Stephanie S. (punkinema) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 306 - Page:
9 Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
9 Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 2/3/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This is a Harry Bosch detective story that is full of twists and turns that kept me glued to the book to its final conclusion. Harry and his partner get called to a liquor store murder which by all appearances is a store robbery gone bad. The clues point to a Chinese triad (gang) and Harry is even more convinced when he gets an anonymous call telling him to back off. To his horror, he receives a video of his teenage daughter tied up - problem is that she lives in Hong Kong with her mother. He knows time is short for his daughter and he gets the quickest flight to Hong Kong. Violence and dead bodies abound in Hong Kong and once he returns to L.A., even more conflicting details regarding the shooter come into play. I recommend Mr. Connelly's newest book to anyone who loves excitement and intrigue and twists.


Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 544
Review Date: 7/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


First book of series and first time I have read anything from this author. I really like the protagonist, Abby Cooper, as a psychic and person. Abby quite accidentally attracts a killer and runs from her intuition and for her life. She meets a police detective, Dutch, and tries very hard not to fall in love with him and he with her. So the book has everything: murder, mystery, intuition and romance. Great read!


The Accidental Florist (Jane Jeffry, Bk 16)
The Accidental Florist (Jane Jeffry, Bk 16)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 5/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Very disappointing Jane Jeffry book.....no real mystery and dull and boring. Sorry I ordered it.


All Mortal Flesh (Rev. Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne, Bk 5)
Review Date: 9/15/2008


A good friend finds a body at the home of the Van Alstyne's...a brutal, defacing murderer appears to be roaming the upper New York state community. Russ grieves with guilt and remorse. He discovers that even his friends have betrayed him. Finding the murderer is the goal of the police department but the state believes they are "covering up" for their own and sends a ruthless investigator who looks at Russ as the murdered. Russ's job is to find who did it and why.


The Alpine Advocate  (Emma Lord Bk. 1)
The Alpine Advocate (Emma Lord Bk. 1)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 2/21/2007


Beginning of the Alpine series by Ms. Daheim. Good read.


Alpine Christmas (Emma Lord, No 3)
Alpine Christmas (Emma Lord, No 3)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/16/2007


This is the third in the Emma Lord series and, as always, I enjoyed the book. The sheriff catches more than he bargained for when he goes fishing - a human leg. Later Emma and her brother Ben find a body and too many people are acting strangely in town. The perpetrator is the least suspected among the bizarre. Good read.


The Alpine Decoy (Emma Lord, Bk 4)
The Alpine Decoy (Emma Lord, Bk 4)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 2/23/2010


In this 4th Emma Lord book, the bigotry of a small town is revealed when a young black woman moves into Alpine. Besides getting hate mail and racist letters to the Advocate (Emma's newspaper), strange black men come into town and get themselves shot dead. Milo stubbornly suspects Marilynn (the newcomer) which leaves Emma and Vida to do the investigation. Whenever, I read the Emma Lord books, I get the feeling that Vida really runs the newspaper that Emma owns. :) However, in this book, I was introduced to more citizens of the fictional mountain town of Alpine. I got a much better feel of the place too. I so enjoy this series and started reading it several years ago but got out of order unfortunately. I recommend starting at the beginning! The perpetrator of the crimes really surprised me and I love that.


The Alpine Icon (Emma Lord, Bk 9)
The Alpine Icon (Emma Lord, Bk 9)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 2/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I thoroughly the Emma Lord mysteries and find I really like Emma. My advice? Start at the beginning (Alpine Advocate) and go through the alphabet with her. I didn't know ahead of time so I get a bit muddled with some of her books. All good to read though.


The Alpine Kindred (Emma Lord, Bk 11)
The Alpine Kindred (Emma Lord, Bk 11)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 4/30/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Emma has made an enemy of her old friend, Milo. She and Vida are on their own to find a killer who is as elusive as a ghost. Surprising ending and some shocking things happen to all my favorite characters. Loved it!


The Alpine Menace (Emma Lord Bk. 13)
The Alpine Menace (Emma Lord Bk. 13)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 5/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Instead of Alpine, Emma and Vida try to solve a murder in Seattle to help her long-lost cousin, Ronnie. In a tale of convoluted mothers and wannabe mothers, Emma and Vida try to untangle the knot of truth almost to their own undoing. As a result, Emma looks inward to her own sense of family. Good ending and, as always, I enjoyed the book. Kudos to Mary Daheim.


The Alpine Scandal (Emma Lord Bk. 19)
The Alpine Scandal (Emma Lord Bk. 19)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Emma Lord's trusty House and Home Editor, Vida Runkler gets an obituary on a long-time Alphine resident yet he is very much alive. Emma and Vida rush to his home and Polly, his wife, insists that Elmer is fine and has gone to work. However, he has not shown up at his job as a mechanic. They find a very dead Elmer in the hen house and they can't find anyone who has a motive to kill this well-liked resident. Ms. Daheim's books are always enjoyable and you hate to see the end. It's as if she is writing you a letter and you can't wait for the next one. Good read!


The Alpine Traitor  (Emma Lord, Bk 20)
The Alpine Traitor (Emma Lord, Bk 20)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/2/2009


The newest Alpine mystery for me and I enjoyed it as always. Lots of conspiracy this time and kept Emma guessing who was who. A man who was married to Tom's daughter telephoned Emma demanding that Emma sell the Advocate to their family. She didn't like his attitude or his idea and flatly refused him. The motel owner where he stayed in Alpine called 9-1-1 when the man was later found shot in his room. Very confusing for Milo and Emma to determine what happened. Her new cub reporter is abominable and exasperating which doesn't help. Lots of twists and turns in this one and I enjoyed it immensely.


American Conspiracies: Lies, Lies, and More Dirty Lies that the Government Tells Us
Review Date: 12/11/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Jesse Ventura pulls no punches in this book. While it was scary to read of all that government has done to it citizens, Jesse does offer solutions than just trying to scare us. Most importantly, he backs up his claims with hard facts, references, etc. Since the book was published, he went through all the hassle with TSA and the lawsuit. I have to wonder if he is now on a "watch list" because he is considered a "trouble-maker".


Answered Prayers
Answered Prayers
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 3/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Faith Madison - another wealthy heroine - finds herself face to face with her past. Pretty good....Ms. Steel's books are getting a little too predictable.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 431
Review Date: 6/1/2008


Good story about the extent of politics and big business. Sickening, however, when you realize how much power big business has over our courts and legislature.


Are You Afraid of the Dark?
Are You Afraid of the Dark?
Author: Sidney Sheldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 10/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


From the very first page of the book, you are on the edge of your seat. Great excitement and lots of surprises...you'll never know what's next.


The Arraignment (Paul Madriani, Bk 7)
The Arraignment (Paul Madriani, Bk 7)
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 12/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


As always, Steve Martini does not disappoint me in this book. Paul Madriani refuses to represent a man who he suspects is involved in drug trafficking. He and his friend part company right before the arraignment and both his friend and his client are shot in a drive-by shooting, or at least it appears that way. Paul feels some guilt and decides that he must find out what is going on and the task leads him through corporate law firms all the way to the dense jungle in Mexico. This was great and I was totally unprepared for who the "bad guy" was! Plenty of action, suspense and thrills in the book.


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 4/26/2008


wonderful, heartwarming story of a rector in a small South Carolina town. I hated for the book to end!


Balance of Power (Op-Center, Bk 5)
Balance of Power (Op-Center, Bk 5)
Author: Steve Pieczenik, Tom Clancy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 1/17/2008


Book starts off with an assassination and the excitement just goes on from there. Hard to put down!


Baltimore Blues (Tess Monaghan, Bk 1)
Baltimore Blues (Tess Monaghan, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Lippman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 2/27/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first Tess Monaghan novel of the author's series. I enjoyed the character and all the twists and turns. Also good to learn more about Baltimore. :)


1 to 20 of 306 - Page: