Cantnever) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 162 - Page:
ADD-Friendly Ways to Organize Your Life
ADD-Friendly Ways to Organize Your Life
Author: Judith Kolberg, Kathleen Nadeau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I am delighted with this book. It is far better than I imagined. It will be life changing for me - I can see that already - and I don't say that lightly. I have seen/read many books on the topic. THIS ONE is what I needed. Thanks to PBS - I now have it.


All-Terrain Bicycling
All-Terrain Bicycling
Author: Charles Ira Coombs
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 8/6/2007


The all-terrain, or mountain, bicycle is the newest development in cycling.
Charles Coombs has written a comprehensive guide for young readers to this exciting new sport.
Included in the books are overs seventy photographs--action shots as well as photographs explaining the parts of an all-terrain bicycle and demonstrating riding and repair skills. - from the dust jacket


An Amish Christmas (Brides of Amish Country, Bk 3) (Love Inspired, No 601)
An Amish Christmas (Brides of Amish Country, Bk 3) (Love Inspired, No 601)
Author: Patricia Davids
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/16/2010


A simple story. Probably like others - but I found it to be special. The characters caught your heart and made you care. Possibly with the Amish setting, it does not hark back to Betty Neels books to anyone but me. But I loved it and would recommend it highly for those like me who love this genre.


An Amish Christmas (Brides of Amish Country, Bk 3) (Love Inspired, No 601) (Larger Print)
Review Date: 12/16/2010


A simple story. Probably like others - but I found it to be special. The characters caught your heart and made you care. Possibly with the Amish setting, it does not hark back to Betty Neels books to anyone but me. But I loved it and would recommend it highly for those (like me) who love this genre.


Arm & Hammer Baking Soda:  Over 100 Helpful Household Hints
Arm & Hammer Baking Soda: Over 100 Helpful Household Hints
Author: Christine Halvorson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An attractive and practical guide to using a very natural, safe product for a vast number of uses in the home. Spiral hard cover book.


The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl
The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl
Author: Barry Lyga
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/22/2008


This was a fascinating book for me. Not my usual choice, but riveting. I was interested in it because of the author who I had read about in our local paper. The topic being bullying. Fresh (to me) and I couldn't put it down. Recommend. Obviously not all readers will love this book, but I thoroughly enjoyed the characters. Not for young children, although children of todays public schools may find this old news and hardly shocking.


Aunt Crete's Emancipation and Beggarman (Grace Livingston Hill, No 98)
Review Date: 9/10/2007


I don't usually like Grace Livingston Hill's stories. This one was different, and I really enjoyed it. A lovely story.


The Baby Quilt (Heartsong Presents, #566)
The Baby Quilt (Heartsong Presents, #566)
Author: Joyce Livingston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I just finished this book, and I really liked it. The elements of the story made it very appealing to me... Set in Alaska, quilt shop and making of a baby quilt. A simple story that is enjoyable. I liked it so much I wish the author would write a sequel.


The Bachelor's Cat: A Love Story
The Bachelor's Cat: A Love Story
Author: L. F. Hoffman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/28/2007
Helpful Score: 4


The sparse use of words, the feeling and truth, and the growth of a lonely man, are equally compelling in this scrap of a book. The kitten (as small as my hand) is a sweet component of this love story. I highly recommend it.


The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
Author: Barbara Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/2/2007


A favorite at our house. Dad loves this book too!


Bil My Little Raccoon
Bil My Little Raccoon
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/31/2007


This is a sweet paperback book about adopting and releasing Bil the raccoon. The illustrations are so appealing. Apparently a true story copyright 1978. The dedication says: "To My Family -- who share my loving concern for all wildlife . . . and shared with me the adventures of Bil." Highly recommend; I am 62 and loved the story, although I understand that keeping a raccoon - especially an adult -- can be tricky and even dangerous.


Bob's Busy Day (Pop-Up Book)
Bob's Busy Day (Pop-Up Book)
Author: Mary Man-Kong
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/11/2007


This Golden Book BOARD BOOK is by Mary Man-Kong. It has pop-up large construction-type equipment on each of the four (4) board pages between the two covers. Each open page also has a small window that opens to expand the picture. Bright colors, sturdy. Published in 2001. It measures 6.25" (horizontal) x 4.5" (vertical) x .4" (width).


Bumblebees Fly Anyway: Defying the Odds at Work and Home
Review Date: 6/27/2007


Thelma Wells is an interesting lady who learned things we all need to know about trusting the Lord, rising above our circumstances. Her life seems to be a testament to those who encouraged her and loved her. I'm glad I 'met' her through this book. And I always loved the idea that the bumblebee flies when it's aerodynamically impossible!


Cartoon Animation: Instructional Handbook
Review Date: 8/18/2007


Interesting book. Includes "Making a Flip Book", and "Making a Zoetrope". Chock full of basic instruction on Cartoon Animation.


The Case of the Fiery Fingers (Perry Mason)
The Case of the Fiery Fingers (Perry Mason)
Author: Erle Stanley Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/26/2007


There are 245 pages in this book, since the ISBN is shortened I am unable to change the number of pages listed in error, except in this format.


Cat Tales: Lessons in Love from Guideposts
Review Date: 7/24/2008


I really enjoyed this book. Short chapters each stand alone, various tales about cats and their people. (Marion Bond West wrote several chapters - she's a favorite author of mine.) Touching, encouraging and meaningful, especially to cat lovers. Recommend.


A Chorus of One (Heartstong Presents, No 613)
A Chorus of One (Heartstong Presents, No 613)
Author: Janice Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/11/2007


A girl with musical talent engaged to a non-musical fellow. He doesn't understand her calling to serve in her gifted arena. I liked the way she was loyal to her fiance, even when it seemed he would never understand. A man who also loves music and is a Christian - complicate matters further. Satisfying conclusion.


Christian Life New Testament With Master Outlines
Christian Life New Testament With Master Outlines
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/20/2009


The print is readable, it's a small size (handy for pocket or purse). I'm very pleased with my copy. It's a blessing. 5 star!


City of Light, City of Dark
City of Light, City of Dark
Author: Avi, Brian Floca (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/4/2009


I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and depth of this story. I shouldn't have been because AVI stories are top notch.

The illustrations (in black and white) at first seemed sparse, but as I got into the story they were very expressive. The characters were well defined. I am delighted to have found this beautiful and touching story.

It was great. And not just for youngsters either - I am in my 60s.


Come October (Harlequin Next, No 15)
Come October (Harlequin Next, No 15)
Author: Patricia Kay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/9/2007


This story had me going. I almost put it down at one point, but I had to know the ending. I loved the characters - all of them. I even wished for a sequel. Recommend.


1 to 20 of 162 - Page: