Rose S. (ATraveler2) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
About Face (Guido Brunetti, Bk 18)
About Face (Guido Brunetti, Bk 18)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/4/2009


Excellent as always. Can't wait for the next one to come out next year! I have run out.


Acqua Alta (Guido Brunetti, Bk 5)
Acqua Alta (Guido Brunetti, Bk 5)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 11/18/2008


My second favorite (I think!) of Leon's - first being Death at La Fenice. Ironically, same characters from that one. Involves art theft this time.


Akimbo and the Elephants (Akimbo)
Akimbo and the Elephants (Akimbo)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very quick read, cute "Mini Mma Ramtswe" boy in the story. Nothing objectionable/gory though the story is about poachers. (Read to my 5 yo)


The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 11/3/2009


I liked the characters, but the story itself was a little confusing. I'm still not sure what the "link" is! lol All in all it was ok, I finished it but it took some self-prodding.

I was really turned off by what I felt was very blatant anti-Semetism. Since I have not read any of the Author's other work, I don't know if it is him or just the characters (almost all of them, it seems). Or maybe it is just that I am not used to the Arab side of the Arab/Israeli conflict being the one sympathized with. I read maybe one negative reference to Arabs... one. VS Tons negative towards Jews. ???


Angelina Jolie's: Notes from My Travels
Angelina Jolie's: Notes from My Travels
Author: Angelina Jolie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/25/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I found this to be inspiring and fascinating - not because it was written by Jolie, but rather due to her descriptions of the places and people she visited and the experiences she had. I really makes you think about how good your own life really is! As well as learning a lot, I gained a respect for Ms Jolie and all others that do UNHCR work.


The Autumn Castle (Europa Suite)
The Autumn Castle (Europa Suite)
Author: Kim Wilkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 9/29/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. It was a little predictable, as I figured out a major plot point a little early, but I am glad the way it turned out in the end. It was an interesting and engrossing read, hard to put down to do other things... Some people may not like how it ties up so neatly at the end, but I liked that it. (And didn't leave me wondering like Giants of the Frost did!) Looking forward to reading another Wilkins.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 870
Review Date: 7/23/2009


I felt this was an excellent, engrossing book. I had trouble putting it down for real life! I did not like the epilogue though, it was... not right. I will be trying more of her books.


The Boleyn Inheritance
The Boleyn Inheritance
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 617
Review Date: 4/15/2008


Enjoyed this one as well. I partically liked the way she wrote this one, from three points of view of the primary characters - two of the Queens and Jane Bolyen (Rochford), the lady in waiting to them and the first two Queens. Sometimes funny, sometimes very sad, sometimes ick. (I do hope that PG got some facts wrong with this one, particularly in re the age of Katherine... otherwise huge ick there...) I really enjoyed Anne of Cleves and hope to find more about her. What an interesting person, so lucky and ahead of her time!


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3516
Review Date: 1/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


My favorite of the series. Enjoyed the story much more in this one and the evolution of the story, the way the threads and little details all tied in at the end. Good resolution to the series. Also liked the fact that Bella finally sprouts a pair, ahem I mean gets some confidence and becomes a stronger character.


Cleopatra's Daughter
Cleopatra's Daughter
Author: Michelle Moran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 2/11/2012


I enjoyed this book, only dislike was a sortof immature feel which I attributed to the age of the narrator. Look forward to reading more by this author. If you like Historical Fiction you will like this. Hint though, don't read the real people bits in the back, it will ruin a plot point - though it was a pretty easy one to figure out early on.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1989
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was my first Sophie Kinsella and liked it ok. I got annoyed with the character making such stupid choices/mistakes, and I personally can't relate to her love of shopping, but she was forgivable and supposedly grows from it all. I said "supposedly" because I ordered all the other ones, only to read the backs - same problems, Ms Shopaholic?! Listed them right back on the site. Will try the Undomestic Goddess though. Least that won't have anything to do with this character and her consumerism.


The Constant Princess
The Constant Princess
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 776
Review Date: 4/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very good. Fascinating woman!


The Courts of Love (Queens of England, Bk 5)
The Courts of Love (Queens of England, Bk 5)
Author: Jean Plaidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/18/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I could just not get into this one. I felt completely apathetic towards Eleanor and don't even care to see what happens to her... I'd sadly rather read about it in a textbook, since I found the personality Plaidy gave her to be rather horrid. So I have posted it and am moving on.


Dead Sexy (Garnet Lacey, Bk 2)
Dead Sexy (Garnet Lacey, Bk 2)
Author: Tate Hallaway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 6/10/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Started to read this one but was a little lost - I think you would need to read the first one first. She makes enough references to what had happened before that it makes it a little confusing. (Also the author either confuses/swaps the names of the two boyfriend characters at one point, or I REALLY need to read the first one first...) So I will wait and try again after I read the first one. Cute though, and I think it will be worth waiting/holding to start reading again. I'll review again when done. ;)


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2408
Review Date: 2/14/2010


LOVED IT! Was recommended to me by a friend, who described it as the Mother of the Vampire Love books genre and throughly enjoyed it. Can't wait to read the next one!

Oh, and my friend also recommended that I don't watch the TV series based on it - that the books are much better. (Which I find is usually the case.)

I do see a few similiarities to the Twilight series, which was a little disappointing to see those were not as original as I had thought.


Death at La Fenice (Guido Burnetti, Bk 1)
Death at La Fenice (Guido Burnetti, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/11/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This was my first Donna Leon and I loved it!! I look forward to reading many more of hers!


Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2873
Review Date: 12/31/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Still reading them...

Sorry, but this was my least favorite of the three I have read so far. Too long, and I felt the long triangle was too contrived and unrealistic. Ok, so everyone is in love with Bella. I get it.

I did like the cooperation of the groups and the resolution of the threat, though it took forever to get there. Also liked the Indian mythology.


Fatal Remedies (Guido Brunetti, Bk 8)
Fatal Remedies (Guido Brunetti, Bk 8)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 11/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Great, as usual! This one had some family discord that ended up tying in (loosely) with the crime. I liked how he (probably) got justice in the end, unlike most where the criminal gets away with it... I read this one in one night since the majority of it I just had to know what was going to happen next.


Four Seasons in Rome: On Twins, Insomnia, and the Biggest Funeral in the History of the World
Review Date: 11/4/2009


Cute, quick read. Nice descriptions of Rome.


French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating for Pleasure
French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating for Pleasure
Author: Mireille Guiliano
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/15/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Nothing revolutionary here, just common sense advice. Includes a few recipes and a lot of Francophile attitude.


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: