Gina S. (titus245) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Age of Innocence
The Age of Innocence
Author: Edith Wharton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/29/2007


great read. was not too sure about half way thru when i realized what story line was. when i got to the end i was cheering and sobbing! now i know why this story is so well loved.


Allergies: Questions You Have...Answers You Need
Allergies: Questions You Have...Answers You Need
Author: Jennifer Hay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/27/2008


This book is packed full of information that will help you understand allergies and their treatments. It is in a format that is very easy to read and understand.


The Big Book of Home Learning: Getting Started
The Big Book of Home Learning: Getting Started
Author: Mary Pride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


all time best homeschool help book. must have, must read for new homeschoolers and those who need a breath of fresh air!


Can You Trust Your Doctor?: The Complete Guide to New Age Medicine and Its Threat to Your Family
Review Date: 2/17/2009


I have not read this book but quotes from an author who uses it as a source have been inaccurate. One quote in particular has the book citing a well known doctor as being against chiropractic while in fact he is for it! Before you read this book ask yourself, "Can I Trust This Author?"


Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America
Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America
Author: Jeff Pollard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/28/2009
Helpful Score: 3


The best book I've read on the subject of modesty from a Christian perspective. Jeff Pollard outlines what the Bible says, what God has to say about our clothing and how the fashion world and media dictates what we wear. He then challenges those who call themselves Christians to prayerfully re-asses what they wear and why.


Christmas with Paula Deen: Recipes and Stories from My Favorite Holiday
Christmas with Paula Deen: Recipes and Stories from My Favorite Holiday
Author: Paula Deen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 2/10/2009


This book would make a nice Christmas or Thanksgiving gift. It is a sweet compilation of Deen Family memories and recipe tradtions.


Gardener Looks at the Fruits of the Spirit
Gardener Looks at the Fruits of the Spirit
Author: W. Phillip Keller, P. Keller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/4/2007


Encouraging,practical look at the Christian life using gardening analogies. Beautifully written and easy to read.


I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships And Romance
Review Date: 9/14/2007
Helpful Score: 6


how refreshing! it is great to hear a young man say out loud what many of us are thinking. the modern dating habits that have even invaded the church are so destructive. i really appreciated the author's disclaimer that this was not a "how to" book but rather his story about how he came to some conclusions about the matter. rather than asking us to do what he does he is simply asking us to re-examine why we do what we do! the follow up Boy Meets Girl about how he met his wife and their courtship is a must read also!


The Kingdom of the Cults
The Kingdom of the Cults
Author: Walter Ralston Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The definitive resource for study of cults. Gives historical and theological evaluation based on biblical doctrine.


The Lady  Sons Just Desserts : More than 120 Sweet Temptations from Savannah's Favorite Restaurant
Review Date: 9/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


just bought this for my daughter and she LOVES cooking now! she made the grits pie first and let me tell you we just can't wait to buy her more of paula's cookbooks!


Let Me Be a Woman
Let Me Be a Woman
Author: Elisabeth Elliot
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great book written by Elisabeth Elliot to her daughter. Chapters are short and topics are varied leading one from a personal relationship with Christ thru life experiences as her daughter was anticipating marriage.


The Liberty of Obedience
The Liberty of Obedience
Author: Elisabeth Elliot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Elisabeth Elliot is one of my favorite authors. This is my least favorite of her books tho. It contains some of her first writings. Her style is wonderful but the content is a little confusing. Kind of like she was thinking thru subjects and came to no conclusion at all.


Life, as Viewed from the Goldfish Bowl
Life, as Viewed from the Goldfish Bowl
Author: Beverly Hyles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/21/2008


This book is a good read for women whose husbands are just starting out in the ministry. Sometimes it is a little hard to read but the advice comes from a lady who has "been there, done that". She shares what she has experienced and what worked for her and her husband.


No Greater Joy Vol. 1
No Greater Joy Vol. 1
Author: Michael Pearl, Debi Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/4/2007


Practical parenting advice. Fun to read. Lots of real life stories. The Pearls encourage parents to be firm yet "tie heart strings" or have fun and develop good relationships with their children.


Not Even a Hint : Guarding Your Heart Against Lust
Not Even a Hint : Guarding Your Heart Against Lust
Author: Joshua Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Awesome book dealing specifically with lust but can be applied to any temptation. Full of practical advice for anyone. Easy to read, like talking to a friend.


Out to Canaan (Mitford Years, Bk 4)
Out to Canaan (Mitford Years, Bk 4)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 357
Review Date: 4/25/2007


I want to live in Mitford!


The Screwtape Letters
The Screwtape Letters
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/8/2008


another classic from c s lewis. i did not finish the book however. i decided i didn't want to spend that much time imagining what satan is up to.


Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is) : Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World
Review Date: 2/6/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Another wonderful Josh Harris book. He deals plainly with the problems lust causes. This is a reprinting of the book originally titled "Not Even a Hint". I think I prefer the second title. It is more straight forward and states what many feel but few have been able to put into words! Sex is NOT the problem! Josh gives readers a clear understanding of what the problem is and easy to comprehend (but of course challenging to do!) solutions to the problem. A must read for teens and adults of all ages who want to get a hold of their thought lives and overcome the sex saturated culture we live in.


Till Morning is Nigh (Wortham Family, Bk 4)
Till Morning is Nigh (Wortham Family, Bk 4)
Author: Leisha Kelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/6/2009


A wonderful addition to Leisha Kelly's Wortham Family Series. Till Morning Is Nigh takes place after Emma's Gift and is a short story about the Wortham and Hammond Christmas of 1932. The story and is sweet and encouraging despite the depressing circumstances the characters find themselves in. The back cover title "A Christmas of Healing" aptly describes the plot. Once again Leisha Kelly was able to create a wonderful celebration that I found myself taking notes on! The ideas for a simple, meaningful Christmas celebration got me thinking how I could incorporate the ideas into our own family's traditions!


To Train Up A Child
To Train Up A Child
Author: Michael & Debi Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/14/2007


not sure what kind of filter lindsey is reading the Pearl's material thru. i can not find her accusations anywhere in all of the extensive reading i have done in their books and their web site. if you are looking for child training info, by all means read the pearl's material for yourself. in my opinion they give a well balanced approach to training (not disciplining!) children. if you disagree with what they advocate, swap the book!


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: