Tobreth H. (tobreth) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Animal Farm
Animal Farm
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1183
Review Date: 1/29/2013


good book - being a child of the cold war it probably wasn't as shocking as it was to the original audience.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1034
Review Date: 11/13/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book is all about the power of words - but it a it so long before saying so..The imagery is wonderful. The relationships strong. Just truly amazing. So glad I read it - and how could a movie possibly touch it? I think it was one of those "books to read before it is movie"suggestions and - just, how? How could they do it justice. How an they show a sky the color of Jews? How could they show the taste of a sound? How can they do silver eyes?


Cheaper by the Dozen
Cheaper by the Dozen
Author: Frank B. Gilbreth, Ernestine Gilbreth Carey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/21/2011


This was okay book. Nothing that was going to stick with me forever.


Children of the Mind (Ender, Bk 4)
Children of the Mind (Ender, Bk 4)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 2/13/2012


My least favorite of the four - but still worth reading I think. Agree that the God Whispers are excellent.


A Clockwork Orange
A Clockwork Orange
Author: Anthony Burgess
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/28/2011


He makes some interesting points about the divine free agency and about gov't corruption but the main character is horrible. Someone who loves hurting Others and He kind of wins. So not one I would recommend. The not real words slang the author creates also breaks up the flow. You have to look them up in the back of The book too often.


Duma Key
Duma Key
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 456
Review Date: 3/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Not my favorite of all his books but he is such a great story teller - it is still really enjoyable. The personal interactions are excellent and only when he gets to the end (the bad guy part) was it less than totally great for me.


Ender's Game (Ender Quartet)
Ender's Game (Ender Quartet)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 1/26/2012


great book!


Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Author: Jonathan Safran Foer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 12/17/2013


so wonderful but the end left something to be desired. not full closure.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 4/8/2012


A good story. Lots of time shifts but not usually too hard to follow. Nicely done.


A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 1)
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 1)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 769
Review Date: 12/5/2013


excellent book - too bad in such high demand - i might have to fork out actual money for it - the wait list kills me.

Each chapter is told about one person specifically. This means you hear about their story line and then move to another story line for a few chapters before getting back - but it helps you understand how it is all connected. It is not a complete story - as some serial books are. The characters are named by title, relationship, first name, last name and sometimes a nickname making it hard to keep them all straight but there is a thing at the end that helps clarify who is who but it is at the end,so by the time you get there, it is pretty much all clear. If I had known, I might have used it earlier.

Very gripping. Lots of deaths of beloved characters. This isn't a "good guy wins" kind of deal.


The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 976
Review Date: 7/25/2011


Interesting and thought provoking - but the end was odd. Possible spoiler but why does that one memory become his own?


Horns
Horns
Author: Joe Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 12/7/2013
Helpful Score: 1


good - some interesting thoughts on theology - gripping from the get go - found the actual end less than clear but a neat a tidy ending


Kushiel's Avatar (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 3)
Kushiel's Avatar (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 3)
Author: Jacqueline Carey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 8/6/2013


enjoyable - I think it is a good ending to the trilogy and that I will not read the other two I have seen floating around


Kushiel's Chosen (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 2)
Kushiel's Chosen (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 2)
Author: Jacqueline Carey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 329
Review Date: 6/11/2013


enjoyed - will request the next


Lady of Milkweed Manor
Lady of Milkweed Manor
Author: Julie Klassen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 1/23/2012


It was ok. It is a light romance but I still struggled with the part where the heroine is oblivious. The opening is very good and you get hooked. Enjoyable but nothing to rave about.


The Nanny Diaries
The Nanny Diaries
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1401
Review Date: 9/1/2011


fun. fluffy read.


Our Search for Happiness
Our Search for Happiness
Author: M. Russell Ballard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/21/2011


I enjoyed this book. Wish water had not gotten on it because now I cannot swap it back out. Maybe I will give to my sister.


Pastwatch: The Redemption of Christopher Columbus (Pastwatch, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/8/2013
Helpful Score: 1


What an amazing author and story teller and creator of worlds. Great book!


The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane
Author: Katherine Howe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/12/2013


enjoyable historical fiction type writing - though not exactly. Good guy versus bad guy. Some interesting comments on the PhD process - a process I will never do but imagine it was accurate. Nice mother-daughter pieces - but not overly much. Enjoyable light reading.


The Power of One
The Power of One
Author: Bryce Courtenay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 6/9/2012


Sometimes difficult to read emotionally. Well written, poignant, throughly excellent story-telling.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: