Sara - Reviews

1 to 20 of 91 - Page:
365 TV-Free Activities You Can Do with Your Child
365 TV-Free Activities You Can Do with Your Child
Author: Steve Bennett, Ruth Bennett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 1/25/2007


Great fun and can be a real lifesaver on cold, winter days! Oodles and oodles of ideas inside.


An Affair Before Christmas (Desperate Duchesses, Bk 2)
An Affair Before Christmas (Desperate Duchesses, Bk 2)
Author: Eloisa James
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 11/28/2007
Helpful Score: 6


So many story lines! Yet, they wove together nicely leaving me quite pleased at the end, albeit a bit breathless!

I was more intrigued with the secondary characters than Fletch & Poppy, but Elosia James at her worst (and this certainly is not her worst) is better than many of the "better" works in the genre ... I do look forward to the next installment.


After the Kiss
After the Kiss
Author: Karen Ranney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 4/20/2008
Helpful Score: 8


Either I'm blushing or this is just a hot flash, but who knew there could be such significance to a simple book cover?

What a story! Karen Ranney is quickly becoming one of my all-time favorite authors. Michael is the stuff of dreams: a self-possessed, perfectly composed model of cool decorum ... or so he believes himself until the facade crumbles to dust at the feet of his lady love.

The chemistry is there and it sizzles, yes, but that's not the main attraction. It's that the characters are so well written. There's depth here, and the author peels through the layers until we've unknowingly invested ourselves in the characters & their lives. The intense attraction between the couple is just buttercream icing on the cake.

I can see that I'll have to add another shelf to the library just to hold Karen Ranney's books. This was the second of her books I've read and it won't be leaving, either. ;)


After the Kiss  (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 1)
After the Kiss (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 7/26/2008
Helpful Score: 4


No, it wasn't perfect, and no, it's not staying on my Keeper Shelf, but this story does have some meat to it and in the end, it was a satisfying read and certainly held my attention.

I was relieved to see the main characters transform into likable adults. They were completely UNlikeable in the beginning. Hang in there, though, the ride does get smoother and the journey's end is worth it.


All I Desire
All I Desire
Author: Thea Devine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Started out quite interesting but quickly fell apart for me. I'm not a fan of mean-spirited men thinking the worst of their women. But, the "cursing" is certainly worth some laughs!


Always a Scoundrel
Always a Scoundrel
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 6/24/2009
Helpful Score: 5


Here's one to enjoy and is easily the best of the Notorious Gentlemen series.

Great story line. Engaging characters. It was easy to get completely caught up in the book despite the author's distracting penchant for ... ellipsis abuse.


Awaken, My Love
Awaken, My Love
Author: Robin Schone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Held my attention, but the characters are all rather unlikeable. Rather unpleasant overall.


Barely a Bride (Free Fellows League, Bk 1)
Barely a Bride (Free Fellows League, Bk 1)
Author: Rebecca Hagan Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 4/19/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I have two complaints about this book - the first would be that I couldn't put it down, pulled an all-nighter and am yawning fit to beat the band today, and second is that it ended TOO SOON.

The second reason is the ONLY reason that this book will be leaving my Keeper stash and going back into circulation. After falling for these two (and what a wonderful twosome they are!)and watching them grow & become ever more endearing, the inevitable crisis Griff faces after returning from the war is swiftly dealt with leaving me feeling a bit empty & lost.

The book needs at least 5 more chapters to deal with poor Griff's grief and the monstrous adjustments necessary to the whirlwind changes accompanying his return.

I loved this story ... it just needs MORE.


Because of Miss Bridgerton (Bridgertons, Prequel)
Because of Miss Bridgerton (Bridgertons, Prequel)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 4/9/2016


Fabulous fun with those incorrigible Bridgertons. How wonderful to see Julia Quinn carry on with what has to be to the most delightful family dynasty to ever grace the genre! I am not one to reveal plots, so suffice it to say this is pure Bridgerton fun and doesn't disappoint. Enjoy, but try not to read the entire book at one sitting as I did. Slow down and savor the pages. It's so good to come home again!


Before the Scandal (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 2)
Before the Scandal (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Chemistry and an intriguing plot, to boot! What's not to love?

Well, okay, the Big Rescue Scene did make me snort in disbelief ... then snort at myself for snorting in disbelief ... like any book of this genre is anything *but* fun fantasy. Get over yourself, woman.

So, yes, enjoy!!! It's another can't-put-it-down winner for Suzanne Enoch. And I can't wait to see what's in store for Bram. Methinks his life will get quite interesting when it's his story's turn. ;)


The Book of Scandal (Scandalous, Bk 1)
The Book of Scandal (Scandalous, Bk 1)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 8/26/2008
Helpful Score: 14


On the cover of this book there's a review snippet from Booklist: "Lusciously sensual and delightfully witty." Whee! I'm in! Let's scrape another layer off the ol' debit card in a quick swipe at the check-out counter and get this puppy home!

Julia London is one of my favorite authors. I dove into this story with a grin and great hope that it might be as much a delightful romp as some of the recent offerings from Eloisa James and Julia Quinn. Scandal at the royal court? Yes! A couple with a torrid history? Yes! Yes! Let the fun begin!

Well, not quite.

It is not sensual. It is not witty. It is page after page of misunderstandings, hurtful dialogue, but-is-it-too-late-for-us? enlightenments, and painful memories. It's depressing. It's dramatic. It's just too much.

To go back again to that Booklist blurb on the cover: I think it did a great disservice to the author by setting the wrong tone for the book from the start. Had I gone into the story not anticipating a bit of fluffy FUN, it might have set a bit better with me.

Forewarned is forearmed. Just don't be expecting a lighthearted romance and you might truly enjoy this.


The Bride and the Beast (Fairy Tales, Bk 2)
The Bride and the Beast (Fairy Tales, Bk 2)
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/24/2007


Another fun read by Medeiros!


The Business of Being an Artist
The Business of Being an Artist
Author: Daniel Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/24/2007


Concise and no nonsense approach to marketing your work.


Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage (Impossible Bachelors, Bk 3)
Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage (Impossible Bachelors, Bk 3)
Author: Kieran Kramer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 5/17/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Like a toad squashed on the road ... flat, flat, flat and completely one dimensional.

Sorry to say it, as the first two attempts by the author weren't bad at all, but this one was tough to slog through. Better luck next time?


Confessions at Midnight (Mayhem in Mayfair, Bk 2)
Confessions at Midnight (Mayhem in Mayfair, Bk 2)
Author: Jacquie D'Alessandro
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 1/5/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Fast moving story with likable characters. They're burdened with baggage from their pasts, of course, but not jaded or cruel ... thoroughly likable! I'm looking forward to the next installment and hope it will feature "that Colonial" Jennsen.


Dark Obsession (Blackheath Moor, Bk 1)
Dark Obsession (Blackheath Moor, Bk 1)
Author: Allison Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/3/2008
Helpful Score: 6


If you like high melodrama ... and I mean HIGH melodrama ... you'll enjoy this tale of ghosts, love, and betrayal. Comes complete with anguished hero, damaged child, and healing heroine. Just add a huge dash of tolerance for over-emoting & hair-pulling and you'll be just fine.


Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses, Bk 1)
Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses, Bk 1)
Author: Eloisa James
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 6/11/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Eloisa James is beyond a doubt one of my favorite authors of this genre and this is certainly one of her best. She had me sputtering and snorting through each chapter and all the characters are quite endearing.

She gets better with each new tale. There are a lot of loose threads left dangling in this storyline (which is not nearly as bad as a dangling pizzle, as Master Teddy will assure you) and I can't wait for the next installment.

This one will not be leaving my shelf.


Devil in My Bed (Runaway Brides, Bk 1)
Devil in My Bed (Runaway Brides, Bk 1)
Author: Celeste Bradley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 5


Best story yet from Celeste Bradley! The main characters were very likeable and engaging, the secondary characters to be featured in the upcoming two tales are already very intriguing, and the little girl, Melody, who binds them all together is a delight.

The second book in the series, Rogue In My Arms, is due out in January 2010. I hope that Colin's story will be just as entertaining.

Enjoy, ladies. This is a good one!


The Devil Wears Tartan
The Devil Wears Tartan
Author: Karen Ranney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 9/30/2008
Helpful Score: 9


This started out just great and was a real page turner but the last quarter of the book was so disappointing! I was looking forward to the couple facing her husband's demons together and working through the mystery. Instead, everything suddenly shifts focus and comes to a simplistic, tidy conclusion. I was left feeling disappointed, mystified, and a bit miffed that what should have been quite satisfying wasn't.

Rather like my ex.


The Dinosaur Encyclopedia
The Dinosaur Encyclopedia
Author: Michael Benton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Beautifully illustrated ... nice reference book that includes a glossary, dino facts, and "record breakers". Great for the dinosaur aficionado in your family.


1 to 20 of 91 - Page: