Lynn P. (summerwhistler) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
365 Nights: A Memoir of Intimacy
365 Nights: A Memoir of Intimacy
Author: Betsy Thorpe, Charla Muller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/23/2009
Helpful Score: 5


What a great book! No, you won't find details of their intimate times together but you'll find that Charla is "every woman" and you can rejuvenate your relationships (not just marriages but any meaningful relationship) but offering the same thing she did - the gift of yourself.


Baby's First Christmas
Baby's First Christmas
Author: Cathy Gillen Thacker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/12/2008


Very sweet, romantic Christmas story with good characterizations and believable lives.


The Best Man (Blue Heron, Bk 1)
The Best Man (Blue Heron, Bk 1)
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 3/8/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Disappointed in this latest book. It took too long to get comfortable with the MANY characters and almost half of the book for there to be any real desire for each other between the two main characters. I was out the door to purchase this the day it became available. I may wait until I get the next release from PBS.com rather than purchase it outright.


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 879
Review Date: 4/11/2010


This is one of the best books I've ever read! Funny and engaging from start to finish! Jennifer Crusie - thank you so much for writing this book!


The Bossy Bridegroom (Heartsong Presents)
The Bossy Bridegroom (Heartsong Presents)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/19/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was a sometimes difficult book to read as it followed the path of a verbally and emotionally abusive husband and his timid, enabling wife as they worked to repair their marriage, with the added subplot of a daughter and the decision of whether to sign release papers for her to be adopted. Deeply religious in context, it was less of a romantic read than a look into how God can work to change you when you offer a willing heart.


Bury My Heart at Fun-Fun Mountain : A FoxTrot Collection
Bury My Heart at Fun-Fun Mountain : A FoxTrot Collection
Author: Bill Amend
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/27/2008


They're always good for a laugh!


Cole's Red-Hot Pursuit (Silhouette Desire, No 1874)
Cole's Red-Hot Pursuit (Silhouette Desire, No 1874)
Author: Brenda Jackson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/12/2008


Not as good as previous Brenda Jackson stories about the Westmorelands. Much of it seemed too contrived and the same theme seemed to keep repeating itself (he's kissed her once, he's kissed her twice now, he's kissed her three times . . . hard to believe this is a red-hot lover).


Daring Moves / Marriage on Demand
Daring Moves / Marriage on Demand
Author: Linda Lael Miller, Susan Mallery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The first story, "Daring Moves" by Linda Lael Miller was sophomoric and a throwaway. The second one, however, "Marriage On Demand" by Susan Mallery was worth the book. It was terrific, with good protagonists and lots of heart.


The Fred Factor: How Passion in Your Work and Life Can Turn the Ordinary into the Extraordinary
Review Date: 5/12/2008


Story about a great mailman . . . not one I ever had. Thin, thin, thin. I should write these books for a living - I have more business savvy.


The Gift: Home for Christmas / All I Want for Christmas / Gabriel's Angel
The Gift: Home for Christmas / All I Want for Christmas / Gabriel's Angel
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 5/12/2008


Ah, Nora's on top of her game with these three wonderful stories!


Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 10/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


An amazing look at the dawn of the computer industry with a little romance thrown in to add some heat. While fictional, it provides an enthralling snapshot of the atmosphere surrounding those garage techies of the west coast who birthed giants such as Apple Computer. Realistic romance (it's certainly not all hearts and flowers) in the midst of the realization of commercial success for four renegades who start with nothing and end with perhaps not all of their hearts' desires but a close facsimile. I highly recommend this fantastic read from Susan Elizabeth Phillips.


Long Time Coming
Long Time Coming
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/12/2008


When you're looking for a love story, Sandra Brown can always deliver. Interesting conflicts as the newly found father tries to find his place in the family structure.


My One and Only
My One and Only
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 5/20/2011


Not as easy a read as Ms. Higgins work in the past. I spent the first part of the book trying to understand/empathize with the lead character and then, when deeper insight was provided, found I was disturbed and had to put the book down for awhile. It's a good book with a lot of character development and you get to see someone really grow. Kristan Higgins is a remarkable author and she's written a strong book here.


The Quickie
The Quickie
Author: James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 594
Review Date: 5/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


VERY disappointed - big hole in plot if you're paying attention . . .


Seduced By The Enemy (Silhouette Desire)
Seduced By The Enemy (Silhouette Desire)
Author: Sara Orwig
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/12/2008


From back cover:

Between desire and deception . . .
The ruthless Texas multimillionaire was her most bitter business rival, and Abby Taylor knew she should hate everything about him. But no matter how hard she tried to forget him, Nick Colton still haunted her most intimate dreams.

She suspected there was a dark side to his slow, sensuous seduction. Yet she was powerless to control her desires when he was near. And she feared that Nick's betrayal, when it came, would shatter her forever . . .


Smart Mouth
Smart Mouth
Author: Erin McCarthy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 11/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I rarely stop reading a book once I've begun but this book fell into that category. You're immediately asked to believe that an FBI agent whose been reprimanded twice would allow a woman to continuously run over him as he tries to recoup an envelope left in a wrong car. Then, because they're both SO incredibly good looking, they have no choice but to immediately fall into bed together and he's going to work with her, a newspaper reporter, again, because they're both so beautiful. Too much. First Erin McCarthy book I've been disappointed with but it's a doozy.


1 to 16 of 16