Mary H. (angelkityn) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Amazing Animal Alphabet: With Fantastic Flaps!
Amazing Animal Alphabet: With Fantastic Flaps!
Author: Richard Edwards
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/27/2011


This is one fantastic book! Each page has a letter and rhyming riddle about the animal's attributes, then says, "who am I?" and answers with the animal's name and picture under the flap. We read this to my 16 month old as one of his bedtime books.

It's a hardcover book, not a board book, but the flaps are easier to open than board book flaps, from my experience, and the pages are sturdy.


The Art of Metal Clay
The Art of Metal Clay
Author: Sherri Haab
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Awesome book, has a ton of really inspired projects as well as the basics on getting started with metal clay. I've read several metal clay books and this one has me the most excited over its projects!


Biscuit's Day at the Farm (My First I Can Read)
Review Date: 4/27/2011


Adorable book - I can see where it'd be great for beginning readers.


The Boleyn Inheritance
The Boleyn Inheritance
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 617
Review Date: 4/25/2011


I loved this book, a great follow-up to "The Other Boleyn Girl." The fact that it came from 3 points of view was a plus, in my opinion. Each character was well presented and the ending left me with goosebumps, even though I half-knew what to expect, based on history. I would recommend this one, after you read "The Other Boleyn Girl"!


Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
Author: Bill Martin Jr, Eric Carle (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 4/26/2011


Great book! We love the illustrations and the rhyme is adorable.


The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children, Bk 1)
The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children, Bk 1)
Author: Jean M. Auel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 613
Review Date: 4/25/2011


Excellent book, perhaps the best book I've ever read. I so wanted the second book to be as good, but it wasn't, in my opinion. The first one was fabulous though, full of detail and descriptions, social relationships, and the power of love and hatred.


Clap Your Hands (Sesame Street)
Clap Your Hands (Sesame Street)
Author: Joe Ewers (Illustrator)
Book Type: Other
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/1/2011


My toddler son LOVES the puppet. He always has a good time with this book.


The Everything Soapmaking Book: Recipes and techniques for creating colorful and fragrant soaps
Review Date: 4/25/2011


What a wonderful book on soapmaking! I'm a soapmaker and this book is spot-on. I love reading about the various essential oils especially. I'd recommend this to anyone interested in soapmaking!


Five Little Kitty Cats
Five Little Kitty Cats
Author: Janet Morgan Stoeke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/27/2011


Adorable counting book! My son is 15 months old and he loves the rhymes and pictures in this book


The Giving Bear (Winnie the Pooh First Reader)
The Giving Bear (Winnie the Pooh First Reader)
Author: Isabel Gaines
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/4/2011


Such a sweet book about giving to others. I'm glad we have it in our library of books.


Goodnight Moon
Goodnight Moon
Author: Margaret Wise Brown, Clement Hurd (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 4/26/2011


Hands-down, our favorite book. We've established a bedtime routine with our toddler and bedtime isn't complete without Goodnight Moon.


Hide-And-Seek Puppies (Magic Window)
Hide-And-Seek Puppies (Magic Window)
Author: Stewart Cowley
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/9/2011


Cute book! The windows add a lot of interest.


I Like Cats
I Like Cats
Author: Particia Hubbell, Patricia Hubbell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/26/2011


My 15 month old son LOVES this book. We have several cats in our house so we're always looking for cat books and this one is our favorite!


Me Talk Pretty One Day
Me Talk Pretty One Day
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1911
Review Date: 4/25/2011


This book is hysterical. I don't know of a funnier writer than David Sedaris. I've read this book twice and it leaves me in switches every time!


One Bear Lost
One Bear Lost
Author: Karen Hayles, Jenny Jones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/26/2011


This is one of my 15 month old son's favorite books. The rhymes could be better (they seem a little forced), but the pictures more than make up for it.


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2779
Review Date: 4/25/2011


Amazing book, I read at least 100 pages of it per night while I was reading it. I couldn't put it down. The twists and turns were riveting and I felt like I was there with Mary, feeling her emotions. The ending left me breathless, even though I knew what to expect from my history books - read this one!


The Other Queen
The Other Queen
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 5/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Slow in some parts, so I wasn't sure if I was going to finish it. But wow, I'm glad I continued, it got very exciting. I didn't know much at all about Mary Queen of Scots when I read this, and I found her to be a fascinating character.

I personally like it when 3 people tell the story (like in "The Boleyn Inheritance") - it's so interesting to see three different perspectives on one situation. I've read The Other Boleyn Girl, The Boleyn Inheritance, and the Other Queen (7 points of view between all of them) and I don't think I've found any 2 characters to be anything alike. That shows how good of a writer Ms. Gregory is, to have her characters all be so vastly different in their perspective.


The Runaway Bunny
The Runaway Bunny
Author: Margaret Wise Brown, Clement Hurd (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 5/3/2011


Beautiful illustrations. Truly a classic!


Sesame Street Elmo Loves Hugs!
Sesame Street Elmo Loves Hugs!
Author: Reader's Digest
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/27/2011


The rhyming seems a little forced, but my 15 month old doesn't care - perfect for little ones to pat, wave to, and "high five" the characters.


The Toddler's Busy Book
The Toddler's Busy Book
Author: Trish Kuffner, Liya Lev Oertel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/4/2011


So many good ideas... I've only read a few of them and I'm already excited to try them out on my 16 month old! I love the first chapter "Organization" with ideas for boxes full of things for different occasions.. like when you're busy in the kitchen, or in a line at the store, or on a rainy day. I can see already that this book will prove invaluable for us!


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: