Linda (waghowest) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Ammie, Come Home
Ammie, Come Home
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/20/2009


I enjoy all of Barb's books. This is an earlier book and has a great twist. Love every word. She is able to put her characters in front of you with such accuracy.


Arizona: The Beauty of It All
Arizona: The Beauty of It All
Author: Sam Negri
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/7/2009


exceptional photos


Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer, Bk 1)
Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer, Bk 1)
Author: Robin Hobb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 404
Review Date: 7/9/2010


I am thrilled that this is a series and I get to read two more books. Hobb has made a land and formed all characters and let us become part of the books she writes. I loved the Ship stories as well and they all intertwine.


Black Widow (Doc Ford, Bk 15)
Black Widow (Doc Ford, Bk 15)
Author: Randy Wayne White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 10/14/2009


Great read. Lots of intrigue and action. I just love Doc


Christopher Columbus and How He Received and Imparted the Spirit of Discovery
Review Date: 10/29/2009


His real name was Cristoforo Colombo
He was born in Genoa, Italy
His father was a weaver
The maximum speed of his ships was 4 MPH
The first voyage to the New World took two months 9 days.
the site of his landing in the New World was an island in the Bahamas
This book reveals the truth about the private and public life of the Hero of the Age of Discovery. You'll read his actual correspondence....see his sketches and personal maps...etc.
Represents an honest, well-documented search for truth about Columbus.
The author, Justin Winsor was a well respected man iof letter, historian, poet, literary critic, fiction writer and librarian at Harvard University. Originally issued in 1892, Winsor retraced every important aspect of Columbus's life.
A Great read.


Dead Silence (Doc Ford, Bk 16)
Dead Silence (Doc Ford, Bk 16)
Author: Randy Wayne White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/29/2010


Great Read. Cannot wait for the next one.


Deep Shadow (Doc Ford, Bk 17)
Deep Shadow (Doc Ford, Bk 17)
Author: Randy Wayne White
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A little disappointed in this book. I worked my way through it, but missed so much of what Randy Wayne White does best........the intrigue of Doc Ford. Too much information about biology and archeology. Some will love it, some will not. The story itself was good.....


The Falls (Inspector Rebus, Bk 12)
The Falls (Inspector Rebus, Bk 12)
Author: Ian Rankin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/1/2010


I am stuck on Rebus, getting all of the series from the beginning


Fifth Estate: Britain's Unions in the Seventies
Fifth Estate: Britain's Unions in the Seventies
Author: Robert Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2009


excellent ready, blast from the past


Forest Mage (Soldier Son Trilogy, Bk 2)
Forest Mage (Soldier Son Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Robin Hobb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/1/2011


Excellent, but Hobb always is


The Greatest Story Ever Told-Large Print
The Greatest Story Ever Told-Large Print
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2009


large print was helpful to my aging mom. she could read over and over.


Life Expectancy
Life Expectancy
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/5/2011


Another great book! I am never disappointed.


My Life
My Life
Author: Bill Clinton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 10/7/2009


Loved all of it


Review Date: 10/7/2009


Great teaching source for church Bible Study.


Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher, Bk 12)
Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher, Bk 12)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 3/1/2010


A real good read, love the Jack Reacher series


Other Worlds
Other Worlds
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/9/2009


I usually finish a Barbara Michaels in about 3 days. Not getting it at all.


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1166
Review Date: 8/16/2010


I started this book sometime ago and could not put it down. That was several years ago and now I want to read it again. Packed with lots of historical facts. This is a fantastic epic read.


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3404
Review Date: 9/14/2010


This book provides an incredible look into the mindset of the women during the times of the Old Testament. It helps us to understand why women were treated in a way that does not appeal to us today.

Best of all, it is a wonderful love story. After reading this I have been more open to studying the women of the Bible and I am able to visualize the toils and troubles of the that time for those same women.


A Streetful of People
A Streetful of People
Author: Winston M Estes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Winston Estes grew up in small Texas town of Quanah and the stories in this book are so real and funny. The characters are wonderful. If you grew up in small town and want to enjoy a nostalgic, hilarious ride, read this book. For example: " It was the duty of every concerned citizen to travel to Dallas to see whether it was true that algebra teacher Gussie Strickland was dancing on the runway at the state fair in nothing but a pair of shoes....."

I had the pleasure of meeting Estes while he was in Washington, D C. He went to school with my mother-in law and I listened for hours while they laughed and told stories of their time as school mates. Many of the stories are in this book.


Sundays at Tiffany's
Sundays at Tiffany's
Author: James Patterson, Gabrielle Charbonnet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 436
Review Date: 10/7/2009


Sweet read


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: